We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A GEM OF A PLACE”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Edith Cottage

 Sunny front elevation
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
 Sunny front elevation
Picnic table for alfresco dining Modern Country Style Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Sunny front elevation
Picnic table for alfresco dining
Modern Country Style Kitchen
Charming Cosy Lounge
Dining Room
Dining Room
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
First Floor Bathroom
Sunny rear courtyard for relaxing/drying washing!
Rear Courtyard
Rear cottage gate to secure parking
Edith Cottage
Secure Parking Via Security Gates
Tudor Buildings
Taunton Castle/Museum Entrance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Taunton, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
cassiopia...
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A GEM OF A PLACE”
Reviewed November 8, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Just returned from a two night stay. The cottage is a delight everything you need is there plus extra's (games to keep my 9 year old grandchild amused for one). Cottage is in a great location and Julie went out of her way to help with route to train station and places to eat.The cottage is immaculate and I would recommend it to anyone. Would definatley use it again. Thank you Julie.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanlinessof the property
Liked least: Toaster
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvette356
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Edith cottage is a very nice, clean , recently refurbished small house with a private parking , it is very close to the center of Taunton and it is situated in a quite residential area.
It is equipped with everything a tourist need. wifi, hairdryer, all type of kitchen appliances etc.

Julie surprised us with a home-made cake to begin our stay.

We would love to stay here again.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann L
Florida City, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delightful we enjoyed staying there.”
Reviewed October 22, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My husband and l only had four days...as it was booked.It was cosy ,comfortable and uncluttered. Nice decor and very clean ,plus a lovely welcome cream tea. It was within easy reach of family the reason for being in Taunton. Short walk to town and parks, able to leave car which was nice.
Julie is a lovely person and made sure we had everything we needed. Loved it .....can't wait to go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, and perfect for our needs
Liked least: everything was perfect
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane and...
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Taunton in Glorious Somerset.”
Reviewed October 6, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A lovely week spent in a very comfortable cottage very near the centre of Taunton with all the wonderful places to see and visit. The weather was splendidl for the time of year - very warm and spring-like. We had no trouble at all locating the Cottage and found the owner very kind and generous. Scones and clotted cream very acceptable after a long journey from East Sussex. The town itself has a lot to offer - lots of good shops - lots of smaller shops too selling quaint items - the County Stores, near Market House in North Street, has a wonderful collection of chutneys and unusual foods for the connoisseur plus a coffee shop in the basement and a very good restaurant on the top floor. We would recommend a walk through the archway beside the famous Castle Hotel to the museum coffee shop which has a pleasant outside area to sit and enjoy the atmosphere. Bath Place is a very old walk way with lots of interesting little shops. There are pubs galore. We visited Plymouth, Newton Abbot, Torquay and Minehead - all by rail - the station being a 15 minute walk away to the north of the town. Buses are frequent throughout the town and within a few minutes walk from Edith Cottage. If the weather on our stay in the cottage had been worse, we would have been happy to stay in and enjoy the homely feel of this 18th century home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warmth of the cottage due to the thick walls
Liked least: The stairs were a little steep but expecteed in a cottage of this age
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff C
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Attractive, comfortable and within walking distance of the town. And an ideal base to travel the area!”
Reviewed September 29, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Private secure parking and well equiped kitchen, TV, Wifi etc. Comfy, well decorated and fairly quiet for a town location.
An easy walk to the town with plenty of restaurants take aways and shops. attracive river and park walks. An ideal base for touring. We would stay again.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely home from home cottage”
Reviewed July 26, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We booked Edith Cottage as our destination for a weeks Cricket at Kings College. Ideally located between the Cricket ground and town center meant we had the best of both worlds. The cottage itself has been beautifully renovated and has all the mod cons you need for a week away with the family. Smart clean and very comfortable, Edith Cottage gave us a great base. A long drive from up north was greeted with a beautiful cream tea and a welcoming host- Thank you Julie. All in all a good week and a base I would recommend for touring the local area. Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim G
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, exceeded all my expectations.”
Reviewed July 17, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We currently live in the US and only choose to stay in Taunton because it was in the middle of two sets of Grandparents! I'm so glad we found Edith Cottage - it was perfect, with so many little extra touches it really felt like a home away from home.
The owner is so considerate and it was such a pleasure when my children and I turned up after along haul flight (completely exhausted) to find afternoon tea set up waiting for us. I would certainly recommend and hope we get the opportunity to stay again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing