We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Taunton House Hotel
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Went to Taunton with a friend to see the Lancs v Somerset Cricket; stayed for the second time at the Salisbury House because of its ideal location and the comfort of the hotel. Easy walking - just 5 or so minutes into the middle of town. Clean comfortable room and excellent breakfast. Left my phone charger behind, I phoned, and it was posted back to me the following day. Would recommend and will be stopping again if I return to Taunton.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank finbarr44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
style11, General Manager at Taunton House Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to email us. We are very fortunate to have such an envious location in the town centre. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    55
    48
    18
    14
See reviews for
25
56
14
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights. I was impressed with the hotel, it is in I think a Victorian gothic style, smart and clean, and my room was very spacious. Breakfasts freshly cooked to order at your table, loads better than the buffets you get in hotel chains. Location fantastic, just 5 minutes walk from the centre.

While in the end it didn't prove to be a problem, I was a bit worried that I wouldn't be able to find a spot in the car park as the hotel let non residents use it (for a fee), and it was pretty full. I thought it would be better if they reserved spots for residents, it's on a main road and it would be difficult to find somewhere else to park.

Room Tip: Probably not one at the front if you like to have the windows open (traffic noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leicestermancunian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
style11, General Manager at Taunton House Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you for your email and kind comments. We do pride ourselves on our freshly cooked breakfasts to order. The chef will be delighted with your most encouraging comments. We are addressing the car parking issue to enable all our guests to have a car parking space on arrival.I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Stayed for one night on business. Great location right near the centre of town, which was fortunate as when I asked at 5.30pm what time dinner was served until, I was told it had already finished! In the end a nearby excellent curry house didthe job.

So no bar or restaurant, but otherwise a very nice place. Extremely clean and tidy, and great service. Room was quite noisy due to the main road but it was well equipped including a good iron which makes a change to most of the chains.

I'd stay again!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rawbhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel last week, we were very pleased with the room, cleanliness and location. We went from this hotel to a 5* hotel, and wished we stayed here instead! for a 2* hotel this is amazing! Breakfast was also very good and service was very good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GLG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Comfy and warm after a cold day at the races. Great power shower. Rooms comfy enough though we were a little disturbed by the traffic noise as had a room facing the side of the hotel. However, the convenience of the situation of the hotel was very convenient and made up for that. Staff were very friendly and we left after a lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KandSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Salisbury House is a 5 min walk to High Street and has parking which is all we were looking for so we were pleasantly surprised by how big the room was. Breakfast was quite nice and cooked to order. My only complaint would be is that the heating is not turned on until 5pm so it can get a little chilly in your room however they will give you a little heater if you ask for it. The other thing is that there was not a fridge in the room which is annoying. There is however free Wi-Fi which could be accessed from our room.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HolidayJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

This hotel was an amazing find! It is right in the town centre and only walking distance to all the shops and restaurants etc. The rooms are very spacious and have lovely big en suite bathrooms, the showers are also extremely powerful. We had a great sleep! The staff couldn't of been more helpful and polite during our stay and did everything they could do accommodate our every need. The breakfast was brilliant with a large variety to choose from and the staff handled my husband's dietary requirements very well. It was exceptionally clean throughout the hotel with lovely wooden floors and there was also a lounge with a 50 inch television which was great to watch the football on. We had a great stay and it was thoroughly relaxing from start to finish. Would definitely return again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
644 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
800 reviews
5.0 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
382 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
1.7 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taunton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taunton House Hotel

Property: Taunton House Hotel
Address: 14 Billetfield, Taunton TA1 3NN, England (Formerly Salisbury House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Taunton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian Family Owned Hotel well located in the Town Centre. Built in the 1850's the hotel has retained many gothic features including arched doorways, stained glass windows and a fine oak staircase.The well proportioned bedrooms all en-suite are tastefully designed for your comfort whether corporate or leisure guest.Four Poster and ground floor rooms available. Free internet access Car Park. Licensed Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Taunton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury Hotel Taunton
Taunton House Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing