We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mount Somerset Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Swindon, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We booked a 2 night stay via secret escapes to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. Upon arrival we were early as check in wasn't until 3, but that was no problem. We had the Ashill room which is stunning, the bathroom is fabulous. We had a cream tea upon arrival which was so filling. We then used the spa, and were shown around it, and left to use everything at our own leisure, as it was a Thursday afternoon we had it to ourselves which was nice and relaxing.
Upon arrival back the electrics had gone in our room, so we were moved to the master suite of the hotel- the Barrington. What an amazing room this was.
Dinner was fabulous, the food was gorgeous, we ordered room service the second night and even this was gorgeous food.
An amazing hotel, with wonderful staff who are helpful and pleasant. The home made biscuits in the rooms too just add to it all.
Thanks so much

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahSwindon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    176
    71
    44
    20
See reviews for
99
337
9
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for the first night of our honeymoon, on our way to Devon.

Amazing! The grounds are beautiful, we parked the car & had a little wander around before checking in.

The lady checking us in was lovely & really helpful, giving us directions to a local supermarket & also showing us the spa.

We enjoyed our afternoon tea, huge portion, we couldn't eat it all. Scones were the best I have ever tasted. My pot of coffee was delicious too (I don't do tea)!

Dinner was room service, I had a starter portion of casserole of mushroom with creme fresh & brioche - lush! Mr C had the crab ravioli.

Room was massive - The Langport, the bed was massive, I thought I would need a step ladder to get on it! 4 poster bed, beautifully dressed & turned down in the evening. Massive bathroom with double sink, shower & roll top bath, which I very much enjoyed.

We went to the spa at 7pm & enjoyed the steam room, sauna, jacuzzi & showers, especially the tropical. I also poured a bucket of cold water over Mr C, which was hilarious!

Breakfast was lovely, continental style & cooked deletion made to order, but no marmite! Meh! I coped without though!

I then went off for a giant bath, while Mr C had a massage (a treat for all the driving)! He came back with his head in the clouds! It was brilliant!

Sad to only have one night here, the staff, service, food, decor & grounds were amazing & I'd already want to come again. I'll start hinting now for our first wedding anniversary!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CallySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed two nights in the Ashill suite which is large and very comfortable with a huge bathroom, very modern shower, two sinks, etc. The reception staff were exceedingly helpful and friendly. The restaurant staff were adequate though not overly personable. The dinners were excellent, the breakfasts were good. The gym is very small and rather inadequate. We did not use the spa facilities. The views of the countryside are outstanding and the accommodations are quite comfortable. We would not hesitate to stay here again when traveling to this part of England.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DKroeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed in the Ashill suite for one night, a super room, well furnished, dual aspect windows and a huge bathroom with bath and great shower. It was all very clean and an excellent turndown service. When we stayed, mid September, the evening was cold and because the room is so big with 2 windows it started to feel chilly. We mentioned this at Reception but they said the heat wouldn't be put on until the following week, which we thought wasn't good considering the price.

Food at dinner was really excellent and super canapes and petits fours. The service wasn't great though, nobody seemingly in charge and we got the feeling that the waitresses (3 pregnant ones!) were just doing a job with no real interest or care. Breakfast service was worse with plates not collected, toast not delivered etc. But apart from these little niggles it's a great place to stay, a fantastic house with wonderful grounds and scenery. Really peaceful.

Room Tip: A great place to indulge yourselves and have peace and quiet for a weekend get away
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blue3890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Excellent in many ways but just missing that "Country House" Feeling by a couple of inches.
Charming & helpful in reception; couple of restaurant waitresses - very correct & efficient but missing that note of welcome and lacking any response to (complimentary) comments made , possibly cultural because although English was excellent a bit of foreign inflection.

Lounge fires as shown in the photos would have been very welcome on a wet evening and would have given the rooms a glow.

Idiosyncratic in that there were no razor or any other electrical points in the bathroom & those in the room were hardly convenient either for razors or hairdryers. Oddly the coffee/tea making tray complete with biscuits was hidden away in the wardrobe.

Enjoyed both Dinner & breakfast

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed for a two night break late Aug the hotel is stunning with fantastic views and grounds but thats where the good points end the rest of the hotel is average and almost dull. The staff were ok but nothing more and the menu was very drool and didn't flow at all. A real shame because it could be something great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

took my mother for a half spa day and was very disappointed. We don't see much of each and the idea was that we had a treatment at the same time and then spent a couple of hours chatting and relaxing. Unfortunately the Mount had other ideas. As soon as we arrived we were told they had staffing problems and one of us had a treatment immediately and the other would follow straight after - so no chance for us to spend time together. Whilst they were clearly short of staff in the spa, there were 3 women on the reception - doing v little. We were given a locker and then left to find our robe, slippers and towel. The only thing in my locker was an empty plaster bag, and my mum only found a robe. We finally found a member of staff and were given towels and I was given a robe - with no belt/tie. When we asked for slippers, we were told they didn't have any. So much for the "luxurious robes and slippers" they promise in their blurb! Neither of us was shown into or around the pool/spa area and neither of us was offered a drink. The treatment itself was quite good, although not outstanding and the therapist was doing her best under obviously stressful conditions. Also, the only place to sit and relax (outside of the jacuzzi) is outside, so make sure you go on a warm/sunny day. Luckily for us it was, however, as we finally sat down together to catch up, the therapist started putting the chairs away - a not-so-subtle hint that it was time to go! The hotel itself looks very elegant and the setting is beautiful, but frankly during our afternoon there we felt in the way!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nellydeancumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taunton
2.4 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
3.0 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
3.3 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
19.5 mi away
Rookery Manor
Rookery Manor
#1 of 1 in Edingworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mount Somerset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mount Somerset Hotel

Property: The Mount Somerset Hotel
Address: Lower Henlade, Taunton TA3 5NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#7 Business Hotel in Taunton
#8 Family Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mount Somerset Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mount Somerset Hotel and Spa in Taunton, Somerset is a stunning Regency country house hotel, set in four acres of beautiful grounds. This grand dame of a building sits high upon her mount, cradled in between the Quantock and Blackdown Hills, affording guests some of the best views in Somerset. With its high ceilings, sweeping spiral staircase, opulent decor and a feeling of gentle elegance and luxury, The Mount Somerset has all the characteristics of a quintessential English Regency mansion. Well established as one of the finest luxury hotels and restaurants in the region, The Mount Somerset has won a host of awards including two AA Rosettes for outstanding cuisine and four AA stars for comfort and hospitality, making it the perfect venue for a dinner, a weekend away or a wedding in Somerset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Mount Somerset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Somerset Hotel
Mount Somerset Taunton
The Mount Somerset Hotel Taunton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing