We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning location and fabulous hosts”
Review of Hartwood House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hartwood House
Ranked #11 of 55 Taunton B&B and Inns
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning location and fabulous hosts”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We arrived very late after a long journey but were welcomed with the same enthusiasm you'd expect from a small child on Christmas morning. Hot chocolate all round and warm beds were waiting for us. After a hearty freshly prepared breakfast (all locally sourced) we were shown around the garden and the kids given the opportunity to feed the Alpaca. So much to see and do both inside the house and out, David and Rosemary are natural entertainers who are only too pleased to make your stay perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeRidyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
48
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our stay Hartwood House was delightful. Due to our own bad time keeping (we had walked from Taunton along the Quantocks and stopped at The Blue Ball for an early supper) we arrived at dusk and, by prior arrangement, let ourselves in,whereupon we were greeted by Sadie. We didn't meet our hosts David and Rosemary until the morning, when they served us a wonderful cooked breakfast. We were entertained by three alpacas on the lawn who seemed to be intent on demolishing one of the dogwoods in the beautiful garden. David could not have been more helpful with his knowledge of the area, and even transported our bags to our next overnight stop ten miles away. A very comfortable and enjoyable stay and we look forward to coming back to explore this beautiful area further.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Hartwood House is just lovely!
We couldn't have found a more charming, welcoming and beautifully situated place to stay en route from Cornwall.
The woodland setting is just perfect, in the most wonderful countryside. We arrived exhausted and immediately felt better for the warmest welcome from David, Rosemary and Sadie the Labrador, not to mention revived by a cup of tea & delicious home-made mince pies.
It felt like staying with friends, relaxing and comfortable and homely. Our room was a delight, and we were even more spoilt by having a Visitors Sitting room complete with log fire.
We didn't want to leave! Especially after such a fantastic breakfast. Looking for a chance to come back soon and stay for longer than one night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZoeLdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a very relaxing weekend in the lovely Hartwood house. The house is situated in a very peaceful spot in the middle of the woods, away from the noise of the road, it was absolutely silent at night! On arrival we were greeted very warmly by David and Rosemary and their friendly dog, Sadie, with delicious homemade cake and tea. We were very grateful to David for his recommendations for local restaurants and pubs. There seem to be a great number of excellent eating places, all within 15 minutes drive of the house. We also enjoyed going into the field to help feed their 3 alpacas!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelSys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherfield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have just returned from a short break at Hartwood House. I was really pleased to find a bed and breakfast to accommodate me and my family (and dog!) close to the venue for my niece"s wedding. David and Rosemary are fabulous and caring hosts. Tea and cake on arrival, fresh milk supplied for hot beverages in our rooms and delicious breakfasts. They even booked local pubs for suppers and supplied an OS map for local walks. The house is comfortable, clean and well loved and the gardens a delight. Sadie the Labrador is very sweet and always up for a woodland walk! I would have no hesitation in recommending Hartwood House - it"s a hidden gem!

Room Tip: All have good views of the gardens. Belvedere has a nice big bay window to sit in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RotherfieldAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Hartwood House, well what can I say? If you want peace and quiet in a beautiful setting, this is the place to go. A total air of calm and tranquility pervades the place. The rooms are comfortable and totally inspire relaxation, as for the breakfasts.......amazing is too small a word! David and Rosemary are the most wonderful, welcoming hosts and are extremely accomodating. I stayed two nights, as my daughter's wedding was nearby and I couldn't have asked for a lovelier place to stay. If what you are seeking is to get away from the stresses of everyday life, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoLSomerset_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

If you are looking for a restful and peaceful B&B in beautiful surroundings, then you have come to the right place. Hartwood House is located in a magnificent private garden which you can enjoy at your leisure. On our arrival, we were welcomed with tea and delicious homemade cake laid out for us in a sunny corner of the garden. The rooms are large and comfortable with views overlooking the lush garden. Breakfast is a feast and served in the dining room which looks out into the garden.
David and Rosemary are excellent hosts and make you feel welcome the moment you arrive. They were very helpful in answering our questions about the local area and making suggestions for places to eat and visit.
We enjoyed a peaceful and restful stay and would recommend Hartwood House to all.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Legrandbleu22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
13.4 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
8.1 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
14.4 mi away
Frog Street Farmhouse
Frog Street Farmhouse
#1 of 55 in Taunton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Catwell House
Catwell House
#4 of 55 in Taunton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
6.9 mi away
Yallands Farmhouse
Yallands Farmhouse
#3 of 55 in Taunton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
9.4 mi away
Langaller Manor House
Langaller Manor House
#2 of 55 in Taunton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartwood House

Property: Hartwood House
Address: Crowcombe Heathfield | Crowcombe, Taunton TA4 4BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated between Exmoor, the sea and the Quantock Hills in a still undiscovered peaceful area of Somerset. Many guests comment on the comfort of our rooms, the warmth of our welcome, the beautiful garden and the quiet peaceful location of our house. Special mention is also made of our excellent breakfasts and the tea and home made cakes each afternoon - all included in the price. Within walking distance of The West Somerset Railway. An excellent base for walking, cycling or touring holidays. Eight acres of grounds to explore ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hartwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartwood House Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing