We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea treat”

The Lounge Bar & Terrace at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Set in beautiful grounds and yet surprisingly close to Birmingham, the NEC and major transport links, the Lounge Bar & Terrace at Moor Hall Hotel and Spa in Sutton Coldfield is the perfect place to relax and enjoy morning coffee, a bar meal at any time of day or a traditional Afternoon Tea. In winter, you can sit in the original oak panelled Lounge Bar, Ladywood Room or Minstrel's Gallery, whilst in the summer you can sit outside on the terrace and enjoy the fabulous views over the sweeping lawns. In summer you can also enjoy a Hot Rocks meal out on the Terrace - your choice from the menu is served on a slab of hot volcanic rock so you can cook your food exactly to your liking. There are also two restaurants at Moor Hall - The Oak Room for fine dining and the Country Kitchen carvery.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Weather great, views fantastic, lovely tea and cakes, spoilt by good old British wasps! Although we made the most of the weather by sitting outside, I would not have been disappointed to have sat indoors as the decor was lovely and in line with the original features of the original part of the building

1  Thank TillyRhys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, Owner at The Lounge Bar & Terrace at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Wow what a fabulous review! We were pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea, which as you say is as nice outside on the Terrace in this lovely weather as it is inside in this beautiful building on a cooler day. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 123 of 151 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

We came here for afternoon tea for our silver wedding,bringing both sets of parents with us. Due to the weather we sat in the lady wood suite which was lovely. On arrival at our table was a card wishing us a happy silver wedding anniversary which we thought was a very nice touch. We have never done afternoon tea before and it was a lovely change. Sandwiches are just sandwiches really which ever way they are cut but they were nicely displayed on the cake stand and the little cakes were very tasty. It all looked beautiful and there was plenty for all six of us. The tea and coffee was constantly been replenished and the lady who served us was very nice and attentative. We stayed for a couple of hours and then had a little walk around the grounds. All in all we had a smashing time celebrating a very special occasion.

Thank SueTimmis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, Owner at The Lounge Bar & Terrace at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for this wonderful review. We were so pleased to hear you enjoyed your afternoon tea at Moor Hall, what a lovely way to celebration such a special wedding anniversary. We hope you will be able to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We sat outside and experienced a Hot Rock Meal. I had tuna and my friend had the beef. Both were delicious with tasty accompaniments. The staff were very attentive and helpful. Nice to find something different and so local.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Deirdre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, Owner at The Lounge Bar & Terrace at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. Our innovative Hot Rocks menu is ideal if you are looking to try something a little different, where your choice from the menu is served on a slab of hot volcanic rock so you can cook your food exactly to your liking at your table, and we were pleased to hear how much you enjoyed it. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

All in all this was very enjoyable but they forgot our main courses! To be fair the guy serving did his best to make up for it! Good food ( when it arrived)! Great location and atmosphere! Give it a go!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sasquatch61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, Owner at The Lounge Bar & Terrace at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for your review. Please accept my apologies regarding your main course which I have discussed with the Restaurant Manager to ensure this does not happen again. However, I was pleased to hear you enjoyed the food when it arrived. We are lucky to be set in beautiful parkland yet within easy reach of Birmingham, the NEC Group/LG Arena and the major rail and motorway links, and were delighted you liked the tranquil atmosphere of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Enjoyed the hot rocks way of cooking steak on Saturday night and loved the relaxed atmosphere. Disliked the small car park very difficult to park when a function such as a wedding is on.

Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B, Owner at The Lounge Bar & Terrace at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. We were pleased to hear you enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere we provide at Moor Hall and also that you liked the Hot Rocks which is very popular with guests, particularly on these beautiful hot and sunny days! Please accept my apologies that you found it difficult to park as our reception team would have been happy to find alternative parking for you had they known. We look forward to welcoming you back to Moor Hall when you are next able to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lounge Bar & Terrace at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa also viewed

 
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
 
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
 

Been to The Lounge Bar & Terrace at Moor Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing