We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST PUB/RESTAURANT IN SUTTON COLDFIELD”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Butler's Arms

Butler's Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sutton Coldfield, England
Level Contributor
102 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“BEST PUB/RESTAURANT IN SUTTON COLDFIELD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

It was a few years in coming, but now The Butlers Arms has made the CAMRA Real Ale Guide. A well deserved accolade for a fine selection of quality beers, kept and presented to perfection. The Staff are always exceptional in their quality of service - you are made to feel comfortable and their knowledge of the drinks on offer is excellent. I do not visit the Butlers Arms just for the Real Ales - I go for the food. Every day there is a blackboard with the days Fish/Seafood specialities - unbelievable in variety and quality. I remember going once and was furious they had run out of Razor Clams!!! Such was the popularity, I guess. My loss on that day - but there is always a very good alternative. All Diners get a platter of bread with the delightful extra virgin olive oil/balsamic vinegar fusion whilst they are making up their minds. This is not an easy process when there is so much on offer that tantalises the palate. The Chef is a genius and in many, many visits, I have NEVER had a meal even remotely less than perfection on a plate. If you are ever in Sutton Coldfield, drive a little north towards Lichfield and enjoy the supreme experience that is The Butlers Arms. My favourite Drinking & Eating establishment in Sutton Coldfield - bar none!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Raratrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    233
    64
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“SSSShhhhhhhh!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stop telling people!, Its getting impossible to get a table. Thats why I am not going to mention that excellent 'nearly xmas' dish, or the fantastic coley dish, The cheesecake that I couldnt stop eating even though I was stuffed, and the faultless service. (must stop)
Maybe the fact that its difficult to park might put people off (lets hope).

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SheffieldBerty123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Foodie heaven in an unexpected place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This pub is one of the few decent places to eat in Sutton Coldfield that despite it's Royal status has a lack of restaurants of note. The menu is imaginative "pub style " food but cooked by someone who actually cares about ingredients and how they are put on the plate. The butternut squash & sage risotto was creamy, well cooked with just the right amount of bite to the arborio rice and was a steal at £5.99. A panna cotta was perfectly set with subtle hints of vanilla & the accompaniment of auutmn fruits compote was delicious with marinated grapes to add interest.
There is always a good selection of fish dishes on the menu and locally sourced meat.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Midlandsmasterchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent value with good choice of fish dishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is essentially a pub but the food standard is usually of restaurant quality. They begin with meat from a good local supplier, who is well known in the area. I do not know the provenance of the fish but the hake that I had was first class, as was the cod that two companions ordered. These came with well suited sauces and potatoes and vegetables. The main course specials are around the £12-14 but my husband had cod and chips, traditional style, which was so fresh and pure white and cost £5.95 and was huge! There is a good choice of desserts and the portions are generous. It is usually full, and particularly at lunch times, it does tend to be the "silver brigade" but the atmosphere is always lively. It is a good place to take the kids/grand kids, who can simply have a burger if they wish. For the prices, I think it is remarkable value.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic food at a great price. Not just normal pub food.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Have eaten here on many occasions over the last couple of years. Never had a bad meal. Great prices with excellent specials available. Good steaks, fish and seafood. But to be honest whatever you choose is to such a high standard you feel you're in a high class restaurant and not a pub restaurant. Checkout the website and lunch and evening deals. Can't fault anything about the food, atmosphere, service or price. Give it a try you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sod25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butler's Arms also viewed

Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
 
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands
 

Been to Butler's Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing