We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“L.I.Reunion 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton-on-tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“L.I.Reunion 2014”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This is the second year we have stayed at this Premier Inn and I must say we were well looked after again.The rooms are fine and the staff really friendly and helpful with a good sense of humour......


  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    111
    59
    20
    7
See reviews for
100
96
27
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Always a favourite of ours, close to the family and very nice staff in the hotel. Brewers Fayre a bit hit or miss, evening meals adequate, breakfast, you have to time it right or you have to wait for eggs, then the bacon runs out, then the sausages!!
Oh well, only a little gripe!!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank sterobyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Normally I like to stay somewhere with a bit of history but for the last 4 years I've stayed here when visiting Somerset for the West Somerset Railway's Spring Gala. Why?

The Hotel

In a sense it's a standard issue Premier Inn, new build, accomodation in a barracks style building with the breakfast and lunch or evening meals in a pub. So not really a historic place and not really in the middle of town (most Premier Inns seem to be on the edge of town).

That said the rooms are warm, clean and spacious with a comfy bed and not much noise from the main road. The food in the pub / restaurant is perfectly good. The staff are welcoming and helpful and there is plenty of car parking.

The Town

As a Premier Inn the hotel is 10 - 15 minutes from the centre of town but its an easy walk and the town centre has all the usual banks, shops and restaurants. Somerset County Cricket Club's ground is about 10 mins walk away and there are plenty of good pubs in town - prime local brew seems to be Exmoor - a very fine pint.

The Area

I come down regularly because the southern end of the West Somerset Railway is about 5 miles away at Bishop's Lydeard. There is a bus to there from Taunton Railway Station which is about 10 mins walk away. The WSR runs for 20 miles thorugh beautiful scenery to Minehead on the Bristol Channel. The Inn is also very close to the Quantocks and the Eastern edge of Exmoor, both prime walking country. The villages around here all seem to have a good pub and beautiful Medieval church and the landscape shows lots of signs of its medieval origins (I do love my landscape history!). The churches at Bishop's Lydeard and Crowcombe have wonderful carvings on the bench ends. If you're into folklore (and I do!) Crowcombe was the home of Ruth Tongue who recorded much local lore.

Will I stay here again? Almost certainly, for all it's modern-ness and that it's part of a chain, I still think it's worth a stay, not for itself but as a good base for what is around it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunofYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Used this as a stop over on a long journey with family. Family room clean and modern.
Bathroom a little tired looking in places.
Wel placed and easy to find from the motor way.
Attatched resturant was ok service a little slow.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
269 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Chose this hotel as it is a short drive to 40 Commando Norton manor camp and ideal for visiting our son.
As with all premier inns the rooms are well equipped and you know what to expect.
Despite been next to a busy road traffic noise was not an issue and there is ample free parking available.
The onsight restaurant is a Brewers Fayre which serves reasonably priced good value meals-the only downside is you do need to go outside and walk across the car park to get to it( no internal link as with a lot of Premier inns)
The beauty about staying at any Premier inn is if you can book in advance the rooms are cheap but the service isn't,
If you have a son in the Marines and are coming down to visit its definitely worth considering- all round good value.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lou Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Premier Inns typically offer good value, with functional and clean rooms, albeit with few frills. This particular Premier Inn offers all that you would expect from the Premier Inn chain, but along with excellent service from a friendly, helpful and efficient team of staff.

The location of the Brewer's Fayre pub, situated next door to the hotel, is also a plus point, since it provides an excellent breakfast in the morning and a good range of pub food throughout the day.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JM1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The hotel is well positioned with a good restaurants and many various shops ; it is easy to find from the M5. However, the bathrooms are well overdue for refurbishment and the TV needs replacing.

Having said that the rooms we were well cleaned and the staff were really keen to ensure that we were happy. For that reason I would go back again if I was going to that area .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Taunton
Travelodge Taunton
#8 of 17 in Taunton
176 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
792 reviews
4.3 mi away
Days Inn Taunton
Days Inn Taunton
#15 of 17 in Taunton
358 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel
Address: Massingham Park | Priorswood Road, Taunton TA2 7RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#7 Family Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from the town centre, just a short walk from Lyngford House and Somerset County Cricket Club ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel Taunton
Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing