We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cut above the average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A cut above the average”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I have used this hotel regularly and found the standards to be consistently high. Clean and comfortable rooms. Bright and pleasant staff who always want to help. Breakfast is a wonderful choice with some of the best bacon I have tasted. Dinners tend to follow the usual HI standard un imaginative but safe choices! There is also a health club. My one adverse comment is the cost of wi fi ! Most hotels, I use, include it free.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    235
    123
    51
    43
See reviews for
148
156
30
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed as a family. It had not been our intention to have dinner in the hotel, but we were tired and hungry. The food exceeded our expectations, there was a good variety service was excellent. Breakfast was delicious and there was a huge variety to suit all tastes.
Our room was clean and well stocked with tea/coffee etc. the bed one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have slept in.
Would definitely stay again at the excellent rates we paid.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garthandanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed at this hotel 4 or 5 times now. Very friendly staff, great amenities with a on site health club which is free for hotel guests. Gym, beauty treatments, swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna. Buffet breakfast, everything you can think of is there and in plentiful supply. A good tip is to prebook your meals whilst booking your room. Rooms very comfortable. If you want a change from the restaurant meals there is a Harvester pub serving meals just round the corner. 10 minute drive to town centre. Next time in Taunton will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Cons - Road Noise, very expensive wi-fi (£9.95 per day!, corridor from reception to room was dingy (felt like an extra in Prisoner Cell Block H!!!)

Pros - Comfortable Bed, Large room, good buffet breakfast

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the side of the hotel way from the motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MilsteadUmpire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear MilsteadUmpire,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I'm truly delighted you liked your room accommodation. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I would like to offer a sincere apology for the inconvenience the noise had caused you. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

This hotel as much as a been a Holiday Inn has the romantic feel of a small hotel even quite European in its appearance and open air space. If you traveling on your own the large bar / restaraunt blends but gives a homely feeling. Great for kids and with the leisure complex will certainly give them lots to do in what feels a very safe environment. But for business travellers it also doesn't feel lonely even when sat on your own reading a book. Another well managed hotel. Staff are all excellent no one stands out as they are all from the same vein of excellence in customer service and this isn't easy to find.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
How kind of you. Thank you so very much.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Yet again another great stay at Holiday Inn Taunton. We have stayed at many Holiday Inn's and we think this is the best by far. The staff are so freindly and go out of their way to help in any way. Breakfast is always excellent and my daughter enjoy's the pan cake machine. You can get great offers on their web site but you have to seach.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
That Pancake machine is definitely popular!!!!!!

Thank you for your kind words.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I've stayed at the Holiday Inn here consistently for 3-4 nights a week for 6 months and have not a single bad word to say about the place. Rooms are up to a good standard and with Chris Freer managing very well, there are always improvements going on which is a positive sign.

Food on the menu is of a decent standard, the duck breast a good recommendation as well as the quinoa salad.

Mainly I'd like to write this review to recommend anyone looking to stay anywhere in Taunton I'd definitely say look no further than this place. From high level management down, all staff knew me on first name basis and treated me as a valued member. Chris and Margaret were always exceptional in helping and did everything they could to help. Sophie at reception who takes care of everything you need from start to finish and always greets you with great enthusiasm and makes an effort with you. Always helpful and delivers the kind of service you would expect from the Ritz in London etc. Same goes for Dawn who is always a smiley face and keen to help wherever she can.

Kieran at the bar also an exceptional member and a real star of the work place. Even on the odd time where service hasn't been tip top, Kieran has always gone out of his way to ensure it is smooth or compensate by knocking down the food bill/free drink etc. His level of service again is exceptional and should be recognised by the Holiday Inn nationally.

For anyone in Taunton, don't look further than here and you'll enjoy and love the professional but family feel of this place.

Mr Rana

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Athar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
You are a very kind man to take the time to post such a thoughtful review of my hotel.

The team look forward to your return some day.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
4.1 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Days Inn Taunton
Days Inn Taunton
#15 of 17 in Taunton
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
800 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
645 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25

Property: Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Address: Deane Gate Avenue, Taunton TA1 2UA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Taunton in Somerset is ideally located for both business and leisure guests, conveniently located at J25 off the M5, on the edge of Taunton near the Somerset County Cricket Ground. Taunton, nestling on the banks of the river Tone, is the gateway to Devon and half way house to Cornwall. Bridgwater, Wellington and other parts of Somerset are all within easy reach. Nearby attractions are Dartmoor and Exmoor with 14 areas of natural beauty and over 600 miles of dramatic coastline. The Holiday Inn Taunton has a Spirit club with indoor 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, solarium and fully equipped gym.This Somerset Hotel has 99 air conditioned bedrooms including wheelchair accessible rooms and 24 hour room service. Our large lounge area, which serves a wide selection of food and beverages, is ideal for informal meetings or just relaxing. (Under 12s Stay & Eat Free) With 12 conference rooms that can accommodate from 2 - 280 delegates in purpose built air conditioned rooms with high speed internet access suitable for meetings, training, presentations, banquets, weddings, reunions & parties. We also have external team build areas. Holiday Inn Taunton has ample free parking and is suitable for coaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Taunton m5, Jct. 25 Hotel Taunton
Taunton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing