We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wondeful place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hartwood House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hartwood House
Ranked #10 of 55 Taunton B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a wondeful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

We came down for a wedding and decided to make it a pleasant break and stay 2 nights. By sheer good fortune we booked to stay at Hartwood House and what a wonderful weekend we had. We were made to feel like house guests from the minute we arrived to the moment we left. Rosemary's home made cakes on arrival and her homemade jams made with fruit from the garden were an absolute delight. Our bedroom was so comfy with everything we could poossibly desire and a beautiful view across the garden. Nothng was too much trouble for our hosts and we felt a real pang when we left to go home. But I have to say that for us, the real star of the show was Sadie and the highlight of our weekend was taking her for walks. We can't wait to have the opportunity to go and stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pennie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
48
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Wales
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

We found this excellent B+B the night before we stayed on the internet due to a last minute business trip to the South West. We're so glad we did!
David and Rosemary are very welcoming upon arrival (and throughout our stay)and had tea and homemade cakes waiting in the sitting room shortly after we took our bags to our room.
Its nice to talk to knowledgable and friendly hosts in front of a nice burning fire in cosy surroundings.
The room was well presented and a large en suite. The bed was very comfortable and I slept well for a full 10 hours and not the 6 I am usually accustomed to!
Breakfast was nice, we were offered melon, grapefruit and stewed fruits from the garden, followed by a cooked breakfast and toast. Homemade marmalade and raspberry jams were both very tasty too.
Sadie (their small black labrador) is very cute and doesnt pester, beg or intrude and my wife who isnt too keen on dogs just loved her as she has a lovely personality and temperment .
We will be back, we go this way once every 4 or 5 months and usually stay just outside Bridgwater which was fully booked up this time but now we have found Hartwood House we will book in advance.
Well done David and Rosemary.

Room Tip: Belvedere (Blue room) outstanding view of garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuinwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westward Ho, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

We stayed here for one night in October 2011. We found this wonderful place
on the internet. David and Rosemary the hosts were very welcoming on the
phone and even more so in the flesh, offering us tea and (home-made) cake on
arrival and giving us plenty of information about the area! Our room was
huge, and the en-suite bathroom, although a little dated in terms of decor,
was also large and very comfortable.The grounds are a delight, the owners
having invested enormous energy and thought into the layout, and one could
spend an afternoon just exploring them! The bed was luxurious and we slept
like logs! Breakfast was perfect - a range of cereals with a home-made fruit
compote, full English breakfast, toast and coffee/tea. We will definitely be
returning to this fantastic venue. The hosts make every effort to make one
welcome and engage in intelligent conversation with quintessential English
charm and humour. Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinChapple1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

Fantastic place to stay, friendly and knowledgeable hosts, large rooms and great facilities. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms are great, no noise from traffic and good views over the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

I stayed at Hartwood house for 2 nights with friends and I felt at home as soon as we arrived. Rosemary and David were excellent hosts and were very friendly and welcoming. The bedroom was lovely and clean and so spacious.The breakfasts were delicious and coming back to homemade cake and a pot of tea in the evening created a perfect finish to the day.
The garden was amazing and was the perfect place to relax. I will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in September....lovely country house in beautiful grounds..peaceful surroundings but close to pubs with excellent food.
David and Rosemary know how to look after their guests..from the welcome afternoon tea in the garden, helpful ideas about sightseeing and dining out, tasty breakfasts, enormous rooms ... plus many laughs.
Just what we needed after travelling around the UK for 3 weeks...staying there refreshed us for the rest of our fantastic trip..
We live in Sydney, Australia and for us, staying at Hartwood House was an unique and enjoyable experience ...wished we live closer.....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaretandbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

Having been let down on a different local booking, it was suggested that we try Hartwood House - and how lucky we were! The hosts were more than welcoming, treating us almost as long lost friends. We had a very spacious twin room with large en-suite, which would put many 4* hotels to shame, and unrestricted views over the magnificent gardens. We sat and had tea and cakes with David and Rosemary and felt so at home that we wished we'd known about this place years ago. Location-wise, it is perfect for exploring this part of Somerset but the utterly peaceful location also makes it ideal for quiet local walks around the lanes and woods. David recommended some excellent local pubs for meals but the hosts' breakfasts were actually quite hard to beat. Overall, a real gem and one of Somerset's hidden treasures.

Room Tip: Take whatever's available - you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taunton
13.4 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
8.1 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
5.3 mi away
Catwell House
Catwell House
#4 of 55 in Taunton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Frog Street Farmhouse
Frog Street Farmhouse
#1 of 55 in Taunton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
9.4 mi away
Langaller Manor House
Langaller Manor House
#2 of 55 in Taunton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
3.0 mi away
Wick House
Wick House
#1 of 3 in Stogumber
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartwood House

Property: Hartwood House
Address: Crowcombe Heathfield | Crowcombe, Taunton TA4 4BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated between Exmoor, the sea and the Quantock Hills in a still undiscovered peaceful area of Somerset. Many guests comment on the comfort of our rooms, the warmth of our welcome, the beautiful garden and the quiet peaceful location of our house. Special mention is also made of our excellent breakfasts and the tea and home made cakes each afternoon - all included in the price. Within walking distance of The West Somerset Railway. An excellent base for walking, cycling or touring holidays. Eight acres of grounds to explore ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hartwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartwood House Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing