We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No better than a Travelodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“No better than a Travelodge”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I recently stayed in this Premier Inn for a night as a stopover on a long journey. The hotel was modern and reasonably well presented and the staff seemed friendly. The travel cot that I requested on the online booking form was actually in the room on our arrival, which I was surprised at (they aren't usually).

There were two problems with this hotel, however. The first is that one side of the hotel is adjacent to a busy road. This might be a problem if you wanted to sleep with the window open, which you would have needed to on the day we stayed there as it was the hottest day of the year. Luckily, our room was on the "quiet side" of the hotel.

The second problem was that the bed was very creaky and the mattress was incredibly uncomfortable. The matress reminded me of those I slept on when I was a student in University digs. It was one of the worst matresses I have slept on in a long time. I ended on sleeping on the floor on top of the duvet folder in two.

Last year, we also did a stopover in Taunton for the same reason but at a Travelodge. I didn't get a good nights sleep there either but I paid a lot less. Given the choice between the two hotels, I would have to go back to the Travelodge (shudder).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the "quiet side" of the hotel (or bring ear plugs).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    111
    59
    20
    7
See reviews for
100
96
27
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Wittering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Upon arrival, we checked in quickly by a friendly receptionist and went to our rooms - the beds were very comfortable, and there is a choice of soft or firm pillows. The receptionist kindly offered to exchange our duvets for sheets if we were too hot, and a fan was provided.

With regards to food, we opted for the meal deal, which for £22.99 includes a 3-course dinner and a drink, followed by breakfast the next morning - this turned out to be very good value, as you can have steak on the deal, and the food was very good. Breakfast was good too, where they offered Costa coffee.

In the reception area there is a vending machine offering food and drink, as well as toiletries, and there is a free water dispenser with cups. In the restaurant there is a funny candy floss machine for only £1, which makes candy floss for you with music; there is also a childrens' soft play area and fruit machines, amongst other things.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gourmet_and_gourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMPSHIRE
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a great stay here the room was very clean and the beds so comfortable, the breakfast and evening meal we had were very enjoyable we would not hesitate to stay here again thank you premier inn !!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JUSTUSTWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Had a need for a short over night stop for the family. The play barn in the restaurant attached was a great bonus. Staff were helpful. Booking was simple online. Parking was out side and free. Wonderful

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The premier inn Taunton central north was a pleasure to say in, its guarantee for a good night sleep is certainly true. The rooms were clean and refreshing and always kept to a high standard. I spent five nights at the hotel for leisure purposes from the 2nd to 7th July and found the hotel was very central for local buses and the train station so I could travel all over somerset. a very pleasant enjoyable stay and always made to feel valued and welcomed. I would certainly return highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tyler2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This seems to be one of the older Premier Inns. Still using key entry to rooms and with VERY old and clunky TVs, but nevertheless, room was clean and tidy, as was the bathroom and the bed was up to the usual standard. Pillows could do with being a bit plumper and towels were a bit thin.

Indifferent welcome by Receptionist who was having trouble with the card reader.

I had noisy neighbours above me who were exercising their pet elephant throughout the night and I mentioned this on departure and was immediately refunded the cost of the night's stay. Although the troublesome guests above me were not Premier Inn's fault, they really do offer a 'Good Night Guarantee' and for that they can't be faulted.

Breakfast at Brewer's Fayre in the morning was 'typical' Premier Inn and was up to the usual high standard. I didn't eat there the evening before.

All in all, a decent Premier Inn and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Myself, my partner & our 2 young children stayed here twice within a week either side of a butlin's holiday to break up the journey. I looked at alot of hotels in the area and i am really glad i chose this one. The rooms where spotless and the cot for our youngest was also ready upon arrival which was nice as so many times i have stayed in budget hotels i have had to go and ask for the cot!

It's about a 15 minute walk from the train station and about 20 mins from town. There is a small tesco about a 5 min walk away. We didn't see much else in the surrounding area, but then we didn't really look to be fair.

The pub next to the hotel where breakfast is served has a soft play area for the kids which my son loved. We chose to have breakfast there which was nice, it was cooked to order the first time we stayed and was a buffet breakfast the second time.

The thing that stood out for us the most about this hotel was the very lovely reception staff. They where so friendly and helpfull and we received a really warm welcome on both occasions. I left my phone in the pub at breakfast the first time we stayed and the reception staff alerted me to this, which i was very grateful for as i had not even noticed it was missing! Also on our return after our holiday we had left our chargers at Butlins and the lovely lady on reception managed to sort out a replacement for us which we thought was very nice of her.

Overall a great stay and i would be happy to recommend this to anybody.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Taunton
Travelodge Taunton
#8 of 17 in Taunton
176 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
792 reviews
4.3 mi away
Days Inn Taunton
Days Inn Taunton
#15 of 17 in Taunton
358 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel
Address: Massingham Park | Priorswood Road, Taunton TA2 7RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#7 Family Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from the town centre, just a short walk from Lyngford House and Somerset County Cricket Club ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel Taunton
Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing