We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Dog Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Dog Friendly”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had a fantastic stay. The staff could not have been more friendlier or helpful. They were charming to both my partner and myself and very welcoming to our Border Collie. The Breakfast was delicious (I'm vegetarian and the choice was superb.) and freshly cooked with generous servings. The room was lovely and spacious and very clean. The shower and bathroom was perfect. We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgie-em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarstonFarm, General Manager at Brook Marston Farm Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

It is pleasing to read that you really enjoyed your stay. The hotel is dog friendly as we are well aware that pets are part of the family. I was also pleased to read that you enjoyed your breakfast as I know sometimes that being vegetarian can restrict your choices. When deciding on our menus and buffets we try and take all aspects into consideration including dietary requirements such as vegetarian, vegan, gluten and dairy free dishes.
We are lucky at the hotel that the majority of our rooms are as you describe spacious, clean with good showers.
Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming all three of you back in the future !.

Kind Regards
Anthony

Anthony Palmer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    120
    57
    60
    51
See reviews for
105
151
6
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Members of Marston Green & District Lions Club (and friends) took part in the New Years Eve event at Marston Farm Hotel
This was a very enjoyable experience, the staff were lovely and gave an excellent service
Plus the late serving of breakfast on New Years Day was great - excellent idea
Have a strong feeling we will be back next year / this year
Only real drawback was for me personally, I have mobility problems (walk with 2 sticks generally) and the room that I was in was directly at the top of a steep staircase
The meal was very good (unfortunately, our steaks were a little tough, which was a shame as they should have been melt in the mouth, served as they were medium rare, which is my personal preference). Dance floor (temporary) did split apart a bit during the night.
But all in all would highly recommend the hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LionAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarstonFarm, General Manager at Brook Marston Farm Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Firstly Happy Belated New Year! and I am pleased that you and your guests had an enjoyable evening and that you enjoyed being able to have your breakfast later. If I am honest I think it suits everyone, me included!

I am sorry that you were allocated a room upstairs as usually we do have ground floor rooms available and should you return this year obviously we can ensure that one of these rooms is allocated to you.

You will be pleased to know that we have recently changed suppliers ,to a new butcher, and the quality in meat in general has greatly improved.

I look forward to welcoming you all back this New-Year to see in 2014

Kind Regards
Anthony

Anthony Palmer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with work for the night in a huge three bedroomed room. Room was clean and modern with an excellent shower. Dinner on the evening was very tasty, although took a while to come but definitely worth the price and wait. In the morning we went for breakfast we had been told was included in the rate by the lady the niggt before but were then told then that it wasnt included. As it wasnt our fault for the false information they happily provided us with a free breakfast which definitely removed any hard feelings.

The two members of staff who dealt with us in the evening and morning were excellent and rushing around doin everything. Very polite and friendly.

The location is out in the sticks. ..obviously as it is a farm. If you want a quiet break its perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blissackerman1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarstonFarm, General Manager at Brook Marston Farm Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay including your evening meal. As nearly all our dishes are freshly prepared this can sometimes take a little longer but as you say it was worth the wait.

I apologize for the misleading information regarding breakfast but was also pleased to see that we honoured our initial statement and that you were served breakfast without additional charge. I am a firm believer that sometimes you cannot rectify a mistake but how you deal with it after is what you should be judged on. I thank you for understanding with this and appreciate your kind words that this gesture put any bad feelings firmly to rest.

The hotel is set in 5 acres of grounds which are fantastic to explore and with direct access to the canal towpath this makes for enjoyable walks. I appreciate that the time of year you visited this was not possible due to dark nights and poor weather but should you visit us in the spring or summer I am sure you will be able to take advantage of the lovely grounds.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Brook Marston Hotel in the future

Kind Regards
Anthony

Anthony Palmer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed on business and had a lovely room with a four poster bed.

The bathroom was a bit tired and in need of a makeover.

I had dinner - the menu was unpretentious and it was solidly reliable. The staff were really nice and friendly.

Room Tip: I had room 10 - the four poster!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiamFitzP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarstonFarm, General Manager at Brook Marston Farm Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Your positive comments are really appreciated and I have passed them on to all concerned.
I am pleased you found our dinner menu appealing as we do try to give a good choice of traditional favourites alongside more interesting and unusual dishes.
We are currently decorating rooms in the Hotel and I have made a note of your comments regarding the bathroom.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Brook Marston Hotel in the future

Kind Regards
Anthony

Anthony Palmer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2012

.......... is probably one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at. We stayed there for a couple of nights en route to another destination. It is so peaceful and quiet there with lovely views of the coutryside and yet within easy driving distance of Tamworth.
The staff were very friendly and treated us as if we were old friends. We can only sum up by saying, excellent service, excellent room and excellent food.
We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarstonFarm, General Manager at Brook Marston Farm Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your very positive review.

As the Manager of the hotel it makes me feel very proud of the hotel and my team of staff when we receive such positive comments.

We try our hardest to make everyone feel welcome and I am pleased you appreciated our approach to good customer service.

Thank you once again for your kind words and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Anthony

Anthony Palmer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Coleshill and District Round Table and Ladies Circle recently held a function at Maston Farm. I was on the organising committee as I have been for other events. Marston Farm delivered as they promised. The Marquee function room was beautifully presented in our chosen colours, the venue was welcoming and the food was well prepared and efficiently served. There was no issue with a variety of dietary requirements. We had 109 guests in total. They made us most welcome at a reasonable price and made organising this relatively easy. I would recommend Marston Farm for this sort of event and many thanks to Jan and her team.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarstonFarm, General Manager at Brook Marston Farm Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments.
The hotel prides itself on its banqueting service and i am pleased that your event was enjoyed by all.
The marquee adapts itself to a number of events from weddings to gala dinners even in these dark cold months the new heating system ensures everyone is warm.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Marston Farm Hotel next year.
Thank you once again for your feedback

Kind Regards

Anthony

Anthony Palmer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Last week we held a small residential training course here for a complementary health technique. The staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful, including the chef going out of his way to cater for some fairly unusual dietary requirements. Great service, will definitely use again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarstonFarm, General Manager at Brook Marston Farm Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Great Training Course Venue

Thank you for your positive comments
I am pleased that your training course was successful and that the staff’s efforts made especially the chef made your event successful. The hotel is now in a better position to offer more choices to guests with special dietary requirements as because of your event all the staff are more aware and informed and knowledgeable of products available for customers with specific dietary needs. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back next year and I know chef has already started planning your menus.

Kind Regards

Anthony

Anthony Palmer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Coldfield
4.7 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
4.1 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfield
Ramada Birmingham Sutton Coldfie...
#9 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Belfry
The Belfry
#1 of 1 in Wishaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lea Marston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,075 reviews
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham North (Sutton Coldfield) Hotel
Premier Inn Birmingham North (Su...
#4 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Marston Farm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Marston Farm Hotel

Property: Brook Marston Farm Hotel
Address: Dog Lane | Bodymoor Heath, Sutton Coldfield B76 9JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Marston Farm Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th-century farmhouse is in quiet countryside on the Birmingham, close to the M42. It has free parking, a tennis court, a restaurant and a bar. The Brook Marston Farm Hotel is less than 2 miles from the Belfry Golf Resort and 10 miles from Birmingham International Airport and the NEC (National Exhibition Centre). It was once owned by Sir Robert Peel, former Prime Minister and founder of the police force. Hotel Rooms: 37. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Brook Marston Farm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marston Farm Sutton Coldfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing