We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa treat and Lunch after”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Our wedding reception in 1998 at The Mount Somerset has very fond memories indeed, and special thanks to Tracey and Scott for this, and therefore, we enjoy returning, for any family special celebrations. We live locally, and so have returned for several family meals and celebrations. The most recent was with family, 21 of us to a family celebration in August 2012, which my parents booked. The meal was delicious, our relations & family who stayed overnight were very happy with their accommodation, and the staff were attentive and friendly.
Since then, my husband and I have recently enjoyed a Spa Pamper morning (1st November 2013), as birthday treats to us both from my parents. The Spa was lovely, clean and modern and comfortable, all of the thermal therapies were great, and we thoroughly enjoyed our half hour Back, Neck and Shoulder massages. We also booked into the hotel after, for lunch, and are very glad we did, as this was delicious, despite a wedding, and therefore we were in the drawing room, whilst the wedding took over the main rooms. We had a two course lunch, starter and main course, and it certainly topped off our pamper treat day, in convivial surroundings. The staff were attentive, efficient, and friendly. We never hesitate to recommend The Mount Somerset to friends and family alike, and indeed, family also visited in August (2013) for Spa pampers too, which they also very much enjoyed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachaelGartell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (715)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

470 - 476 of 715 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

My partner took me here for my 50th Birthday. One of the best hotels we have stayed in. The hotel was perfect. Our room was amazing. Hot tub in the garden. I always believe that a hotel is only as good as the staff who work there. The staff at the Mount Somerset are a credit to the Edan group. Nothing was too much bother. We will definitely stay again and again and again.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are the ones with hot tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betty150805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We arranged a birthday surprise for my husband - an evening meal and overnight stay for friends and relatives at this lovely place. The staff helping with the arrangements were efficient and provided us with a lovely separate dining room for our group of 30. The food was wonderful, both dinner and breakfast, the rooms so comfortable and large - a lot with beautiful views - and the staff all have a lovely way of looking after guests. They are attentive without being intrusive and every detail is thought about. I did not use the spa but understand it is very good, My only problem was that I now want to just live there - it's close to work so why not?!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FairyGrandmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Absolutely first class hotel with amazingly attentive staff and beautfiul decor,, this was simply perect for our 20th Wedding Anniversay.
Such a fab location, lovely views of country side. We were spoilt as we had a suite, it was so luxurious and furnished with elegance.
Bathroom was divine, roll top bath and double shower.
Nothing was too much trouble, service 100%
A perfect place for a retreat and special occasion.
Restaurant also briliant with top class service and food.

Room Tip: The suites are fantastic for a special occasion
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

WOW - a beautiful hotel - great value through booking.com for one night.

This is a loverly hotel - great rooms, so quiet a great wedding venue as well when I meet the wife!

Everything was perfect - from check in to breakfast.
The room was 'lush' the biggest bathroom - biggest shower I have ever seen. Everything accomodated. Paradise.

Great value for money - you would expect to pay a lot more but dont. Well done team - I will be back.

Room Tip: The beds are so comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trevorLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

What a wonderful venue - the Mount Somerset Hotel has a long driveway leading to a magnificent building set in lovely grounds. I enjoyed an afternoon tea with a group of friends in their garden room and was most impressed. The food was beautifully presented and the service was excellent. Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights for a friends wedding and I have to think it one of the best appointed hotels I've stayed in. We had a mid range room which was excellently furnished, beautiful bathroom and spotlessly clean. I liked the twist on the fruit basket in the room and so pleased to get a turn down service which is becoming quite rare really. The only thing id say is that the room got very hot. Weather was middling but the rooms seemed to retain any warmth. Reception staff were changeable - some very friendly some a bit off-ish but the bar and waiting staff were great. It's only a short drive in to the town.

It's fantastic to see such a lovely building kept up to date and comfortable - rooms and hotel was just excellent - and overall I'd rate it as 5/5

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anon100123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taunton
2.4 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#6 of 17 in Taunton
697 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wellington
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
148 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25
3.3 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mount Somerset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mount Somerset Hotel

Address: Lower Henlade, Taunton TA3 5NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#7 Business Hotel in Taunton
Price Range: $140 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mount Somerset Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mount Somerset Hotel and Spa in Taunton, Somerset is a stunning Regency country house hotel, set in four acres of beautiful grounds. This grand dame of a building sits high upon her mount, cradled in between the Quantock and Blackdown Hills, affording guests some of the best views in Somerset. With its high ceilings, sweeping spiral staircase, opulent decor and a feeling of gentle elegance and luxury, The Mount Somerset has all the characteristics of a quintessential English Regency mansion. Well established as one of the finest luxury hotels and restaurants in the region, The Mount Somerset has won a host of awards including three AA Rosettes for outstanding cuisine and four red AA stars for comfort and hospitality, making it the perfect venue for a dinner, a weekend away or a wedding in Somerset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HRS, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Mount Somerset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Somerset Hotel
Mount Somerset Taunton
The Mount Somerset Hotel Taunton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing