We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit, even better this time if possible?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Frog Street Farmhouse
Ranked #1 of 53 Taunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2012

What an immaculate place to stay. The tea/cake/log burner welcome as warming as ever, beautiful room, comfortable, amazingly quiet spot, just the braying of a distant horse to break the morning silence. Excellent breakfast. Im working but feel completely relaxed if a touch sad about leaving again. My return is a certainty. Beautiful.

Room Tip: The two I have used were of equally high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPHWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 377 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

Lovely surroundings, coffee and cake when you arrive and a lovely meal in the evening. If that wasn't enough they took time out to advise us on where we could possibly live in the future. Great hospitality, lovely accommodation and breakfast, just make quite sure you take your instructions with you so that you can find it. Something we forgot!! I would recommend it to anyone - enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Frog Street Farmhouse is such a beautiful place, the accommodation is amazing and the people so friendly. We took our 7 year old son who thoroughly enjoyed it too. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners and I would definitely recommend it to anyone. Breakfast is lovely and they will provide maps to anywhere you need to go, including places to eat. I can not praise this fantastic place enough.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donorhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My wife and I returned to this great B&B after a previous stay some 20 years earlier. We loved it as much the second time as the first, and if we did not live on the other side of the world (New Zealand), would return every year!! The hosts are delightful and the breakfast outstanding. The farmhouse is in a beautiful part of the country and is well suited to luxury B&B. We cannot fault the place and look forward to a return trip, ASAP. Our time in South Somerset allowed us the opportunity to try dinner one night which the hosts prepared and served - outstanding!! Louise is a great cook and David, her husband, a charming and convivial host/waiter.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is a very good B&B out in the countryside, with Taunton the nearest town. The hosts were very hospitable and helpful, with a good breakfast provided. The farmhouse is old but beautifully fitted out and very comfortable and clean. You need a car to find it and get to any of a number of interesting dining options in surrounding villages. At the dearer end of the B&B market but perfect for a couple wanting some peace in the countryside.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My mother, toddler and I stayed at this B&B in August for 3nights in the the snug and as regular B&B fans we were looking forward to our visit.

The actual B&B was pleasantly furnished to a comfortable standard and spotlesslessly clean. The hosts tried their best to be accommodating where they could (sourcing beef sausages and peanut butter for us) but it was made clear that they are not used to having little ones around. There should have been some warning bells ringing when it was suggested when I went to book that we should stay in the snug (the additional part of the house) so that if the little one cries in the night he doesnt wake up the other guests!

Once in the B&B My 22 month old, who is well behaved, felt unsettled when he saw so many unfamiliar faces around a dinning table at breakfast, so he cried momentarily when he got in the high chair - rather then the reasurrance that every parent craves when their child is not conforming to adult norms, comments were made on following mornings such as 'oh here he comes', and when he was singing in his highchair (when no one else was in the room) 'you have a rather loud voice', which all served to make us feel rather uncomfortable.

The breakfasts were fine but not outstanding - home made bread is made with a bread machine, scrambled eggs a bit overcooked and not seasoned. Overall my mother, son and I had a nice holiday but probably would have felt more comfortable if we had stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vickymuswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frogstreet, Owner at Frog Street Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

We read this review with complete dismay, you went out of your way on the final night of your stay (ringing our bell at 10.30pm) to let us know what an amazing stay you had with us, you continued this praise the next morning before departure, so to receive this review leaves us perplexed.

Guest normally inform us of any dietary requirements prior to their stay, however at short notice, when the sausages you provided for your religious compliance were inedible, we went out of our way to source some specialist beef sausages, we also, at your request, bought peanut butter & apple juice for your son. Scrambled egg is never seasoned, that is always a matter of taste, salt and pepper is present on the table for guest to season themselves, if you had preferred the eggs cooked softer than normal you only had to ask, the “bread machine” is a modern convenience like the dishwasher and washing machine, it saves time and gives us the reliability of guaranteeing delicious homemade bread every day.

We are perfectly happy with the arrangements of our dining room, comments made by us or other guests were at the time jovial banter and we feel they are being blown out of proportion, we therefore feel any uncomfortable feeling you may have felt manifests from a conclusion of your own making.
We have two high chairs to accommodate children at the table and have successfully served 100’s families in the past few years, so, on the contrary, we are “use to having little ones around”.

We did try our best, so when instead of ringing the bell, you poked your head through our kitchen window to ask for some milk and lemon, instead of being upset by the intrusion in to our private space, we once again did our best to help. We would like to point out that during your stay you had at least 25 different requests catered for, which is far beyond the norm.
Finally we feel it is perfectly ok for us to protect the other guest from the possibility of baby’s crying at night, and The Snug and The Orchard suite are ideal for young families, so the fact they are set away from the other guest rooms we see as a positive.

This review site is not a medium to voice petty differences, but more suitable for constructive criticism, you clearly had an expectation that you did not share with us, had this been the case, we are sure your stay with us would have been niggle free.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have just returned from a superb 3-night stay at the Frog Street Farmhouse. Hosts David and Louise were incredibly friendly, providing helpful ideas of activities and good pubs to visit as well as printing off maps and directions for us - nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was superb and we thoroughly enjoyed meeting other guests round the large dining room.
We stayed in the beautifully appointed, and very comfortable, Willow Room.

The location of the farmhouse is extremely convenient just 1.5miles away from the main road but with benefit of feeling totally remote. Just make sure you print off the directions from the website!

We went for dinner at the Rose & Crown and the Bird in Hand, both of which are c.15mins away. Meals at both were very good. A visit to Lyme Regis is also to be recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James_Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
1.1 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
6.4 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#6 of 17 in Taunton
714 reviews
5.3 mi away
Langaller Manor House
Langaller Manor House
#2 of 53 in Taunton
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Yallands Farmhouse
Yallands Farmhouse
#3 of 53 in Taunton
221 reviews
5.6 mi away
No. 71
No. 71
#16 of 53 in Taunton
44 reviews
7.1 mi away
Heathercroft B&B
Heathercroft B&B
#17 of 53 in Taunton
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frog Street Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frog Street Farmhouse

Address: Frog Street Farmhouse Broadmead Road | Hatch Beauchamp, Taunton TA3 6AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Taunton
Price Range: $114 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Frog Street Farmhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frog Street Farmhouse is a 15th century Somerset Longhouse with plenty of charm and character. It is tucked away deep in the Somerset countryside yet only 6 miles from the County Town of Taunton. Here you will find character and comfort in equal measures. Outside, horses in the fields along with cows and sheep, riverside walks across the open farm land. Inside, log fires, original beams and Jacobean panelling and luxurious en-suite bedrooms, each individually designed to a very high standard and include Free internet and Sky TV. A full English breakfast is served using locally sourced ingredients where possible. Rated 5 stars with the AA, listed in both The Good Hotel Guide and Alistair Sawday's. Frog Street Farmhouse is not just a place to stay, its a place to enjoy... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Frog Street Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frog Street Farmhouse Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing