We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Frog Street Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 53 Taunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed here for just over a week at the beginning of November. Fantastic find! The house is simply beautiful, and set in an idyllic location. I stayed in the Willow room which was charming, and had all I needed - a comfy bed, a hot shower and a decent TV. That said, I could easily have spent my evenings in the comfortable lounge, with it's very welcoming woodburner! As for Louise & David, they are a delight - incredibly friendly and helpful, providing not just a good breakfast but advice on places to visit, local eateries, and maps. I definitely intend to return next time I'm in the area.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 376 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at Frog Street Farmhouse on our wedding night after getting married in Taunton. We stayed in the room called the snug, it was absolutely perfect. We arrived there late after the wedding (in November) to find that the wood burner had been lit in the lounge area of our room, magically. The room itself has a lovely with a large bed and a nice roll top slipper bath in the ensuite.
Breakfast was great, located down in the dining room of the main house, we had a lovely fruit salad followed by a great cooked breakfast.
The farmhouse is a lovely romantic hideaway pefectly positioned to visit the local Somerset countryside or for a peaceful romantic break.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

What an immaculate place to stay. The tea/cake/log burner welcome as warming as ever, beautiful room, comfortable, amazingly quiet spot, just the braying of a distant horse to break the morning silence. Excellent breakfast. Im working but feel completely relaxed if a touch sad about leaving again. My return is a certainty. Beautiful.

Room Tip: The two I have used were of equally high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPHWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Lovely surroundings, coffee and cake when you arrive and a lovely meal in the evening. If that wasn't enough they took time out to advise us on where we could possibly live in the future. Great hospitality, lovely accommodation and breakfast, just make quite sure you take your instructions with you so that you can find it. Something we forgot!! I would recommend it to anyone - enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Frog Street Farmhouse is such a beautiful place, the accommodation is amazing and the people so friendly. We took our 7 year old son who thoroughly enjoyed it too. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners and I would definitely recommend it to anyone. Breakfast is lovely and they will provide maps to anywhere you need to go, including places to eat. I can not praise this fantastic place enough.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donorhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My wife and I returned to this great B&B after a previous stay some 20 years earlier. We loved it as much the second time as the first, and if we did not live on the other side of the world (New Zealand), would return every year!! The hosts are delightful and the breakfast outstanding. The farmhouse is in a beautiful part of the country and is well suited to luxury B&B. We cannot fault the place and look forward to a return trip, ASAP. Our time in South Somerset allowed us the opportunity to try dinner one night which the hosts prepared and served - outstanding!! Louise is a great cook and David, her husband, a charming and convivial host/waiter.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is a very good B&B out in the countryside, with Taunton the nearest town. The hosts were very hospitable and helpful, with a good breakfast provided. The farmhouse is old but beautifully fitted out and very comfortable and clean. You need a car to find it and get to any of a number of interesting dining options in surrounding villages. At the dearer end of the B&B market but perfect for a couple wanting some peace in the countryside.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
1.1 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
6.4 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
697 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25
6.6 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
401 reviews
7.7 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frog Street Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frog Street Farmhouse

Address: Frog Street Farmhouse Broadmead Road | Hatch Beauchamp, Taunton TA3 6AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Taunton
Price Range: $107 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Frog Street Farmhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frog Street Farmhouse is a 15th century Somerset Longhouse with plenty of charm and character. It is tucked away deep in the Somerset countryside yet only 6 miles from the County Town of Taunton. Here you will find character and comfort in equal measures. Outside, horses in the fields along with cows and sheep, riverside walks across the open farm land. Inside, log fires, original beams and Jacobean panelling and luxurious en-suite bedrooms, each individually designed to a very high standard and include Free internet and Sky TV. A full English breakfast is served using locally sourced ingredients where possible. Rated 5 stars with the AA, listed in both The Good Hotel Guide and Alistair Sawday's. Frog Street Farmhouse is not just a place to stay, its a place to enjoy... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Frog Street Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frog Street Farmhouse Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing