We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“relaxing time”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

had an overnight stay called "the mini summer break" booked a garden room which included a private hot tub not over looked by any other room. the room it self was very clean, elegant and with an excellent wet room with roll top bath and walk in shower, all very spacious. The spa Is lovely and had really good facilities, the hydro pool being our favourite. Booked a massage which was very good. Best part of our stay however was the evening meal, 3 courses from
the al carte menu, wonderful flavours, fresh ingredients all cooked superbly, best scallops I've had in a long time . credit to the chef, loved it....

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank colin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    182
    74
    47
    22
See reviews for
101
357
9
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We spent two nights at this hotel and on both evenings the food was superb, and sent out compliments to the chef. Our room was large and light with three huge Georgian windows and a sumptuously fitted bathroom. The room was called Langport (I think) with a four poster bed. The breakfasts were good and the staff efficient at all times. I would not hesitate to recommend nor go back to this wonderful find.

Room Tip: The whole hotel is wonderfully quiet but Langford (or Langport) was exceptionally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We stopped off here for one night but wished we could have stayed longer.

We had a renowned Garden Room complete with hot tub which met and exceeded our expectations.

The staff were very attentive and simply couldn't do enough.

Our room and facilities were simply stunning.

The food was excellent.

We cannot praise this hotel enough and will be back!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We spent one night here having booked a deal involving bed, breakfast, and a fish & chip supper.

This is a beautiful and fairly luxurious country house hotel tucked away in a small village not far from Taunton and the M5. We had a friendly welcome, a comfortable and luxurious premier room with a large well-equipped bathroom. Our room being not quite ready when we arrived, we were given a complimentary drink in the bar while we waited. Standards are unquestionably high here.

The fish and chip supper was excellent and we supplemented this with starters, desserts, and a bottle of wine which were all superb. There is just one little criticism of the restaurant: It being a quiet evening, and there being - of course - plenty of staff, we were asked every few minutes, by different people if everything was to our satisfaction. We might have spent more time saying, "Yes, everything is fine thank you", than we spent talking with each other. This continued until we had finished our mains after which - oddly - we had a longish wait to order dessert.

Now this is a really a minor thing which really didn't spoil our enjoyment of the meal. The restaurant just needs to co-ordinate its monitoring of the tables a bit better. Staff should be trained to just observe discreetly and spot problems, without actually interrupting customers unless it appears necessary.

Overall, this is a really nice place to stay and the restaurant achieves a high standard, so we'd be happy to return - and we probably will.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardMer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed for a Friday night as part of a family treat in the West Country. The hotel location and grounds are stunning. We had had a gruelling drive down the M5 because of road works and accidents, so were looking forward to refreshment. Sadly, we were denied use of the Spa as it was restricted to a wedding party (following day!). A warm evening, so we opened the room window, but our sleep was disturbed by the constant noise from an air handing unit situated immediately beneath our window. The meals were good, but for the price we would have expected better! A pool would be a great addition.

Room Tip: The rooms have exotic names but ask for one away from A/C units!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NottinghamApothecary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

A charming hotel where staff make you feel like family and are efficient and friendly. The food in the restaurant was delicious and well presented. We only had a one night stay but would definitely recommend.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank janali67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed at the Mount Somerset for a night to celebrate my 50th birthday, it was a surprise. My husband booked the Barrington Suite as we had stayed there on our wedding night. When we arrived, our room was not ready, even though it was after the booking in time. However we had cream teas on the terrace, lovely hot scones, jam and cream so it wasn't a problem. The sun was shining it was a beautiful setting. We had a walk around the grounds, I also agree with the previous review, I walked by the garden rooms with the jacuzzi and thought they need to have more privacy! When we did get in our room, huge bed (although it is actually two zipped together), huge room, huge bathroom and a double shower! My huband had ordered a welcome package which should have consisted of champagne, flowers and chocolates, however there were no flowers, he queried this and they didn't seem to know about it, even though he had the confirmation email on his phone! Okay we didn't end up paying for the flowers and they deducted the cost of the chocolates, but I would rather have had the flowers so was a little disappointed.

We ate our evening meal in the restaurant, after drinks on the terrace, all of the food was gorgeous and we were very well attended to by the waiting staff. The waiters and waitresses at breakfast were also very efficient, the breakfast was cooked freshly for us.

We tried the spa which was fun, it's a shame they don't have a pool.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crazeecatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taunton
3.0 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
2.4 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
8.9 mi away
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
19.5 mi away
Rookery Manor
Rookery Manor
#1 of 1 in Edingworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mount Somerset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mount Somerset Hotel

Property: The Mount Somerset Hotel
Address: Lower Henlade, Taunton TA3 5NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#7 Business Hotel in Taunton
#8 Family Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mount Somerset Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mount Somerset Hotel and Spa in Taunton, Somerset is a stunning Regency country house hotel, set in four acres of beautiful grounds. This grand dame of a building sits high upon her mount, cradled in between the Quantock and Blackdown Hills, affording guests some of the best views in Somerset. With its high ceilings, sweeping spiral staircase, opulent decor and a feeling of gentle elegance and luxury, The Mount Somerset has all the characteristics of a quintessential English Regency mansion. Well established as one of the finest luxury hotels and restaurants in the region, The Mount Somerset has won a host of awards including two AA Rosettes for outstanding cuisine and four AA stars for comfort and hospitality, making it the perfect venue for a dinner, a weekend away or a wedding in Somerset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, HRS, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Mount Somerset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Somerset Hotel
Mount Somerset Taunton
The Mount Somerset Hotel Taunton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing