We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant service, nice hotel good rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Sutton Coldfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel with my girlfriend as her birthday treat. We really enjoyed the facility and stay in this hotel. And meal in the restaurant was brilliant followed with awesome service. There is nothing too much for the staff. I would like to say thanks to Pravas for taking good care of us. Even though I am abit fussy with the food.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbhushan982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

969 - 975 of 1,238 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just short of the mark for the price charged.
Cleanliness ok, just not perfect. There is simply no excuse for mould round the tap bases.
Odd wear pattern on the stair carpet, badly marked internal paintwork.
8 covers in the restaurant, 6 staff, still took 3/4 of an hour to get the dessert menu.
Lovely smooth mashed potato, shame it was lukewarm on a roasting hot plate
Poor presentation of dishes, sauce splashes not wiped before service, poached eggs boiled solid.
Not what I would expect for that price level

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidHalleyBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed in the hotel as part of a family celebration.Whilst the quality of the rooms and service from the staff was of a high standard, the food was truly appalling. It was of the standard expected from a motorway service station in the early 1960's ie lukewarm, glutinous and tasteless. To describe it as execrable is to flatter it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drew0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Visited yesterday for lunch with friends 8 in our party we had not booked but had visited before and only expected to eat in the lounge, however there was a wedding party and a very busy lounge, the restaurant manager wa totally unflustered and after asking us to wait a little (at the most 10 minutes) he had arranged a private room for us to have lunch in and the service after that was fabulous and the food was also excellent, we are here again on New Years Eve and if yesterday was anything to go by it willl be a fabulous evening.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank the staff who made a Saturday lunch extra special, it was my retirement lunch with familly and friends and we were treated like VIP's.
Kind reagards and many thanks
Barbara Wilson

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank barbs10751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Wanted some peace and quiet and found it here. Staff knew when to let you chill out and leave you alone and when to be attentive. Food - delicious, drinks - yes a little pricey, however a lovely experience and I'll certainly be back.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were treated to a weekend here as a gift from friends. We had a lovely time, and the rooms were nice, with good beds and bedding - the bathrooms could have been a bit more luxurious for this type of hotel. However, all I could think about was how much the weekend was costing our friends. Drinks were very expensive for what you got and the food was either excellent or average - when really you would expect all the food to be excellent. It was nice to have a pool / spa etc on site. I would imagine that this would be a perfect location for a wedding - the building is beautiful. Staff were very helpful and friendly, and provided a nice, relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 40scouple14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our daughter treated us to afternoon tea at NewHall. The hotel is beautiful moated building set in beautiful landscaped gardens. Staff were very welcoming and showed us to our table. We had a choice of many different types of tea. Food arrived on a three tier cake stand. We had an assortment of finger sandwiches including fresh salmon, ham, egg and cucumber. The scones were warm and were served with fresh cream and jam. We also had brownies, bake well tarts and lemon meringues. So much food but we managed to complete the task of emptying the plates. It did take us a couple of hours though. We were not rushed by the staff and we were offered more tea at no extra cost. A lovely way to spend a Sunday afternoon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Coldfield
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,743 reviews
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
3,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
954 reviews
The Belfry
#1 of 1 in Wishaw
2,044 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: Walmley Road, Sutton Coldfield B76 1PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sutton Coldfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
#3 Business Hotel in Sutton Coldfield
Price Range: $131 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lying within 26 acres of mature, elegant grounds this 60 bedroom historic country house hotel is widely reputed to be the oldest inhabited, moated manor house in England. Sympathetic renovation has provided up-to-the-minute facilities whilst retaining most of its medieval charm and character. Public areas with their fine panelling and mullioned stained-glass windows create a unique historical ambiance; the magnificent Great Chamber is particularly impressive indeed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your New Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hall Hotel And Spa
Hotel New Hall
New Hall Hotel Sutton Coldfield
New Hall Sutton Coldfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing