We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Edith Cottage

 Sunny front elevation
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
 Sunny front elevation
TripAdvisor Excellence Certificates Modern Country Style Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
89 reviews
Sunny front elevation
TripAdvisor Excellence Certificates
Modern Country Style Kitchen
Utility area leading to WC
Ground floor WC with sink
Charming Cosy Lounge
Dining Room
Dining Room
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Sunny front facing master bedroom
Master Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
First floor bathroom
Complimentary hotel quality toiletries
Rear Gate
Sunny rear courtyard for relaxing/drying washing!
Rear Courtyard
Edith Cottage
Front Door illuminated by Fishermen's Lamp
Picnic table for alfresco dining
Secure Parking Via Security Gates
Tudor Buildings
Taunton Castle/Museum Entrance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Taunton, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 89 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Sian P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed December 12, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I have stayed in many places in the area for work, but this is without doubt my favourite!

It is a perfect base for working or visiting Taunton and the surrounding area, or indeed a great retreat if you fancy escaping from the world for a few days!

The house is clean and spacious and has lovely original features as well as nice modern décor.

The owner was so welcoming and thoughtful

I am already planning my next stay!

Date of stay: November 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy W
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ladies get together for xmas”
Reviewed December 7, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have known each other for over forty years and always get together for a weekend in December to do xmas shopping and eat ,drink and be merry. The cottage was lovely and very comfortable, clean and a real home from home, there was a gorgeous cake waiting for us when we got there. Jayne was very accommodating and agreed early access for us to drop our baggage off which was very nice and we enjoyed a cuppa with a slice of cake before we went out on the town. Easy walking distance to all the shops pubs and restaurants we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves so much we are returning next year. Would recommend Edith Cottage as a great place to stay.

Date of stay: December 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely cottage with easy access to town centre
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonijasa2...
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing, comfortable cottage”
Reviewed November 20, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely week at Edith Cottage, where we were made to feel very welcome. The cottage was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. Only a short walk from the town centre so very convenient location.

Date of stay: November 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm friendly welcome
Liked least: Advertised as having two bathrooms, but only had one and a separate wc so not quite what we were expecting.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delius17
London
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Ticked every box for us!”
Reviewed October 29, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Exceptionally good property in every way- appearance, space, comfort, cleanliness. We felt completely at home here, and were made welcome by the owner, Julie, who left chocolates and wine for us on arrival. Parking is in a gated mews next to the cottage, and it's a five minute walk into Taunton where there are a variety of restaurants. Would wholeheartedly recommend.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amount of space for two people
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterC720...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet oasis near city centre”
Reviewed October 17, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

It was a privilege to stay in this beautifully restored Grade 1 listed terrace. It has been fitted out to a very high standard and was equipped with all the amenities needed to make our stay easy and comfortable. Julie was very welcoming and ready to assist in any way. We really appreciated the dedicated parking space in the mews, and the double glazed windows, which made the apartment very quiet despite its proximity to the city centre. The shower does run hot and cool as the water must come up from the boiler downstairs, but this was a small price to pay for the overwhelming benefits of this spacious, comfy and very homely apartment. We would not hesitate to request a stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Double glazing, comfort and quality of amenities
Liked least: Temperamental shower
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vw r
1 review
“Super cottage”
Reviewed October 17, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Beautifully equipped and comfortable cosy cottage
Ideally located for the town
The owner was very friendly and extremely helpful.
A great place to stay all round.

Date of stay: October 2016
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnomad60
Bunbury, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent restored Victorian cottage”
Reviewed October 16, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Edith Cottage is a Victorian terraced cottage which has been restored and updated to a high standard with a good standard of decor, a modern kitchen and central heating that worked. There was a heart shaped chalkboard which said “Edith Cottage welcomes John and Sandra” and a welcome tray with a teapot and cups, some tea, and a choice of two cakes to sample. The instructions were among the best I have seen in a holiday cottage and there was a little history of the cottage which stated amongst other things that the cottage was named after the owner’s grandmother who used to work at the factory that was on the site before it was redeveloped. All nice touches. The cottage is very well placed near the centre of Taunton, the county town of Somerset, but it is nice and quiet as it is off the main road. There is reserved parking in a secure area at the back of the cottage accessed through a remotely controlled gate. We would have no hesitation in recommending Edith Cottage to our friends and hope to stay there again sometime.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm and comfortable with good wifi.
Liked least: steep stairs - to be expected in a Victorian cottage
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing