We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“underrated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Reviewed June 27, 2010

Yes, the rooms are dated & a little tired but this does not detract from the charm of this lovely find. The rooms are spotless, well appointed with lovely big bath towels. & very comfortable beds.The staff are exceptionally friendly & a special thank you to the receptionist, Margaret. We loved the relaxed , homely atmosphere. The hotel is built around a very pretty courtyard, the newer extensions blending in well with the original.There was a wedding, 21st & 80th party taking place but they did not spoil our stay at all.
Ther is hotel is right next to the canal which is a bonus.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackieCowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 514 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2010

We have just come back from a two night stay, lovely hotel and surroundings. Room very clean and breakfast was very nice and staff friendly. We were a bit worried before we went because we read some not very good reviews, but luckily everything turned out great, really had a good time.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liketorelaxandenjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

Stayed here just one night on a Saturday. Not far from the M6 toll road but a bit tricky to find the right turn off the main road in the dark.

We had booked in advance but when we arrived at reception there was much going back to office and then back to reception. "Is there a problem?" "no problem sir" but still not checked in. Eventually got a key and duly went off to find our room. Couldn't get the key in the lock and then suddenly the door opened from the inside as the room was already occupied. Back across the courtyard to reception. Think it was the manager who quickly sorted us out another room.

Room itself was just ok, it was clean and tidy and fresh but very worn and dated. Lots of marks on wallpaper, etc. We looked over the courtyard which was nice and ensured a quiet night. Don't think you would be so lucky if you were on the M42 side of the hotel.

Breakfast was very busy and although the staff tried hard and were cheerful and helpful it was chaos as they were short staffed. Directed to some tables in a sort of annex part of the dining room where there were long tables set for about 10 people. We moved crockery onto a table of our own as school dinner breakfast arrangements are not our thing. Breakfast itself was fine is a bit limited in choice.

Check out was fine and the location is actually quite nice in the daylight.

OK for an overnight stay but don't pay a lot for the room.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabn50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

Stayed at this hotel as was visiting family and friends in brum and i must say i wasn't disappointed, check in was quick and efficiant and the receptionist was well mannered and well dressed.courtyard was nice but must look better in the spring when the flowers are in full bloom. Room was spacious and inviting very clean, bed was comfortable and bathroom was clean even thou a bit cold. Dinner that night is good value for money if you are not on a dinner, bed and breakfast rate and the standard of food was superb, compliments to the chef. Me and my friends then enjoyed a nice relaxing night in the lounge area which was very relaxing. all the restaurant and bar staff where polite and willing to under-go any demand, i saw one of the restaurant staff actually run, nice to know they take there job seriously unbeknown to other hotels i have stayed in. Only minor point is the location as it is right next to the M42 motorway and not very clearly signposted but when you arrive at the hotel you forget all about the minor things. All in all a very pleasant stay and will definately be coming back.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ford-ka-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2010

Having searched on tripadvisor I found this place and hoped it would be a bit more interesting and nicer than the normal business hotels I stay in. What a dissapointment compared to the reviews.

I quite often stay around the NEC to avoid a long trip back through Friday night traffic and this is my first time (and probably last) attempt to try something different from the cheap and boring travelodge / premier inn / holiday inn or the better but more expensive Hilton or Crowne Plaza

I've marked this as poor which is my honest view but was tempted to rate as terrible to counter the ridiculously biased 5 star / excellent reviews (I will be reporting them to the moderator). I am really annoyed as Tripadvisor normally gives a good honest assessment but several of these reviews are dodgy and I feel duped. Would several (genuine) people really right a glowing essay on what is actually a below average hotel at the side of a motorway!

I know this is my first post but I am writing to warn others not to be misled.

I suppose the setting is more important to those looking for a country break or event. Just be very sceptical about the reviews and if your looking for a wedding / party venue have a walk outside and check out the motorway noise!

Regarding my stay:
its not that close to the NEC, a few miles from J9, M42 (but actually right next to the motorway) - the location is my problem as I should have checked before!
The room was OK - a little musty but fine.
Nice shower (above the bath which looked a good size)
The setting is right next to the rumble of the M42 motorway! in practice this wasn't a huge problem for me but a great disappointment after the rave reviews relating to its location.
Staff were fine in my limited dealings with them (receptionist quite pleasant, bar staff a bit miserable but not a huge problem)

On the Saturday morning I noticed broken car glass in the car park so presumably there had been a car break-in at some stage.

Not the worst hotel in the world but I would still say it should be avoided.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank united_always_score
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

Was here on Business and Lesuire with family, the hotel is set in the middle of nowhere with no direct links to transport so a car is a must. Check in was ok although a little slow newspaper was ordered but never received but the hotel did try to charge me for it!

Rooms were tired and outdated tvs were tiny and had a limited selection the line up didnt include Channel 5, Bathroom was a fair size although dirty and the 'fresh' towels were often grey insted of white.

Resturant food was terrible, the evening menu was trying to be fancy when its just frozen food and everything seemed to be too much trouble.

Staff were friendly when you could find them, many times i wanted a drink from the bar i had to go to reception to find someone to serve, even during the evening, and when i requested to speak to a manager there was not one about... and not one got back to me.

For a Best Western Hotel this one was poor it says they offer services which they dont i.e free internet and 24hour room service when i wanted a bite to eat at 12:30am after getting back i was told no and that we dont have room service at night and also free internet is wrong when you login it asks for a payment.

Reviews say that they get the small things right but when you miss the bigger picture with outdated rooms shabby lobby and resturant and poor staff is all seems pointless

There are plenty of cheaper and better hotels in the area so look there before staying here!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sightcer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Hidden in the middle of the countryside was easy enough to find with our sat nav. When we arrived the grounds are well kept and full of colour loads of space for the children to let off steam. Staff were excellent on check in making sure we had everything we needed for our stay. Staff very ameniable even down to opening the restaurant early so the children didnt have to wait long to eat. Good menu and good value for money.

We will deffiently be returning to this beautiful hotel.

Keep up the good work Tony and his team!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pottytotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Coldfield
4.7 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,847 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belfry Hotel & Resort
0.9 mi away
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lea Marston
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfie...
#9 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,610 reviews
4.1 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,282 reviews
2.2 mi away
Moxhull Hall
Moxhull Hall
#1 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Marston Farm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Marston Farm Hotel

Address: Dog Lane | Bodymoor Heath, Sutton Coldfield B76 9JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range: $82 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Marston Farm Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th-century farmhouse is in quiet countryside on the Birmingham, close to the M42. It has free parking, a tennis court, a restaurant and a bar. The Brook Marston Farm Hotel is less than 2 miles from the Belfry Golf Resort and 10 miles from Birmingham International Airport and the NEC (National Exhibition Centre). It was once owned by Sir Robert Peel, former Prime Minister and founder of the police force. Hotel Rooms: 37. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Brook Marston Farm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marston Farm Sutton Coldfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing