We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
East midlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Nice welcome by girls on reception.

Disappointing rooms as they aren't really up to date. Old style tv's and no air conditioning (needed more and more with the high temperatures!). Only had small windows for a draft, but hidden by secondary glazing which cut out most of the benefits! Did have a fan in the room, but can't say the last time it had a vacuum around it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaaykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    167
    89
    29
    17
See reviews for
148
177
38
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sherfield on Loddon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Great location. Room was good with a sky-light. A bit noisey and could hear a couple in the next room clearly having a good time!!!! But easy access to the M5 and Taunton town centre. Would recommend. Good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debsw18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

The room was ok, good large bed and the staff pleasant however there was a strong cheese smell outside the building and we were disturbed by a lot of noise during the course of the night. It was ok for a stop-off but not good value for money all in all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane10981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We booked this premier inn as we were attending a wedding in the area. The premier inn met all the usual standards with friendly and helpful staff although the rooms were hot even with the fan on. Breakfast next door was a shambles. It was a busy holiday Saturday with families travelling further into the south west but there were only two overworked staff trying to manage it all on both Saturday and Sunday morning. Tables were not cleared, cereal bowls and plates were not replenished, fruit salad bowls empty etc. the staff were working hard but they could not manage the volume. A shame because breakfast at a premier inn is usually a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sab57Derbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in room 2 in the main building. The room smelled of damp as soon as I entered and staff clearly knew this as a fan was already running in the room. The window was very narrow, about 12inches and would only open about an inch as it was on the ground floor. The inner window was nearly shut over the outer window and the curtains drawn so NO fresh air could get in at all.

Steve on front desk was very helpful indeed and brought an extra air con unit to help circulate the air. This did help once I had pulled the net curtains aside and tried to get some fresh air in through the tiny window.

I would encourage you to not stay in Room 2 and I wouldn't choose to return. The experience was saved by the excellent service from Steve who was very apologetic and did all he could to help.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Folkingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a clean and comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangamata, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We've stayed in many excellent P.I.s but this one is a complete let down. Stayed Friday night 19th July in the annex building. 29C in the room all night, so not a good night's sleep. Fan inadequate & surely air-con might be expected in 21st century. Old TV, both bedside lights broken, soap dispenser in bathroom broken. Also, the alleged security door just opened as one approached, rather than opening with one's keycard. Mentioned all these aspects in the morning to very polite receptionist (Zoe, who herself had finished work at 11pm & was back on at 7am owing to staff shortages), but no offer of refund. This P.I. is in desperate need of a refurb. Turning now to breakfast, this is provided across the "garden" in the Orchid Pub, not part of P.I. group but sub-contracted. This can only be described as disgraceful. At 8.30am, one young lady (ShanaMarie) (+a chef) was trying her best to run everything without great success, so almost all tables were full of used plates & food & not cleared. She was trying very hard to cover reception/payment and replace plates, bowls, cutlery, beverages, etc which were always running out. When questioned about lack of staff, she said she had referred to her Manager (apparently on the premises) but he had refused to come down.The cooked food was abysmal - what was left of it was poorly presented & dried out. Reporting this as well to Zoe, and there were many other families complaining, resulted in her persuading the Orchid to refund our money. When we returned to the Pub at 9.30, the situation was the same and the Manager had still not appeared. I have reported all this separately to Premier Inns and to Orchid Pubs Ltd but with no response. We would never stay here again unless we knew there had been radical changes.

Room Tip: That would be difficult.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMILYEXPLORER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of customer service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

we stayed in hotel for one night with my 4 year old. on arrival we were told rooms were a bit hot so they had provided fans. This was understatement room was 44. we asked for sheets never received vending machine had one bottle of coke in restaurant awful only selling a very bad carvery on the hottest day of the year. good night garuntee never existed we have hsd no communication since leaving or anything ur money returned.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K123154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Taunton
Travelodge Taunton
#8 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel
2.4 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel
Address: Ruishton Lane, Taunton TA3 5LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the edge of Ruishton village, an ideal base from which to explore stunning Somerset ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and Booking.com so you can book your Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Taunton (Ruishton) Hotel Taunton
Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing