We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did the job”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Did the job”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We spent a night at this hotel on route to a holiday in Devon. The location is ideal when travelling from the midlands or the north of the UK. The room was one of the slightly older style rooms but was clean and serviceable. We manily chose this hotel as it had an offer on the rooms when booking in advance which made it very good value for money. The only niggle we had was the breakfast buffet and that the contents were not kept stocked up, we had to ask for a couple of items to be replenished which didnt appear to impress the young man serving on. Food was the usual reasonable quality we expect in Premier inn. All in all pretty happy with the overall experience, good place to stop on route elsewhere but probably not the location I would choose for a longer stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 535Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    178
    92
    32
    17
See reviews for
157
190
39
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

As expected, another good premier inn hotel. However restaurant does let it down.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbo4962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are very pleased that our team at the hotel ensured that you were well looked after.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and for this reason your feedback is very much appreciated as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs. Thank you also for your comments regarding the adjoining restaurant. This is not a Whitbread run establishment, but we will ensure that your feedback is passed to the company responsible for this establishment.

We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Excellent ie for money, clean hotel, very helpful friendly staff. A pleasure to stay

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy7608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

As normal this premier inn provided great value accomodation. Reasonably sized rooms,clean with all amminities provided.
The nearby Pub provided standard pub grub it won't set the world on fire but filled a gap.
Staff were pleasent.
Again Priemier inn provides a good value hotel, Location great for the motorway. Use Premier inn as a quick overnighter and you won't be dissapointed.

Room Tip: The Annex was very quiet and near to the Pub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKTonyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Premier Inn as normal, if you like purple you are OK. Only problem here is relatively minor and that is the freeview channels are very few in number, either a poor reception area or poor aerial system, the receptionist did re-tune, but still many blanks.

The evening meal at the "Blackbrook Tavern" TERRIBLE!!!
Service awful. I did not fancy the dried out cold looking mess that passed off as a carvery, but I was told there would be a half hour wait for food, this was at 7.00pm on a wednesday evening, so why so busy?
I ordered, starter "off", main course, "off", so I ordered something else, waited my half hour and was delivered a main course only. No explanation, a mumbled apology from an inexperienced waitress, no manager on site, so I ate the main course.
I asked for the bill, was charged for a drink I did not order and had not had, as I was complaining to the waiter, the drink I had not ordered was delivered!
This was sorted, but the restaurant is a mess, I called in here 2 years ago and the floor in the carvery was patched with chipboard then, it still is now.
Apparently there is another pub, 5 minutes walk away, supposed to be very good, try that.
Breakfast at McDonalds .8 miles away?
This is an Orchid pub I am told, when I read the other reviews it matches, dirty smelly toilets, poor service and dodgy crockery, AVOID!
(Huddersfield west, Nags Head, same owners, that is rubbish too)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceredigion, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Hotel was fine, standard Premier Inn offering.
However, the pub/restaurant next door was dreadful. I went in for an early evening meal at about 6pm, it wasn't busy, only three other tables occupied - I waited an hour for my food!!!! When it did arrive it was very average. Other tables were waiting similar lengths of time. The 2 waiting staff did their best not to catch anyone's eye! If you have to eat there, have the carvery as you won't have to wait for that (self serve).
Breakfast was OK but no-one to greet customers at the door just a sign saying wait to be seated - if you did what they asked you would have had a long wait, only one member of staff in evidence and she kept disappearing.
I know the pub isn't run by Premier Inn, but their close association means that Premier Inn's reputation is being adversely affected and they really should do something about the standards there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Thank you for your review.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and for this reason your feedback is very much appreciated as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs. Thank you also for your comments regarding the adjoining restaurant. This is not a Whitbread run establishment, but we will ensure that your feedback is passed to the company responsible for this establishment.

We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We chose Premier Inn as we had had very positive experiences in the past and felt it was a safe choice but this particular stay was very disappointing. We stayed here to break up the journey to Cornwall for a family funeral so had had a long drive down. All we wanted was a nice meal, a quick drink and a comfy bed. The first problem was that the bathroom had a very unpleasant smell and without going into details the toilet seat was filthy. The soap dispenser by the sink was broken and the one over the bath was almost empty. We told the receptionist and she apologised and said she would rectify this whilst we grabbed a quick bite. Credit where it's due she did try as when we returned the toilet was a little better (I wouldn't say clean) and as she couldn't repair the soap dispenser she left us a bottle of extremely watery handwash but no pump so it went everywhere. The bedroom was fine with the usual comfy bed.
The restaurant was the other main problem. It was virtually empty when we arrived but we were shown to the darkest draughtiest corner. The glasses on the table were dusty! We asked for a different table (of which there were plenty to choose from) as it was so dark that it was difficult to read the menu. The next table had clearly not been wiped over since the last diners and the glasses again were not exactly clean but we couldn't be bothered to say anything. Cask beer had reached the end of the barrel and the pint served was cloudy and undrinkable with no alternative on offer. Meal was ok but not great. Toilets very shabby. Overall - poor.
I have read other reviews on tripadvisor and note that the response from Premier Inn is that they are not in charge of the pub/restaurant but what I would say is that if it is on site, being used for breakfast and being promoted as the place to eat an evening meal when staying at this Premier Inn then there is some responsibility to monitor the standards of the place. If I had read the reviews beforehand then I would not have stayed here and would definitely not do so again.
We have given customer satisfaction feedback to Premier Inn but they have not responded.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ClaraB804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants, and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to do this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
3.8 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton Central (North) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
2.3 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel
Address: Ruishton Lane, Taunton TA3 5LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the edge of Ruishton village, an ideal base from which to explore stunning Somerset ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Taunton (Ruishton) Hotel Taunton
Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing