We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the best receptionist ever?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Stayed recently for one night only - Dimitri the receptionist was awesome - smiled, welcoming, knowledgeable, helpful, genuine with his welcome - not something that he had to say/do but wanted to

I stay in hotels all week every week - nice to know that someone is setting the standard - just a shame that it wan'y consistent across the other staff

Overall - an average stay except for the welcome which will stay with me and give me hope for the future

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 339 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2012

I would use this premier inn again and we got it on the premier saver which made it good value for money.
Room was clean overall apart from two areas which would highlight that the walls and doors would benefit from a good wash down.
The beds were comfortable and although the heating wasn't working we did manage to get a heater from reception.
The food was good and self service. We had the chip shop buffet on the fri night which we enjoyed. On the sat morning we had a help yourself self service breakfast with refillable costa hot drinks at no extra costs.
The only noise was from the guests above us who disturbed the kids after midnight and started again at 7 but no fault of the hotel.
Overall a perfect stop off.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charliep1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stayed en route to West Country to break up the journey, average nights stay - usual PI format but rather noisy as very close to elevated section of main road into Taunton. Ear plugs required! Clean room, comfy bed, friendly reception staff, ample parking and handy for the M5, and a 20 min walk into centre of Taunton.
However the Brewers Fayre is not one of the best - food very average, service not with a smile. We arrived for dinner at the end of a busy Sunday day/evening, and the place was very very untidy, food and cutlery and other debris under the table did not make for a comfortable experience. They did provide a wine bucket though, so one redeeming feature. Restaurants at other PI's usually better (look for a Table Table or Beefeater if you have a choice as table service to take order, better menus and less of a bun fight to order and pay).

Room Tip: Ask for one on south side, away from the main road.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank velademar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your and our team ensured you were comfortable and well looked after. Please accept my apologies for the disappointment caused with the service you received in the restaurant. Your comments regarding this have been duly noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at the hotel.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Averagely good night stay. The beefeater restaurant is lovely and the hotel staff have great customer service but I think all this hotel really needs is a good new paint job and it could be so much better. We stayed in the premier inn in Exeter the previous night and it was much better.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank SP91Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards as we endeavour to meet all of our customers needs.

Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

stayed here on a saturday night before going on to a bird of prey centre for an owl flying experience. The receptionist was attentive and friendly but did have trouble with her computer (not her fault but just computer problems). We were given our key and asked if we wanted to book breakfast (due to the computer problems we didnt, glad we didnt, as we had evening meal at the brewers fayre and it was cold but that is different review).
our room was clean and the bed comfy, our room was a little noisy from outside traffic which i heard throughout the night but i am quite a light sleeper, my husband heard nothing!
There are towels and shower gel, but you need to take your own toothpaste, shampoo etc or you can buy a kit from reception.
i would happily book into another premier inn having experienced this one.

Room Tip: we had room 30 (evens seem to be road side) so if you are a light sleeper you may prefer odds. could...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hedgehoglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Reception staff themselves were very good I must point out.
At breakfast, however, it was a very different story. It wasn't busy, though I waited around 15 minutes to be seated (waiting to be seated is a requirement).
It turned out the girls working there had been around the corner chatting and waving to their friends through the window. I ordered breakfast and they resumed their leisure activities - forgetting my breakfast which clearly ended up sitting under a hot plate for some time. It was basically inedible when I eventually recieved it. I was physically *unable* to cut the hash browns and sausages with a knife and fork.
I listened out of interest to the several young girls whilst they amused themselves, and wondered if they had even come across the notion of being 'professional' (or indeed even considered that they were being paid to do a job - the latter seemed just inconvenient). They talked loudly and didn't much care that all of their conversations were open.
They chatted about how they all have drinks from behind the bar - seemingly someone was being reprimanded for this. They chatted about someone getting a new managerial post and some ill feelings that had in relation to this. Throughout, one of them referred to others in a loud mock voice as 'tarts'.
They spoke about how the previous morning a customer had "complained" because a table was dirty... the audacity - can you imagine - it was of course their fault for sitting there! etc. etc etc.
Shockingly bad experience.

Room Tip: No problems with the room or the hotel for the larger part (though due to it's location there is...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2012

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our team ensured you were comfortable and well looked after. Please accept my apologies for the disappointment caused with the service you received in the restaurant. Your comments regarding this have been duly noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at the hotel.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Was very impressed with this hotel,very clean,family friendly,good breakfast comfortable room.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 52sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
1.3 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
823 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Taunton
Travelodge Taunton
#9 of 17 in Taunton
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
393 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
1.0 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel

Address: Massingham Park | Priorswood Road, Taunton TA2 7RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#7 Family Hotel in Taunton
Price Range: $68 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from the town centre, just a short walk from Lyngford House and Somerset County Cricket Club ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel Taunton
Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing