We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Modernised ,very clean Cottage in handy location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Edith Cottage

 Sunny front elevation
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
 Sunny front elevation
Picnic table for alfresco dining TripAdvisor Excellence Certificates
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
Sunny front elevation
Picnic table for alfresco dining
TripAdvisor Excellence Certificates
Modern Country Style Kitchen
Charming Cosy Lounge
Dining Room
Dining Room
Master Bedroom
Sunny front facing master bedroom
Master Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
First Floor Bathroom situated between master and twin bedrooms
Rear Gate
Sunny rear courtyard for relaxing/drying washing!
Rear Courtyard
Edith Cottage
Secure Parking Via Security Gates
Tudor Buildings
Taunton Castle/Museum Entrance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Taunton, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
sunnyjers...
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Modernised ,very clean Cottage in handy location”
Reviewed March 14, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

On route to Cottage we were a bit apprehensive as the area could not be described as delightful but our fears were allayed on arrival at the Cottage..The welcome from Julie was very warm and the 'goodies' provided were much appreciated..The cttage has been modernised with every convenience you could think of and was immaculately clean.
There is a short walk to town which was so handy and the ' gated' parking right outside the back door was worth it's weight in gold for a Town location.
Would certainly be top of list if visiting area again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill S
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage”
Reviewed March 1, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking for somewhere to stay in the busy Somerset town of Taunton you could not do better than Edith Cottage. Situated in a quiet gated mews there is an allocated parking space near the back gate. Inside the Cottage has a very modern kitchen with a dishwasher and the use of a washing machine and is fully equipped with cooking utensils and crockery.
There is a separate dining room and sitting room both comfortably furnished. There are 2 bedrooms, one with a double bed and the other with 2 single beds. Both are spacious with plenty of hanging space and drawers. The bathroom has an over bath shower.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelliebox...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed February 17, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Great location, Quiet and great secure parking. The Cottage was immaculate, comfortable beds, plenty of hot water. We were given a warm welcome by the owner and a delicious cake was left for us. Five star cottage with lots of character, we had a great few days. The location is perfect for exploring the surrounding area, loads to do and see.
Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billandsh...
Weybridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delighted”
Reviewed January 24, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We were delighted when we arrived to find a very clean, cosy, comfortable and very well equipped cottage, also excellent safe parking.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Adorable cottage. Amazing stay!”
Reviewed January 2, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed recentally over the new year period. The cottage is spotless and nothing short of adorable. Very cute little cottage, well equipped in a perfect location far enough away from Taunton town that it was a quiet stay (even on new years eve) but close enough to walk to two new and nearby Vivary Park. Julie, the cottage owner is lovely. Tea tray with cake and chocolates waiting for us. Essentials in the fridge (wine.....it was new year!) All extra that we were not expecting. The cottage is well equipped with everything you could need. We will be back to stay here and I would highly recommend this cottage. We had never booked a cottage before and we were a little nervous, but our nerves were not necessary. My advice to anyone would most definitely be to book Edith Cottage, you won't regret it.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed December 12, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I have stayed in many places in the area for work, but this is without doubt my favourite!

It is a perfect base for working or visiting Taunton and the surrounding area, or indeed a great retreat if you fancy escaping from the world for a few days!

The house is clean and spacious and has lovely original features as well as nice modern décor.

The owner was so welcoming and thoughtful

I am already planning my next stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy W
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ladies get together for xmas”
Reviewed December 7, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have known each other for over forty years and always get together for a weekend in December to do xmas shopping and eat ,drink and be merry. The cottage was lovely and very comfortable, clean and a real home from home, there was a gorgeous cake waiting for us when we got there. Jayne was very accommodating and agreed early access for us to drop our baggage off which was very nice and we enjoyed a cuppa with a slice of cake before we went out on the town. Easy walking distance to all the shops pubs and restaurants we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves so much we are returning next year. Would recommend Edith Cottage as a great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely cottage with easy access to town centre
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing