We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home!”
Review of Meryan House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Meryan House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Everything is possible with management at Meryan House Hotel! if they can assist you in any way they will - with a wonderful no nonsense attitude to it. I have stayed here a number of times, alone or with business colleagues and with my wife on one occasion and I am never disappointed, as a matter of fact, I am always very pleased and sad to go. Do they have staff in abundance at your very beck and call? No, but if that is what you want, go to a different place.
Her you will find history and charm oozing out of the fabric of every wall and corner of the building. You will have service also at extraordinary hours if you just have a little patience. You will get superb food made with local produce and served with a smile. You will find a well stocked wine and beer cellar and a bar with a range and quality of whiskeys and cognacs to die for served in settings that are true to the age and history of the building.
The rooms I have stayed in so far (coming up to 6 different now) have all been individually decorated using antique furniture to a large extent. OK, I am 6 foot 2 and the beds made 100 years or more ago were built for shorter people, but as long as it is a double bed, I'll just lie diagonally - I would stay here rather than any other place in Taunton - if they have vacancies, that is... And even though the building is very old the bathrooms works perfectly, with pressure booster on the shower to make sure you can get a decent shower or your tub filled in reasonable time.
The garden surrounding the property is stunningly beauty full and as the hotel is in a very quiet little village on the outskirts of Taunton, also a quiet place. This little gem of a place also sports a large parking place where you will always find room for your car. Whether you are a business traveller or a tourist, Meryan House Hotel will cater to your wishes - and when you do your booking, I recommend using the phone - it will warm your expectations to your visit and add that extra personal touch.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Guest

Many, many thanks for your kind words, it was really nice to see you again, and we are overjoyed with your comments, we try and give a quite, efficient, service, as we know, when one is on Business guests , like to be left alone, to get on with their Business.
Look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 148 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed here on 4th April after my brothers funeral which was at the crematorium.The wake was 30 miles away in No mans land. But we came back to this hotel from reading the reviews. Cherry the owner was very welcoming and more than helpfull. We stayed in room 6 and my dad in room 5. We were delighted with the rooms very comfortable and luxurious. The on suit with nice deep bath with lashings of hot water. The sloping floors take a bit of getting used to,and no I wasn't drunk,but this just adds to the character of this grade two listed building. As evening meals are Mon to Thurs we were directed to the pub across the road. We were warmly welcomed there and Had a fantastic meal and service with good prices as well. we slept well the hotel is very quite and comfortable. The next morning we were treated to the most amazing service from Chloe and a fantastic breakfast consisting of grapefruit prunes cereals, followed by full English with thick back bacon eggs sausage mushrooms fried bread toms, with as much toast tea and coffee that we wanted.Would we stay here again, most certainly yes. One thing I would say is don't book through booking site. Phone hotel and book it's cheaper.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Guest

May we take this opportunity, and thank you, for just taking the time to write a review, but an exceptional review is just outstanding, Chloe is over the moon and thanks you personally. we are delighted we came up, to and exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

A friendly greeting from the owner as we arrived was much appreciated. The rooms are delightful and the breakfast choices were great. Lots of fruit and cereal offerings at breakfast and the full English cooked breakfast with local produce. Dinner was very good with lots of choices and a respectable wine list. The building is more than 500 years old and beautifully preserved, but with all the modern conveniences. An easy pleasant 20 minute walk in to the centre of Taunton. Plus, lovely walks around the village near the hotel. We will certainly use the hotel as a base when next in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuinnessBoy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Thank you for your kind words, we hope you have a safe journey home, and hope to see you again, when visIting the UK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed at the brilliant Meryan on our way to Cornwall, are tired and exhausted, aftera 8 hour drive, lay on the bed and woke 4 hoiurs later (never slept in a bed so good) by the time we got back down to reception the kitchen had closed and the satff home, that doe not stop Mrs Cherry Clark from feeding you, she put together a meal to dies for in 20 minutes, home made soup, steak egg and chips wow wow and a bottle of red to wash it all down, LOVELY JUBBLY
Breakfast is a feast in the morning, there is something for everyone, and if you want a cup of coffee to take with you on departure, the best of the best is the Meryan and so is the owners and staff.

Room Tip: We had room 8 rather nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angus53uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Thank you for your kind words, our staff really appreciate comments from our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed at this great hotel during the awful weather the uk had over the early part of February, we were attending a family members 60th, Birthday party, the owners and staff, are the most hospitable, I have ever come across, the Hotel is immaculate, the rooms decoratd to a veryhigh standard, and the food,is 5 Star we have booked another garthering of the clans for later on this year. Thank you once again for looking after us.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank jack m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Guest


We would like to take this opportunity, and thank you for your kind comments about our Hotel and the staff, we strive to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay with us, many thanks again, our staff are over joyed with your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I recently attended a funeral of a friend, followed by the Wake held at The Meryan. There was a welcoming fire in the small room containing a tiny bar, which did not serve drinks until food and hot beverages had been served. We repaired to the larger room and felt an immediate drop in temperature, an inadequate fan heater battled manfully to create warmth. I was somewhat taken aback by the quality of the refreshments - rarely have I been expected to consume sandwiches constructed with white bread one side, brown on the other, all of varying degrees of freshness. The cakes were of average standard, homemade sponge cake raised the bar a little and my one small cup of tea was adequate.
The waitress service was fine and the ladies pleasant, once the bar opened with sporadic attendance, a number of us were stunned by the price of drinks.
I seriously doubt my friend received value for money and can only assume reason The Meryan conduct so many wakes is its proximity to the Crematorium!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kimmie8588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

We have requested more information about your complaint, three times, and you keep refusing to give us the details!!! on one occasion, you stated it was just an observation, not a complaint, we do want to discuss this matter with the immediate family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Went for a "wake" after a family funeral. Function room a little small and got very crowded.
However, the food was good and with waitress service which was vital as you would never have reached the tables with the food on them due to how crowded the room was. However, when we enquired about extra refreshments, which we knew we would be purchasing, we were told that the wine and beer was down in the cellar and did we REALLY want this... as the owner had to go down to the cellar to fetch up some bottles. That was when we were informed that "this is not a pub" - even though we were stood at a fully stocked bar with spirits. Then the question of glasses for the wine spritzers came up - tried to tell us that they must go in half pint glasses as there was no wine glasses - when this was declined she eventually said "Oh well I will have to go and get my best wine glasses and be careful with them." Later when another pint of beer was requested we had to go though the same ritual of going down to the cellar to fetch A BOTTLE. We shall certainly remember this "wake" and will try to remember that the Meryan Hotel is most certainly not a pub.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Lizbry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Good Morning

We have just received a copy of your review and, are disappointed and surprised at its contents!!!! we are not sure if you were the person who booked the hotel, as we always state, at the time of the booking, we cannot manage to run a bar with over 60 people wanting drinks, at the same time, hence the glass's of wine on the bar on arrival.we never know how many guests are going to arrive until they walk through the door,so if 40 guests were for and 80 turn up (which happens 90% of the time) we will be a little stretched, however, our main aim is to water and feed the guests, as per instructions from the immediate member of the family who booked the venue. we are viewing our security video at present, to see what day you were here, we think we have the day, but would appreciate you confirming the time and date, as we would like to discuss the matter with the immediate family. and we do appreciate your comments about the food and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
6.6 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.4 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#6 of 17 in Taunton
706 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25
1.6 mi away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#15 of 17 in Taunton
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meryan House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meryan House Hotel

Address: Bishops Hull Road, Taunton TA1 5EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#5 Business Hotel in Taunton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
Price Range: $97 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Meryan House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Meryan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meryan Hotel Taunton
Meryan House Hotel Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing