We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect rural retreat in glorious countryside...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Old Pigsty

The Old Pigsty
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Pigsty
The terrace outside, ideal for sun bathing Inside The Old PIgsty
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
The Old Pigsty
The terrace outside, ideal for sun bathing
Inside The Old PIgsty
Inside The Old Pigsty
The hens who may lay you some eggs for breakfast!
The stable yard
The River Culm
The signpost near The Old Pigsty
The Blackdown Hills
The Old Pigsty is 4 Star rated
The certificate from our Visit England inspection
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Taunton, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
JohnK8743
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The perfect rural retreat in glorious countryside and close to many attractions.”
Reviewed June 28, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Firstly the accomodation was superb - a terrific shower, really comfortable bed and a very well setup kitchen. Sarah, the owner, is a lovely person and will make you feel very welcome. This rural area is excellent for country walks and the locals are more than happy to have a chat with you. Wellington is an easy 10 minutes away and there are many places of interest well within a day's trip.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2017
Thanks for your lovely review, it was a pleasure to have you to stay at The Old Pigsty. It always amazes our guests what a rural location we are in, but yet how easy it is to get to Wellington and Taunton. You are right, the countryside around The Old Pigsty is glorious, with lots of lovely walks and friendly locals!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebert2...
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome, we've been back twice!”
Reviewed September 20, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The Old Pigsty, Taunton is in an area of natural beauty. The self catering unit is fully equipped and spotlessly clean. It has it's own spring water which we just loved. There was always delicious cookies to welcome us and our host Sarah is just lovely. Could not have asked for more. We also enjoyed feeding the chicken that visited each morning. Would love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet - tranquility
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words. it was lovely to see you again this summer, the chooks loved to see you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbaird1
edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful quiet retreat”
Reviewed September 19, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My wife and I have just returned from a lovely week long break at the Old Pigsty in the Blackdown Hills.It was nice and quiet, just the place to re-charge the batteries.Sara was very helpful and she gave us some nice cakes on arrival and her hens provided some entertainment/ " home grown " eggs. The accomodation is ideal for two people and you can sit outside in a really quiet setting if you wish to.We explored the whole area and can recommend the local pubs, the York Inn, Half Moon Inn and the Sidmouth Arms , all provided very good food and local ciders. The Blackdown Hills are beautiful and you should not hesitate to visit them if you can and of course visit the O!d Pigsty if you get a chance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely setting of the accomodation , added to the peace and quiet in very nice accomodation.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. I'm very pleased you had a great time exploring the wonderful Blackdown Hills and visiting some of the lovely local pubs. I'm also very happy to hear that the chickens entertained you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marye985
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely, quiet spot in beautiful Somerset”
Reviewed August 31, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We wanted somewhere quiet to stay to recharge our batteries and this is it. Though set in the gardens of the owners home, we were not disturbed apart from being visited daily by their 3 hens and 2 cats! The accommodation has all you need for two people and is ideal for a short break. Wellington is 10/15 minutes away with Churchstanton about 5/10 minutes away, so if you wanted to go out in the evening you would need to take a car or order a taxi. We chose to stay in each night which worked well for us. There is a small TV with an integrated DVD and MP3 player. A very comfy bed and the best shower we have ever had, we wanted to take it home! Will definitely stay again. Thank you Sarah.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2016
Thank you very much for your kind words.

Our aim is to make The Old Pigsty a relaxing, country retreat and it is good to see that we've hit the target!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peegold B
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 28, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Even though it was the awarkard time of the year to go for holiday we absolutely enjoyed it . Sara was amazing and made us feel at home and the pigsty has a homely ambience which is exactly what we're looking for .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very beautiful and away from the main house. But lclose enough to ask for help
Liked least: There was no blender
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 1, 2016
Thank you very much for your kind words, we aim to make The Old Pigsty a lovely relaxing place to stay for our guests. We're very pleased to hear that you had a good stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A little haven in the countryside”
Reviewed July 28, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A fantastic little haven in the middle of the true English countryside! My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights for my friends wedding, it was a little last minute but we were so lucky to get something this perfect so close to the venue and Sarah was very accommodating!
You arrive to home made cakes, which after a long drive down from London could not have been a more perfect start to our trip.

The cottage has everything you need including the basics of tea and sugar (in case you forget to bring some!). The facilities were pristine clean and the bed very very comfortable!

Great stay and would definitely recommend this cottage to a couple looking for a retreat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home made cakes on arrival were a great touch!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2015
Thank you very much for such a lovely review. We do aim to make everything as welcoming as possible for our country retreat. I'm very pleased you enjoyed the cakes and thank you for coming to stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redhead12...
holyhead
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“not a pigsty”
Reviewed September 8, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

a challenge to find and a good stay for walkers. Watch out for the chicken poo. Very much in the country so you can't just walk to anywhere. Would I recommend to a friend only if they wanted to getaway from everything and walk paddocks or pony ride. Black mark was being told we had to clean the property or be charged 40 pound. Bed frame broken and re-taped up!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2014
Thanks for your feedback, we do pride ourselves on being very much a country holiday location where you can get away from it all. Despite that, we are only 10 mins from the M5 and A303, so a very good base for people wanting good access to other areas. Taunton (the county town of Somerset) and Wellington (a lovely market town) are under 10 mins from us so there is lots to do within easy reach of the accomodation. It is standard in the UK to ask visitors to clean self-catered units at the end of the stay, and this is how we are able to offer an affordable, yet highly rated, destination. We are aware that there is some cosmetic damage to the bed, and are in the process of sourcing a replacement. We totally agree with you that The Old Pigsty is a perfect location for walkers, and let us not forget the fantastic local country pubs!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing