We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding 29/12/12”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Wedding 29/12/12”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

From the moment we walked into Marston farm and saw the marquee we knew we wanted to have our wedding there. Jan who looks after you was extreamly helpful and went through everything we asked for and kept us updated via email regulary. The price was also competitive and comes with chair covers which helps as other venues charge extra.
The days leading up to the Wedding are particularly stressful but after I dropped all the bits and bobs at the marquee the staff that were on were fantastic and went through eveything with me about what will happen on the day. They even think about the fact that the marquee can be damp without the heating on so they didn't put out the name cards and wedding breakfast menus until the morning in case they fold over.
We had a last minute emergency and needed an extra room and they just sorted it all out for us.
On the day all of the staff were so friendly and helpful especially Emma and her Mom (sorry can't remember her name) who ran around making sure everything ran smoothly. The bar and reception staff were friendly and helpful. There are some special suprises for you on the day but I won't spoil them for you.
We stayed in the four poster room and did have to pay an extra £50 for the night. It was a nice room but not very big and with us up all night partying we didnt spend much time in it, would have been nicer if this was included in the price.
Everything is packed away and left in the graden room for you to take home the morning after. They are so organised!!!!
Marianne is brilliant for marquee drapes and Martin Johnson the resident photographer.
We couldn't have wished for a nicer venue for the reception and would reccomend it to anybody for their Wedding.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emrich_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    124
    59
    60
    52
See reviews for
109
155
6
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Came on a two night Groupon Deal. The staff were extremely friendly, nothing was too much trouble, our room was perfect with French door's in to the pleasant gardens. We ate both nights, (sat out side as the weather was glorious) not an extensive menu but the food was well cooked and tasty, and not over priced. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order, and good fresh produce (chef even did my husband fried bread).
The hotel dose lack some leisure facilities , we were very lucky that the weather was glorious, and we were able to walk along the busy canal each evening, had it not been there was nothing to do. A very good location for visiting the NEC, Stratford upon Avon, and Warwick. We would love to stay again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarstonFarm, General Manager at Brook Marston Farm Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your positive feedback I have passed these on to my team especially chef and I am pleased your husband enjoyed his fried bread.
We finally have some good weather so all our guests can enjoy the hotels location, walks along the canal and our home cooked food in the courtyard.
As you mention the hotel is a good base for anyone visiting the NEC or wishing to explore the surrounding area as Warwick Castle and Stratford Upon Avon are nearby. Don’t forget Drayton Manor Park for the kids including the big ones.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future and please feel free to contact me personally to arrange this for you.

Kind Regards

Anthony Palmer
General Manager
01827872133
anthony.palmer@brook-hotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding in June 2013. The venue for the wedding itself and the reception was really good however the attitude of the staff on reception was pretty poor. Although I wasn't asked to leave payment details when booking online I did get a phone call asking me to contact them to confirm payment. As it was a late booking I didn't manage to return the call until the morning of the stay. On speaking to the receptionist it appeared that I was causing her an inconvenience and it was agreed that I would pay on arrival.
At the wedding it became apparent that we paid around £20 more than other guests who were staying. When queried with the staff the receptionist made out that it was our fault for booking online. The rooms were small. Bar expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bEd_BUg-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarstonFarm, General Manager at Brook Marston Farm Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Firstly please accept my apologies for the lack of customer service from my reception team.
In order for me to investigate this further please can you email me the name the room was booked under and the date you stayed as from your Trip Advisor ID I am unable to work out when you stayed.
We do offer guests attending weddings or other functions a discounted rate. These are generally only available when booked directly with the hotel by telephone. However, if you have made the reservation via our website Brook Hotels we can amend this reservation at any time. If the booking has been made via a third party website then we would be unable to alter the rates that have been booked. Please do contact me as if it is the case and you have paid above the rate agreed for wedding guests then I will be able to refund the difference back to you.
Once again please accept my apologies and please be assured that I have discussed the importance of good customer service with my entire reception team.

Kind Regards

Anthony Palmer
General Manager
01827872133
anthony.palmer@brook-hotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sutton Coldfield hotels

East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My stay at this hotel was for an over night for work. On first approach you get the impression. Of country hotel which from the outside is lovely. But once inside the hotel decor leaves a lot to be desired. The hotel could do with the hotel inspector waving her magic wand over the inside of the hotel. Its stuck in the 80's. I have not seen wallpaper in the bar lounge and rooms. Like that since 1980 in my grandmother house. Come on guys even a quick paint job and brighten up with some white or magnolia would make a world of difference. The room was clean, but again so dated. My dinner left all to be desired. I ordered the chicken and ribs with chips! The ribs tasted like they had been left on the barbecue for longer than they should and the chicken was a mission to eat, but it was the chips...they where frazzled. They should never have been served like that. If it was just only the once you could perhaps say we'll ok, but there was another resident having a meal 5 minstrel after mine and his chips were the same, frazzled within an edge of their life. Then I thought ok I will have a cappuccino to finish off my half eaten dinner, to be told that the match is not working. Someone else wrote that this hotel has great potential. And the are right. Paint the inside, change the bed covers to a more modern look, update the flooring and replace the chief and you would have a great wee hotel. Also 4.50 for drink is a bit excessive. Recommend this hotel is a poor 3 star. Come guys you could do better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LORRAINE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarstonFarm, General Manager at Brook Marston Farm Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Lorraine G

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I was obviously disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your evening meal in the restaurant. The dish that you ordered is quite a popular dish and to date this is the first complaint we have received about this. I do wish that you had made me or my staff aware on the evening that you didn't completely enjoy your meal so that we could of offered to change for an alternative dish or have deducted this from your bill.
We are currently awaiting a part for the coffee machine which has been out of stock with the supplier I can appreciate this being frustrating as I enjoy a good cup of coffee myself.

We are currently decorating bedrooms, replacing beds and soft furnishings as we go. The rooms that have been decorated have painted walls as you suggest but I must point out that this is the first complaint I have received about the room you were allocated.

Thank you for your positive comments about the cleanliness of the hotel I know how important this is.

I do hope that this answers some of your concerns about the hotel and hope to welcome you back in the future so that you can see one of the decorated rooms
Kind Regards

Anthony Palmer
General Manager
01827872133
anthony.palmer@brook-hotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Secluded, older style, pleasant hotel, the room I stayed in was a good size & a good size bathroom too (no 36), have stayed on several occasions previously including having a room over the Parlour which can be a bit noisy if the bar is busy & the staircase up there should only be tackled by the young & fit. Good restaurant with a wide choice of evening meals available & the vegetarian breakfast was great. All round experience was excellent a good nights sleep although traffic noise from the M42 can easily be heard, there are great walks along the towpath right outside the hotel & a pub 5 minutes walk away.

Room Tip: Request one in the new block not over the bar !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 954ChrisS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarstonFarm, General Manager at Brook Marston Farm Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your positive feedback I have passed these on to my team especially chef and I am pleased you enjoyed the vegetarian breakfast. I myself really enjoy the creamy tarragon mushrooms.
We are very fortunate that the majority of the hotels bedrooms are of a good size with equally good sized bathrooms as well.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future and please feel free to contact me personally to arrange this for you.

Kind Regards

Anthony Palmer
General Manager
01827872133
anthony.palmer@brook-hotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had our wedding here and may I start with saying it was the best wedding I've ever been too and thats not just because it was ours. From the price to the staff to the facilities it was win win.
We dont get married everyday so all new to me and the staff helped fantasticially, they just advised to put everything together and they will sort and set out and they decorated and layed everything out just as I imagined if not better.
The staff rallyed round to make sure everything was spot on anything you asked they went out their way to do. Jan who helped organise the wedding was great so at ease with her.
I would recommend the resident photographer (Martin Johnson), DJ sos roadshow, Perfect day flowers and marianne for decorations in marquee. Honestly they were all fab and would recommend them to everyone. Word of advice always go with people who know their surroundings because they have confidence and it excels in their work.

Rooms were great also had the four poster room xxxx
Food was superb and couldnt fault it xx when you get married there they do couple of special things for you, I wont say I'll leave it a surprise but they make great photos xxx

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarstonFarm, General Manager at Brook Marston Farm Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Heather H
Thank you for posting a very positive review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your wedding day with us at The Brook Marston Farm Hotel. I will share your positive comments with all concerned and I appreciate you not spoiling the surprises for any future couples that have chosen the hotel for their special day.
I am very fortunate that I have a dedicated team of staff who all understand the importance of ensuring that every bride and groom goes away having had an amazing day. We understand that each bride and groom have different ideas about their big day and we do our utmost to make this happen.
I wish you all the best for your married life together and look forward to welcoming you back to Brook Marston Farm Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Anthony Palmer
General Manager
01827872133
anthony.palmer@brook-hotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was the worst customer service I have ever received at any hotel.

We stayed her for one night with a 2 week old baby as part of a group attending for a conference. We Emailed in advance to explain that we would be bringing a young baby and arranged a cot.

We arrived at midday before the conference lunch. We were hoping to check into our room & feed/change the baby beforehand. We were told this was not possible as none of the rooms were ready but that we could wait in a "lovely little seating area" & they would collect us as soon as the room was ready.

We were lead to a small poky sitting room off the back of the main bar, squashed in with 4 or 5 other people who had also been hoping to check in before the conference. We asked if there was anywhere I could feed or change the baby - no. I found a bathroom at the top of a perilous staircase to change him but with no chair in the bathroom, I ended up breastfeeding him in the sitting room hoping I was being subtle.

An hour later no word from the reception lady who had promised to fetch us. We went back to ask again - none of the rooms ready so the group of us all made our way to lunch.

After lunch (2pm) the conference started, leaving the remaining three accompanying guests stranded. We asked again about the rooms and were once again directed to wait in the sitting area from where we would be collected (amidst sighing from the receptionist as though our repeated requests for rooms were a personal inconvenience to her).

At this point it began to feel as though we were visiting Fawlty Towers!

The building itself is charming and old with uneven floors, steps up & down between rooms and narrow winding staircases. Unfortunately the hotel were hosting a wedding on the same day and our poky sitting room was next to the bar area so began filling up with wedding guests attending the reception. I sat there for another hour with two other women, on a sofa, dressed in the tracksuit bottoms I had worn for the journey with my tired 2-week old baby crying on my lap and a pram at my side whilst a wedding reception happened around us. The guests regarded us curiously like the world's most inappropriate wedding crashers!

The guests got drunker and drunker, toddlers ran up to and started poking my baby, and drunk women started literally tripping over us amongst much hilarity as they removed their stilettos in an attempt to climb the uneven staircase to the toilet without breaking their legs. In the end I found myself directing people towards the bathrooms as they were all getting lost.

Still no-one came to collect us. At 3 pm I made my way back to reception. This was no mean feat. The small bar was now packed with drunk wedding guests and I had to barge my way through the middle of them all with a pram, up and down multiple sets of steps between rooms, feeling quite embarrassed to be gatecrashing their party.

A few drunk guests helped with the pram. At one point of shouting over the noise "I'm very sorry, excuse me, can I get through?" I realised that I was actually moving the bride and groom out of the way in the midst of having their photographs taken!

On arrival at reception, the rooms STILL were not ready, well after check-in time. Once again my request was treated as though I were a beggar from the street, interrupting the receptionist's very important work by asking to sleep in her spare room, rather than a paying guest to whom she was being paid to provide a service. No apology for the delay, no apology for forgetting to collect or update us. I asked again if there was a room to feed or change the baby - still no.

Another humiliating trip barging through the middle of the wedding with no offer of help, another wait, another no-show from any reception staff to collect us. Time to feed the baby again and nowhere to go... attempted subtle breastfeeding on the sofa in the middle of all the wedding guests whilst getting more and more embarrassed by my situation. If not for the baby, the pram, the suitcase and the physical impossibility of negotiating them through the crowds at speed, I would have just run away. Instead I stared at the floor and wished it might open and swallow me up.

On my NEXT trip to reception at nearly 4pm, the room was ready. I was finally given a key. I asked if it was on the ground floor. No, on the first floor. Was there a lift? No. Standing there with the baby, the pram, and a suitcase, the room key in my hand, and no offer of help, I asked if I could have some help to our room. The receptionist seemed surprised!!

At this point a s second woman appeared behind the counter and quickly directed a third woman to help me to my room. She seemed embarrassed at the treatment I was receiving but did not apologise, explain or introduce herself. She was the only person during the entire stay who provided anything remotely resembling customer service by that one offer of assistance, after I had asked.

I will end the saga there. Other than to say that when we checked out the following morning the same delightful receptionist informed us that a mistake had been made the day before with our payment and we needed to pay additional money as we had been undercharged. We paid the extra, silently, as she explained at length that someone else had not done their job properly with the bill yesterday so she was stuck sorting out their mistake. Once again no apology.

It seemed the receptionist was most interested in making sure we knew that whatever went wrong, it was definitely not HER fault. She clearly felt very hard done by at having to deal with us at all.

I fully understand that a charming quirky old building will obviously not be the most pram or wheelchair accessible and I imagine the hotel was particularly busy that day with the conference and wedding happening simultaneously. The receptionist certainly seemed flustered and as though she were unable to cope.

What was galling was that given the price of the hotel, after the appalling service we received, at no point did one single person say that they were sorry or offer to do anything to help in any way. Guests can be forgiving if someone takes the time to communicate and offer an alternative.

It surely cannot seem reasonable to anyone to sit guests including a young baby in the middle of someone else's wedding for four hours with no offer of a drink, assistance or update on the delay? Why on earth they could not have given me access to a room to feed the baby in private I do not know. It was not a surprise that I had brought him, it was arranged in advance. Surely the cleaners were not cleaning all the rooms simultaneously? For four hours?

Overall a humiliating experience and I would not ever return to this hotel under any circumstances.

On the plus side, the drunk wedding guests seemed to be having fun and the food was not too bad.

(The bride and groom may haven been less impressed when they saw their professional photographs and wondered who the group of tired and angry underdressed strangers were, sitting in the middle of their reception)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLP80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarstonFarm, General Manager at Brook Marston Farm Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
I believe you accompanied your husband to this conference and the organisers were aware that there was a large wedding taking place in the Hotel at the same time . They were also informed that the usual 2pm check in time would apply as the hotel was fully booked the night prior.
I am very sorry that your room was not ready on time but a number of the rooms from the day prior required a lot of extras cleaning meaning more time per room was required than normal. This inevitably made the 2pm deadline almost impossible to keep to but I do realise that with a very young baby there was no excuse for not finding you a more private and secluded area to sit more comfortably to feed your newborn baby. I apologise that the delay was not communicated to you on the day. Please accept my sincere apologies as this is certainly not typical of any my staff and I have of course spoken to all my team to ensure that this situation never arises again. Due to illness I was not on duty during your stay as I had injured my back the day previous. This did put added pressure on my team, whilst not using this as an excuse for the way you were treated I do believe it added to the pressure the reception team were under that day.
Although we were fully staffed operationally to run both events ,it did of course mean that the Hotel and our public areas would have been very busy with the Wedding Guests enjoying their day and celebrations .I am sure that there would have never been any intention on their part to cause you any awkwardness or offense whilst you moved around the Hotel .
I am sorry that you felt our attention to detail was lost on this occasion and I would like you to contact me at the Hotel on 01827 872133 so that I am able to apologise for this unfortunate incident personally.

Kind Regards
Anthony Palmer
General Manager
01827872133
anthony.palmer@brook-hotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Coldfield
4.7 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,645 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfie...
#9 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,460 reviews
4.1 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lea Marston
2,166 reviews
2.2 mi away
Moxhull Hall
Moxhull Hall
#1 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
398 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belfry
The Belfry
#1 of 1 in Wishaw
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Marston Farm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Marston Farm Hotel

Property: Brook Marston Farm Hotel
Address: Dog Lane | Bodymoor Heath, Sutton Coldfield B76 9JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Marston Farm Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th-century farmhouse is in quiet countryside on the Birmingham, close to the M42. It has free parking, a tennis court, a restaurant and a bar. The Brook Marston Farm Hotel is less than 2 miles from the Belfry Golf Resort and 10 miles from Birmingham International Airport and the NEC (National Exhibition Centre). It was once owned by Sir Robert Peel, former Prime Minister and founder of the police force. Hotel Rooms: 37. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HRS, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brook Marston Farm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marston Farm Sutton Coldfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing