We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taunton House Hotel
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Nice place friendly efficient staff made for a pleasant business night stop over. Shame there is no bar in this hotel.... ( doesn't that make the place a guest hose?).
Great fresh breakfast.... But no beans...

No bar and no beans is why I haven't rated this clean friendly hotel 5*

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 196 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

Have used this on several occasions.The rooms are clean and well appointed,breakfast is good but there is no facility for meals so in my view this is more a guest house than a hotel
The staff are efficient and polite but the place is souless.As it is an ideal ptace for my business meetings I will continue to use it and I have no real complaints,

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graeme a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

It isnit cheap at £90 per night but I was really pleased with value for money. The staff were very friendly and would do anything requested. The breakfast was brilliant . As much as you could eat with cereals and full English .
The rooms were nice and tidy and cleaned to a very high standard.
Location was perfect with the town only a hundred yards away. I would not hesitate in going here again

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed here last night and cannot understand how it only has two stars. There is ample parking the room was nicely decorated and very clean and tidy. The staff were curtious and efficient and the breakfast was very nice.It is idealy situated for access into the town centre, maximum two minute walk.We stay in many hotels and cannot understand how this only rates as 2 stars, I think a couple must have fell off.

Room Tip: We had room 12 and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muttnmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed here when we went to the Elton John concert at Somerset Cricket Ground. It's more like a Guest House than a hotel, but it's clean and comfortable. Great location for anyone going to cricket matches and just up the road from the main High St in Taunton. We're certainly return if we get tickets for cricket matches.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsQPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

This hotel needs to get its service up to date, breakfast finished at 09.00 so at 09.15 all I could have is tea and toast. Room number 7 is a bit small, no net curtains in the room or bathroom so you feel a bit exposed having a shower and looking down the street or dressing in view of the building opposite. Daycor is very dated, bathroom light above mirror not working. Offerd no bill for my stay just the cc receipt.

On a positive this hotel is spotlessly clean. Stayed for two nights will not be going back.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
4  Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I've read the last review and had a frighteningly similar experience with a large party where we had to be away early and they refused to put milk out for us just for cereal. This place brands itself as a hotel but I would describe it as a very nice guest house. From the outside, it doesn't look particularly inviting but my fears were quelled once inside when I saw the rooms which were very nice and spacious. It is centrally located and handy for all amenities. It has limited parking spaces, but we managed to get a space without too much difficulty. The girl on the desk was very pleasant. That's where the positives stopped really. Our party accepted that an early start would mean no cooked breakfast. Even proper hotels would struggle to do this. But to refuse milk for cereal or even try to help us? This 'hotel' is a 2 star 'hotel'....it's not difficult to see why. Avoid unless you don't have an early start and can fit in around the chef's working hours, or are happy to take your own breakfast. I will never stay at this guest house again and will certainly put all my business friends off it at every opportunity. Customer service ? Zero stars.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pumpingsnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
style11, General Manager at Taunton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

It is such a pity to receive an unreasonable review when a sincere member of staff politely declined a request for breakfast for 5 rooms at 5 am which would have created staffing issues given the very short notice. Petulance does not achieve results. However I am pleased you found the hotel comfortable and well located.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.5 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
837 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#6 of 17 in Taunton
697 reviews
5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
148 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25
0.5 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taunton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taunton House Hotel

Address: 14 Billetfield, Taunton TA1 3NN, England (Formerly Salisbury House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range: $87 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Taunton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian Family Owned Hotel well located in the Town Centre. Built in the 1850's the hotel has retained many gothic features including arched doorways, stained glass windows and a fine oak staircase.The well proportioned bedrooms all en-suite are tastefully designed for your comfort whether corporate or leisure guest.Four Poster and ground floor rooms available. Free internet access Car Park. Licensed Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Taunton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury Hotel Taunton
Taunton House Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing