We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant featuring Indian inspired food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mint And Mustard

Mint And Mustard
Ranked #13 of 252 Restaurants in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $52
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Mint and Mustard is one of the UK's most critically acclaimed Indian restaurants. Already recognised as one of Cardiff's finest dining experiences, we have now brought our award-winning style to Taunton. Our restaurants re-define Indian cuisine through innovative, deftly presented food with the flavour, depth and beauty of India. Sourcing the finest ingredients and exclusive spices, Mint & Mustard presents a remarkable range of tastes, flavours and spices that appeal to all the senses.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Restaurant featuring Indian inspired food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is not an Indian Restaurant, it is definitely a restaurant that serves Indian inspired food, and it truly delicious. Would highly recommend to anyone but not if your plan is to go for an 'Indian'. There aren't pages of menu that could be edited down to the classic five dishes of yellow sauce, orange sauce, brown sauce, dry roasted, rice - with various meats. This is fine food, well cooked and individually produced, the dishes didn't look the same or taste the same. The only reason it didn't get 5 stars was because it took a while for our food to arrive... but hopefully that was just a one off and not a regular issue.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlonaChristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mintandmustard, Manager at Mint And Mustard, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear AlonaChristie,

Thank you very much for your great review.

We the Mint and Mustard Restaurant are a very very authentic Indian restaurant not depicting the regular Indian menu but exploring some of the very delicious and mouth watering food mostly from the sate of Kerala which has immense variety of cooking and use of spices which have not been let out to the far and wide restaurant industry and our goal is to keep exploring the best and unrecognised food from around India along with innovation from our amazing chefs who pride to get the very best and unknown of India.

The whole team at Mint and Mustard thank you very much for your review and are please that our best efforts have gained the best fruits.

Thanking you and looking forward to welcoming and making all your experiences at Mint and Mustard a wonderful one.

Hansel Lionel
Asst. Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    121
    52
    19
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb Indian dining with a quirky twist”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The food in this restaurant is absolutely stunning. As suggested on their website, the restaurant truly lives up to the idea of "re-defining Indian cuisine". The perfectly sized portion sizes are displayed with artistic style.

We enjoyed our waiters description of the food we were about to eat, explaining the origins of the dishes and the quirky twist the chef had done to achieve this pure mouthwatering indulgence in an oasis of calm, set perhaps in not the most stunning location in Taunton town.

For this standard of food, service and restaurant décor and ambiance, this truly is a culinary delight for any of you 'foodies' out there - true class.

I have eaten at this restaurant on 3 different occasions now and chosen widely from the menu which never fails to disappoint. I have eaten the most outstanding dessert I have ever tasted at this restaurant - their 'Rose brulle' in all it's stunning glory.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Knowdat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mintandmustard, Manager at Mint And Mustard, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Knowdat,

Thank you very much for your great review.

We The Mint and Mustard team are delighted to know that you had a great time with us and we were able to contribute our very best to your experience. Your feedback have been conveyed to the whole team.

Thank you very much and looking forward to welcoming you back to the restaurant.

Hansel Lionel
Asst. Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taunton somerset
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Excellent food. Best Indian we have ever had. Scallops perfectly cooked. So tasty. Not overly powering like some Indians. Can't wait to go back xx

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rebs17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mintandmustard, Manager at Mint And Mustard, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Rebs17,

Thank you very much for your great review.

We at Mint and Mustard like to give each and every guest of ours a delightful experience for which our chefs work hard to get the truly Indian Flavours to everyone who visits us showing the depth and beauty of India through the various spices used to get out the true Indian taste to give all our guests a tongue tickling experience.

We are really elated that we have been able to get you the best and we will always do everything in our best capacity to make your experience a great one.

We hope to welcome you to Mint and Mustard very soon.

Hansel Lionel
Asst. Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Indian Cuisine like you have never known! Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had been to a fantastic Indian restaurant in North Petherton and had a fabulous meal but had read on Trip Advisor that Mint & Mustard was even better so we thought we would put this to the test! It did not disappoint! Hansel the Manager was LOVELY! He was knowledgeable and helpful about everything on the menu and really good fun. Every course was beautifully presented and it tasted like you have never tasted Indian cuisine before! Very creative. Very different. Fantastic atmosphere. Fantastic menu and food. Would definitely come back again and recommend to friends and even family who don't particularly like Indian food! My husband had a vindaloo which he would never normally order in an Indian restaurant as all flavour would just be over-run with heat and spice but this was not the case with this meal here. For somebody who is very sweet toothed and loves puddings, this must be the first ever Indian restaurant that offers exquisite Indian desserts (even if it is just home made ice cream!) which are not bought in frozen things that we are accustomed to with Indian restaurants. Try the Rose infused creme brulee if you like creme brulee and turkish delight! It was divine! And their ice cream was so full of flavour rather than the normal additives and colourings! Every course was a winner and Hansel was the perfect host. And we would probably agree with Trip Advisor - Mint & Mustard Taunton, probably just pipped the North Petherton Indian to the winning post! Probably down to Hansel and the desserts! Well done Hansel !!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HedgehogJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mintandmustard, Manager at Mint And Mustard, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Hedgehog Jim,

Thank you very much for such a wonderful review.

I along with the whole team at Mint and Mustard are really delighted to see that you had a wonderful time with us and worth all our efforts.

We at Mint and Mustard follow a great Mantra of Redefining the Indian Cuisine and our chef's work on innovation to get some delicately flavoured dishes and desserts than compared to the regular Indian Restaurant food showing the depth and beauty of India through the various dishes that we offer so that our guests taste buds have a different experience along with originality and keep in mind what we serve we serve it as the very best to each and every guest.

We are more focused on flavours than on the heat so that all the flavours could be felt while you have your food just as it should be, and if not for the flavours what's the food worth??? We are truly elated to have been able to satisfy your taste buds and make your evening with us a worthwhile one.

Lastly thank you very much for your comments about me I am really humbled. I love to serve people and see to it that they have a great time and I am really happy that I have able to do my job to the very best.

We hope to welcome you to Mint and Mustard again very soon.

Hansel Lionel
Asst. Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing first and last visit to this restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was a special Birthday celebration meal for six of us. The portion sizes were very small and my chicken meal was very average, but expensive. We had to order extra rice to fill up two hungry 20 year old males ! The service was efficient , but cold and the whole experience was totally uninspiring. We drew attention to our dissatisfaction with the food and my husband was given a feedback survey to complete......we expected some sort of response ....but three weeks later = nothing ! Essentially this restaurant is not interested in customer care or repeat business !
This is the first time I have ever written a negative feedback response and we have shared our feelings verbally with numerous other potential customers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mintandmustard, Manager at Mint And Mustard, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.

Firstly I would like to apologies for your disappointing experience at Mint and Mustard .

Your feedback is of great importance to us at Mint and Mustard as our whole team are constantly striving and putting in our best efforts to step up and try meet every guests expectation with perfection and knowing that you were disappointed in us I would in touch with you as we would like to hear from you to discuss your experience and improve and excel to deliver the best to you and all our guests as I would be looking to hear from you soon.

We hope to welcome you to restaurant again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mint And Mustard also viewed

 
Taunton, Somerset
 

Been to Mint And Mustard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing