We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware no shaver sockets in bathroom anymore” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Home Counties, U.K.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beware no shaver sockets in bathroom anymore”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Each year Whitbread reduce something in their Premier Inn rooms but try to charge more. The refitted bathroom at Taunton East was yet another example. Their cutbacks have seen heated towel rails removed in all hotels leaving no heating in winter - and now shaver sockets too. Apparently, according to other reviewers towels are on the decline too! Simple question Whitbread - why?

The staff were very pleasant and helpful & usual breakfast fayre the following day. But the problems, despite the best intentions of the staff, lie with huge faceless corporations that do not connect with their customers. Just look at the same corporate response to each criticism on TripAdvisor. Can nobody actually pen a personal response?

I'd simply like to know from Whitbread how it benefits customers by removing heating from the bathroom and by removing shaver sockets? That's not hard is it?

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tex26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    157
    43
    14
    4
See reviews for
173
173
21
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed at this hotel 20 years ago (for 3 nights via work) and having left it far too late to book an overnight stay elsewhere on the way to Bristol airport for an early flight, managed to find a room here. I was pleasantly surprised to find that all though the hotel had obviously aged since my last visit, the rooms themselves had been refurbished and were extremely comfortable for my wife, son & I. We were impressed that a budget hotel provided the little touches like shower gel in the bathroom and even though we had to leave for our flight at 2.00am we slept soundly, apart from a brief 5 minutes when some idiot guests arrived back at their room making a racket in the corridor at 11.30pm (not the hotels fault). We found the staff extremely friendly & helpful and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aparthenope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel needs some TLC and some money spending on it. The rooms are below Premier Inns normal standard they need updating. Apparently the towel policy has been changed only one small towel even if there are 2 people in the room. When we asked for another one it was no problem so why change the amount of towels per room?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie_gunfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Staff very very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Premier Inn a little dated. TV old style, and cable fixed to the wall with tape, which kind of spoilt the room. Bed very comfortable. Evening meals in the beefeater good value for money. Sat Nav sent us the wrong way with the post code given, best to use the directions given by the Premier Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMBWaterlooville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Family of 4 stayed here for 2 nights in April. Unusually for a Premier Inn, it is in a residential location and, consequently is very quiet - yet less than a mile from M5. Check in was friendly and very efficient. As some of the other reviews have mentioned it is an older Premier Inn but so what - it was spotlessly clean, quiet, comfortable beds, tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast was served in the Beefeater - a short walk across the car park. Staff were friendly and breakfasts were very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipping campden
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

As soon as we arrived at this Premier Inn the lovely receptionist warned us that "it was due for a refurb" and it certainly was!!! Having stayed at another Premier Inn on our journey to Cornwall a few days earlier which was excellent we were sadly let down by this choice. Apart from the receptionist on arrival the rest of the staff in the nearby restaurant were lacklustre and not terribly bothered by being cheerful and welcoming. We hadn't booked dinner but arrived at 7 pm and were told we couldn't have a table until 8.15 pm so went elsewhere. Bed comfortable and clean as bathroom but so dated and shabby. Would always check beforehand in future to make sure an update has taken place in these Premier Inns.

Room Tip: Wait until this Inn has been updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cotswold017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a clean and comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

food first class rooms first class STAFF FIRST CLASS it is the best premier inn in the uk
we have stayed in loads all over the uk
nice quiet location close to m5 and easy to find
a warm welcome awaits you
steve and sean DIRECTPINE DONCASTER

Room Tip: nice quiet location good food all round excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenLOWTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
1.8 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
Address: 81 Bridgwater Road, Taunton TA1 2DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Taunton
#2 Family Hotel in Taunton
#2 Business Hotel in Taunton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An easy drive from Bridgwater, Taunton Racecourse and the charming West Somerset Steam Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing