We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stopover”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Farmers Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Farmers Arms
Ranked #10 of 56 Taunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect stopover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night on the way to Devon . Staff were really friendly . We didn't book in advance although I had phoned ahead to check they had rooms . We turned up on a busy Saturday evening and were shown immediately to a lovely spacious room with huge bathroom which was extremely well appointed for a pub . We ate a fabulous meal in the buzzing atmosphere of this friendly pub and the following morning had a perfect breakfast .
I agree with others it's not easy to find without sat nav but worth it when you get there

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillyH60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    15
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
35
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Told of this pub by my brother who stayed here a couple of time on route to Cornwall for his holidays, the rooms are very clean and very good size the breakfast was also very good could not fault the evening meal recommend staying Monday night as it pie night.

Room Tip: Ideal for country life
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mossey58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We went here last Sunday and we were very impressed with everything about the place. Excellent presentation and very tasty. Strongly recommended. Only one small minus was the muddy car park. More chippings required!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 217MichaelD217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

I had a short stay and was very impressed. The staff were really friendly and helpful, the room was spacious and beautifully furnished, and the breakfast was excellent. Lovely setting as well.

It was a little tricky to find on a very dark night.

I'll be certainly coming back anyway.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Quite tricky to find on a dark night, but once we reached the Farmer's Arms we received an exceptionally warm and friendly welcome from the young staff. The room was attractively designed - if a little jaded - and spacious with an ample bathroom. The food reached a good standard of pub food - not quite gastro-pub. But we enjoyed our meal and especially the Pub Quiz that followed. Breakfast before we left was fine.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halzephron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Spent a couple of nights here again over Xmas after being so delighted with our previous visit in the summer.
Once again we had a great time, we were made very welcome by Alison and her staff who are a very friendly bunch for whom nothing is too much trouble.
We ate in the bar on our first evening, the food was plentiful, hot and excellent quality what more could we want?. our room was clean and just as we remembered we felt instantly at home, Alison even provided an additional free standing heater in case we were cold (we weren't!).
Now to Xmas day itself, we joined others in the bar before our lunch which we both said was just fantastic, served by smiling staff at just the right pace. No wonder the chefs had a massive round of applause at the end.
Have mixed feelings about leaving this review - worry that next time we want to visit our 'bolt hole' the rest of you will have discovered it.
Thanks again Alison and team!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oneinthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

You have to stay here if you are in the area and need a place to stay. They have it spot on.

-Rooms are excellent
-Service fantastic
-Location is beautiful

Why stay in a big chain hotel when you get a massive room, amazing bathroom, beautiful bed.... the previous reviews are spot on its a great place to stay.

Not only that the bar is stunning - some evenings have entertainment, i.e quiz etc - although cater for those not wanting to be involved so a good selection of seating.

Loved my stay - will be back!

Room Tip: You cant go wrong - they are all beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevorLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
1.8 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
5.1 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
2.8 mi away
Frog Street Farmhouse
Frog Street Farmhouse
#1 of 56 in Taunton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farmers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmers Arms

Property: The Farmers Arms
Address: Higher West Hatch, Taunton TA3 5RS, England (Formerly The Farmers Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16th century Inn set in glorious Somerset countryside. 5 en-suite bedrooms, all unique, have just been awarded Alistair Sawday's Pub & Inn of the Year 2009. Restaurant, serving traditional British food, with real log fires and polished wooden floorboards. Perfect for that getaway from it all break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Farmers Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Farmers Hotel Taunton
The Farmers Arms Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing