We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic getaway a must”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Romantic getaway a must”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This hotel was fabulous, very romantic and the staff were lovely. We stayed here for my husbands birthday where we could get away from kids, school run and normal everyday life and it did not disappoint!! Quite expensive ( we had garden room ) but fantastic all the same - cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, General Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank - you for your kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your break with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    182
    74
    47
    22
See reviews for
101
358
9
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I am writing this review in the hotel section as the hotel's restaurant does not appear to be listed. This is a big mistake as the restaurant is excellent. We went for lunch yesterday and cannot praise it highly enough in every respect. The welcome from the staff was friendly without being overpowering. We were shown into a large comfortable sitting room with wonderful views over the extensive gardens, to relax with a drink and choose from the menu (a very reasonably priced table d'hote). The meal itself was served in an elegant dining room, also with beautiful views. Service was impeccable and the food extremely well prepared.

Its the little things that often make all the difference, like linen serviettes and a jug of iced water on the table. No hidden charges like extras for vegetables or bread, and the wine list is both extensive and reasonably priced.

Cannot praise this hotel highly enough - management must be excellent to produce such pleasant staff.

Room Tip: Sorry, didn't stay there, only used the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mistytor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, General Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Many thanks for your feedback we are pleased you enjoyed your meal with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

room was great although the floors were uneven , food was excellent - staff couldn't do enough for you and Daniel the waiter was amazing !
the spa was very relaxing just wish we could have stayed longer - next time !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, General Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thank - you for the kind comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We have stayed at The Mount Somset Hotel on 2 occassions now. Each time we book a deluxe room, ideally a garden room with it's own private balcony and jacuzzi, however this was not available on our last trip so we had the deluxe double room. The standard of decor is fantastic, a cross between Malmaison and Hard Rock. Beautiful quality Egyptian cotton bedlinen and sumptous silk and velvet cushions addorned our bed. The rooms all have windows which you can actually open, which is always a bonus. The bathrooms are wonderful and large, with free standing tubs and walk in rain showers. I always feel at home here.

This trip we tried the Spa.....Morrocan themed, and very well done. The thermal pool was so relaxing. I can't wait for the swimming pool to be finished. The Mount Somerset is a "must stay" on our trips to Cornwall and if writing this review makes more people go there then perhaps I shouldn't have written such a glowing review....I love my garden spa room, yet there are only a limited number of them!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, General Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thank - you for your feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed your break with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I received an email from Secret Escapes offering me a deal with this hotel for a Romantic Weekend break. I phoned the hotel and they offered me the same deal (B+B for 2 nights plus dinner on one night for B+B price) and they also included a cream tea. We had a lovely weekend in the hotel. The food was very good and the room spotless. I have recommended The Mount to family and friends and hopefully we will be able to return there for another break soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, General Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thank - you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your break with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martock
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Just returned home after an overnight stay at the Mount Somerset which my husband had booked as a birthday surprise for me. We stayed in the Othery room, which was absolutely beautiful, having a small lounge area complete with sofa and coffee table as well as an ensuite bathroom with huge walk-in shower and claw foot bath. Attention to detail in the room was excellent - even the tea/coffee making facilities were high quality.
We spent the afternoon in the spa, where I had a very relaxing hour long massage and then enjoyed the hydrotherapy pool, sauna and steam room (we were also brave enough to try the cold water bucket which you can tip over yourself by pulling a rope!!!). There is also a small gym, though we hadn't brought our kit and so didn't use it.
There is a grand lounge downstairs in the hotel complete with grand piano and open fire which overlooks the garden, where you can enjoy drinks and relax. We ate in the restaurant (3 course meal was included in the price of the package we took) and the food was exquisite. Breakfast this morning, served in the conservatory was also very good.
I truly cannot fault the Mount Somerset. From the grounds to the decor, and to the friendly attentive staff, everything was wonderful. If you are looking for a relaxing luxury stay then you won't be disappointed, I would highly recommend it.
PS big online hint here to my husband to take me back again sometime please!!! ;)

Room Tip: I have only seen the one we stayed in, named Othery. It was gorgeous, please read my main review fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieN254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, General Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thank - you for your feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed the break with us - hope your husband treats you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, Devon, UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Stayed for a week on a course and was very impressed with the location, the rooms and most of all the food.
Hotel is nicely situated for the M5 (5 mins) and easy enough to find.
Staff were also very pleasant.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark F, General Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thank - you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your course with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taunton
3.0 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
2.4 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
8.9 mi away
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
19.5 mi away
Rookery Manor
Rookery Manor
#1 of 1 in Edingworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mount Somerset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mount Somerset Hotel

Property: The Mount Somerset Hotel
Address: Lower Henlade, Taunton TA3 5NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#7 Business Hotel in Taunton
#8 Family Hotel in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mount Somerset Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mount Somerset Hotel and Spa in Taunton, Somerset is a stunning Regency country house hotel, set in four acres of beautiful grounds. This grand dame of a building sits high upon her mount, cradled in between the Quantock and Blackdown Hills, affording guests some of the best views in Somerset. With its high ceilings, sweeping spiral staircase, opulent decor and a feeling of gentle elegance and luxury, The Mount Somerset has all the characteristics of a quintessential English Regency mansion. Well established as one of the finest luxury hotels and restaurants in the region, The Mount Somerset has won a host of awards including two AA Rosettes for outstanding cuisine and four AA stars for comfort and hospitality, making it the perfect venue for a dinner, a weekend away or a wedding in Somerset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HRS, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Mount Somerset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Somerset Hotel
Mount Somerset Taunton
The Mount Somerset Hotel Taunton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing