We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful blend of classic elegance with utter luxury!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mount Somerset Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful blend of classic elegance with utter luxury!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Mount Somerset has managed to combine the wonderful classic features of the original house with complete luxury in those areas that matter - bedrooms and bathrooms and, if you feel like an added treat, book a room with a private hot tub. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpfully informative.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a private hot tub for complete relaxation
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Superdippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    176
    71
    44
    20
See reviews for
99
337
9
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at the Mount Somerset.

Situated in a large attractive park, it has elegant reception rooms and spacious, tastefully furnished bedrooms. The corridors are decorated with excellent modern sculptures. The staff were efficient and courteous at all times.

We were on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal for £225 per night for 2 persons (which we felt was reasonable for a hotel of this class).

The breakfasts were excellent.

On both nights, we booked a table for 8 pm. On each occasion, although amuse-bouches arrived, we did not get our first course until much later (on the second evening not until 9:10 pm). We know that some people like to spend the entire evening over dinner, first sitting in the bar with a drink and the menu and then staying until late at the dining table. However, this does not suit everyone and we felt that it should have been possible to serve items from a relatively small set menu within one and a half hours. We spend the day sightseeing and, by 8 pm, are ready to order a meal and would expect the first course to appear within about 25 minutes. By the time the starters arrived, we were both too tired to fully appreciate them.

In spite of the very slow service in the restaurant, we would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The Henlade Room can be strongly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

My friend and I booked a Travelzoo Spa deal which included 2 x 30 minute treatments, use of the spa and a glass of prosecco with strawberries. The actual spa is in a separate building and is quite small, with a tiny locker room, one male and one female toilet with shower and just enough room to change, There is a relaxation room, where you can wait for your treatment or take refreshments which are brought from the kitchens which is also small and quite austere. There are 3 treatment rooms, the staff are quite pleasant and these rooms are about the same as anywhere else. Downstairs there is a sauna, steam room and jacussi (hydrotherapy pool), also 2 showers - again a lot packed into a small space, however, it is all very clean and you are given a towel, robe and slippers. Outside there is a private terrace with furniture for use of spa guests. We went on a Sunday and as it was near the end of the deal it was quite busy. We ordered lunch and ate on the terrace as it was quite warm, and we didn't want to change to go back into the hotel to eat. The waitress was very pleasant, the cost reasonable, it was well presented and tasty. We had a nice relaxing afternoon, the treatments were carried out efficiently - neck and shoulder massage and facial, although the masseuse didn't explain what she was using in the facial. If the deal came up again we would go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyB69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

My sister booked an afternoon tea in this lovely hotel, where we have been many times before; although it has now changed hands.

Initially the waitress was a little off as we booked for 4 people, but having had the afternoon tea before, knew we couldn't manages one each and so ordered two...how very dare we!

The sandwiches were nice and the cakes lovely and fresh, although exceptionally sweet in every case.

The tea was pleasant but not loose leaf (PG pyramids by the look of it) do just check. I also had to go to reception to request more tea as all the waiting staff had vanished.

In all, it was only ok but in a lovely setting.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Kieran1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Received an afternoon gift voucher from one of our children as a present for our 28th anniversary and picked this hotel because we were in the area and it had good reviews. Felt embarrassed handing over a the voucher, even though it cost £35. Asked to go into the lounge area and within five minutes we were being served. No other customers in at this time and the service was okay. When the food arrived it looked good and well presented. Unfortunately, the outer slices of the bread were a bit hard and had obviously been made earlier, or the bread had not been sealed when last used. There were eight little finger sandwiches (about 2 slices) with four different fillings. Lots of cream, jam and delicious looking cakes. We ate the miserable amount of sandwiches, one scone and one cake, but could not eat anymore of the sweet items. We left what we didn't eat and departed from the hotel. Didn't ask for a doggy bag because fresh cream would not keep due to the lovely hot September weather. There was very little interaction between staff and us, we just didn't feel comfortable in an empty hotel and left.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin-Andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Spent a day on a spa package here and would definitely recommend this offer. Had two treatments which were great and the spa itself is small but very well maintained and clean with extremely helpful staff and a lovely sun terrace to chill out on if the sun is out. Had lunch at the hotel as well which was delicious and very reasonably priced. Recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stan1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
332 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stumbled across this hotel by accident when the Holiday in was full again, OMG what a gorgeous location and hotel, I almost want to keep it a secret. Foods good too, service perfect and rooms superb. Gonna take the wife for a weekend break soon too. (Note, for some reason this review was posted to a guest house called the Mount, I have never stayed at the mount, so it was an error) This Review is correct

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a private hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taunton
2.4 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
3.0 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
3.3 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
19.5 mi away
Rookery Manor
Rookery Manor
#1 of 1 in Edingworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mount Somerset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mount Somerset Hotel

Property: The Mount Somerset Hotel
Address: Lower Henlade, Taunton TA3 5NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#7 Business Hotel in Taunton
#8 Family Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mount Somerset Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mount Somerset Hotel and Spa in Taunton, Somerset is a stunning Regency country house hotel, set in four acres of beautiful grounds. This grand dame of a building sits high upon her mount, cradled in between the Quantock and Blackdown Hills, affording guests some of the best views in Somerset. With its high ceilings, sweeping spiral staircase, opulent decor and a feeling of gentle elegance and luxury, The Mount Somerset has all the characteristics of a quintessential English Regency mansion. Well established as one of the finest luxury hotels and restaurants in the region, The Mount Somerset has won a host of awards including two AA Rosettes for outstanding cuisine and four AA stars for comfort and hospitality, making it the perfect venue for a dinner, a weekend away or a wedding in Somerset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your The Mount Somerset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Somerset Hotel
Mount Somerset Taunton
The Mount Somerset Hotel Taunton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing