We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Short break with friends”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Woodcroft

Woodcroft seen from the bottom of the drive.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Woodcroft seen from the bottom of the drive.
A view across the field and orchard at Woodcroft. An interior view of the open plan living area across to the french windows
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Woodcroft seen from the bottom of the drive.
A view across the field and orchard at Woodcroft.
An interior view of the open plan living area across to the french windows
Double Bedroom
A winter view from the french windows
An interior view
Dining Area
Another snowy view from Woodcroft
The sunny decking area with fabulous views
A lovely place for lunch
Somerset's unique fully lit carnival
The Kitchen Area
Floods on the Somerset Levels
Twin  Bedroom
The Frozen Canal
Apple Blossom in the orchard
Beautiful ripe plums from the orchard
Hoar Frost
View from the orchard
View across the hills towards Glastonbury
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Taunton, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jan B
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Short break with friends”
Reviewed October 20, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Stayed here for a few days in October. A beautiful setting and excellent accommodation. This has to be the best equipped holiday let we have ever been to. We appreciated the cake - very welcome after a day out. Very convenient for exploring the area. We saw so many places, enjoyed some superb food all within easy reach of Woodcroft. Thank you so much.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much for the tea cosy, a fabulous surprise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2016
Thank you very much for the lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
44lolly
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“wonderful property”
Reviewed July 4, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed for a long weekend celebrating fathers day and our daughters birthday. The property is first class, so clean and everything you could want for provided.A lovely birthday cake was waiting for our daughter on arrival. We enjoyed lovely walks along the canal towpath.and enjoyed sitting out on the decking having our evening meals. Cannot fault this property at all. Highly recommend it, and hope to return for a longer stay next time

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: going home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JA007JONN...
Cleethorpes
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and explore Somerset”
Reviewed February 1, 2016 for a stay in August 2015

Very handy for M5 and Taunton but also accessible to rest of Somerset despite remote setting.
Some noise from the nearby main road at peak times but not overly intrusive. Good for quiet walks by the canal and chilling on the decking in the summer evenings overlooking extensive gardens. Elevated position provides some great views of the surrounding countryside. Very hospitable and friendly hosts. Very modern and clean. Just be aware that there is a very steep drive accessed from a country lane with an electric gate to negotiate but wouldn't put me off recommending.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, modern accommodation and setting.
Liked least: Drive access.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 4, 2016
Thank you very much for your lovely and accurate comments about the Woodcroft. I would just like to say to any prospective guests, that once you have arrived, there is a key fob which will remotely open the electric gates from the comfort of your car. We hope this consideration makes arriving and departing the property as easy as possible. Having the electric gates does provide a safe environment especially for children.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanW230...
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Clean, well equipped. Great place to stay!”
Reviewed August 1, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We spent a week here as our son was at a cricket festival in Taunton. It was a great place for us to base ourselves. My elderly parents joined us for some of the week and it was easy for my disabled mum to get around the chalet. We also took our dog with us, who felt very at home. She really enjoyed her first swim in the canal!! Everything was spotless and well equipped. It had everything we needed. Matthew was very helpful when we had an issue with a door. He came round promptly and sorted it straight away. Very impressed with the place and are hoping that if our son plays there next year, we will be coming back!! The cake on arrival was a nice touch too....it didn't last long!! Thanks for a lovely week!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness.
Liked least: The steep driveway and access.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James H
2 reviews
“Immaculate and welcoming”
Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Spotlessly clean with everything you could need for a family base. Good communication, recommended.
Thanks for the cake :-)

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2015
Thank you very much for your lovely comments, I am glad you enjoyed the cake. Please may I take this opportunity to thank you for leaving the chalet so tidy and clean. We would be more than happy to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jansstuff...
Hautes-Pyrenees, France
2 reviews
“Welcoming and immaculate”
Reviewed October 13, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

After a long journey through France it was lovely to come to an immaculately clean, fresh and bright holiday home. Fresh milk, tea, coffee and a beautifully light sponge cake was awaiting us and was mist welcome. We came to visit family and friends and it was the perfect base. Our dog settled very quickly and we enjoyed lots of canal walks even though the weather wasn't brilliant. Would recommend to anyone and would definitely use again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and comfort - everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing