We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as the awards suggest.”
Review of The Monkton Inn

The Monkton Inn
Ranked #11 of 257 Restaurants in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are a traditional english pub and restaurant with a South African twist, offering dishes such as Crocodile, Zebra, Bobotie etc. We cater for all dietary requirements. We have a beautiful garden with children's play area. We are dog and horse friendly. Have a children's play area.
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“As good as the awards suggest.”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We've visited the Monkton Inn on numerous occasions for Sunday lunch and evening meals. As a couple and with the family or taking friends out for dinner.
Everytime we've found the owners and staff to be extremely warm and friendly.
The food is extremely high quality and decent portions.
The service is prompt and very attentive, the owner/chef always
asks the customers personally if they're happy with everything.
We've always found the prices reasonable, especially considering the standard of food etc.
In short I'd recommend the place to anyone, it's won Somerset pub of the year two years on the trot, which says it all really.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TBarrett500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    112
    53
    35
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Living on reputation”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Have dined here previously so reason for our return.Today a disaster, Booked in advance for six people at 12.45. Good greeting and starters on time. Then! 45 minutes to one hour wait for main courses,still not arrived. Meanwhile all other tables,arriving after we had ordered served with starters main course and coffees! Where were ours. Proprietors not there. Staff advised meals would be 2 minutes.then would be chased up!!! 10 minutes further we decided to leave .Still no sign of food,no explanation or apology. So we left in not good humour.Methinks living on reputation. Not good enough.Will not be returning.You have been warned but more in sorrow than in anger.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank roger k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Good again”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

A return visit and we were not disappointed. Real fire blazing. Warm welcome. Great food. Good prices. A challenge to find somewhere this good on a Monday night in Taunton or surrounding area. I had the fish...not frozen in the middle as one review stated...perfectly cooked, chips were excellent again! Duck in sauce was delicious for my partner. Finished off with Irish coffees, which could have done with some more cream, but still very good. Will return on my next visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eggybreadUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant food, brilliant service”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Excellent food, fantastic menu with a great choice of exotic dishes. The Zebra was fantastic!

Great service, very friendly staff including the waiting staff, bar staff and owners.

Would highly recommend for an evening out and will definitely be going back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LRLGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Birthday Lunch”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Having been recommended by friends, decided to come for my birthday lunch. We were greeted by a delightful waitress and service continued to be first class throughout the meal.
Our fish and chips were excellent with the beer batter being particularly good. The steak, always a good test,was perfect and the accompanying chips were the real deal!
Difficult to choose desserts due to the scrumptious choice. All were very good, but the Creme Brûlée rounded off a perfect meal for me.
We will be returning soon!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grannypomps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Monkton Inn also viewed

 
Taunton, Somerset
 

Been to The Monkton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing