We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally, very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Generally, very good”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The place had been modernised, updated and redecorated so the rooms were clean & modern. Rooms were quiet with comfortable beds and there was plenty of hot water!

However, the receptionist was not particularly efficient and had messed up our reservations for dinner & breakfast.

Overall, generally it was very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheChampions11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    171
    43
    14
    7
See reviews for
183
190
23
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Given how inexpensive this hotel is, it's surprisingly good. Very clean and comfy bedrooms, good breakfast (was a bit busy on the Bank Holiday Monday, but the breakfast was still good!), good location just off the main road (you'll have to drive if you want to get into Taunton) but not noisy inside.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian_Sevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed at this premier inn whilst in Taunton on business. From the minute I went to reception I was made to feel very welcome and treat with respect and friendliness. The booking in process was seamless, dealt with by a very cheerful young girl in a very professional manner.
As is usually the case with premier inns the room was well fitted out, had an extremely comfortable bed, the bathroom was a newer design than others I have stayed in and I think it works better. Good wifi is available with the first half hour free. Food was at the Beefeater next door where again the service and quality was very good. Parking is free, which isn't always the case as I found last time I stayed in a premier inn in Birmingham. When next staying in Taunton I will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights here & were VERY impressed with the hotel/room! We have stayed here before, but quite a few years ago, and so were surprised at the changes. Liked the idea of the lights coming on as you walk down the corridor & the new room decor was great. The new Hypnos bed was very comfy & the purple lights above the bed . . set the mood! ;) Only one slight thing - the extractor fan/system seems quite loud (in the bedroom!) once its been running a minute or two. Overall, if this is going to be the new standard of room, then bring it on!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkshire_Lass195725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Totally refurbished with very comfy bed and everything it says on the tin. The only disappointment was the lack of a grab and go breakfast. We just wanted a cup of tea and some toast, ended up at the nearest supermarket cafe as the full Premier Inn breakfast is expensive and not what we wanted.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martini5655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Newly refurbished rooms - very comfortable. Great bed. Decent hairdryer. Great having beefeater next door - staff very friendly. Would definitely stay here again. Breakfast was cooked to order rather than all the food being self service and sitting on hot plates

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

This was a £29 advanced booking to break up our journey from Manchester to Cornwall, and it was just what we needed.

We arrived early but were allowed to book in and leave our car in the car park whilst we spent the afternoon in Taunton. It was quite a long walk, but as it was a beautiful day, it was nice to stretch our legs after the long drive.

We didn't eat at the restaurant but had a drink, and it looked fine.

We took the opportunity to take in a film at the cinema complex about 10 minutes walk away (which also includes ten pin bowling, for the more energetic).

The hotel appears to have been newly refurbished - big telly etc, and our room had a nice sofa. Problem with Wifi connection - which receptionist tried to resolve via IT helpline - but offered refund of the £3 charge when this didn't sort it.

So its all good.



  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
4.4 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Taunton
Travelodge Taunton
#8 of 17 in Taunton
182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
1.4 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
Address: 81 Bridgwater Road, Taunton TA1 2DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Taunton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#2 Business Hotel in Taunton
#2 Family Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An easy drive from Bridgwater, Taunton Racecourse and the charming West Somerset Steam Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing