We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor record keeping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Poor record keeping”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Nice hotel we stay there quite a lot. Turned up this time to be told there was no record of our booking. Same thing happened at the end of last year when we ended up in a depressing bandb in town.

Sophie told us once again that there was no booking in our name. This time we had paid in advance and were disinclined to take "no" for an answer. It was not until my wife suggested that Sophie check to see if there was a record of our payment. There was but the room had been allocated under a different name. Sophie said that was because we had not called the hotel direct but gone through central booking. Sophie said that she was unable to correct the original mistake i.e wrong name,with central booking, we would have to do that ourselves.

Perhaps a refresher course in staff/guest relations would be in order for Sophie.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the ones overlooking the petrol station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 380Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay but please would you call me on 07736 746098 so that I can better understand the issue with your booking.

I hate to think that this may happen again, and would like to do what I can to ensure that it doesn't.

Thanks

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    230
    123
    51
    37
See reviews for
144
153
30
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ceredigion, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed here for 5 nights. Yes I agree with some of the other resent reviewers the premises is a little dated but I have to tell you that the staff are superb,they really are! I have stayed in many Holiday Inns all over the country and this crew have just got to be the best! What an incredible happy bunch they all seem to be! It's so refreshing to witness. It has been such a pleasure to come down to breakfast every morning and to be welcomed with a smile and friendly service that has been excellent! There are many 5 star hotels out there that could learn a great deal from the staff at this great 3 star hotel! Thanks for looking after me so well. Will be back to stay again soon for sure.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Phil1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
It is so kind of you to review us.

My team are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much - as am I!

Thanks again for taking the time out to post such nice comments.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We had not planned to stay here but needed to find a place to stay at the last minute. Everything was good. Excellent value, very comfortable, good food and easy parking. If they had free Wi-Fi that would make it even better.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjjatbpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Great News - and more great news is that Wi Fi will be free to all IHG Reward Members from July!!!!

Thank you for taking the time to review us!

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level Contributor
352 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed here on business & whilst I'd probably have chosen to stay elsewhere I was pleasantly surprised.
Great welcome at reception but issues with my promised wi-fi meant I collected a daily voucher instead.
Room was a decent size with comfy bed, the obligatory trouser press (does anyone ever use these?), decent TV, lovely fluffy towels & a powerful shower.
Room looked a bit dated, as did parts of the rest of the hotel, but everything worked fine.
Food choice at dinner was pretty disappointing if you don't eat meat but breakfast was fab & the staff were just the best.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonny-Northerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your review.

Some people do think we look a little dated - I think it's the brown brickwork that was so popular in the 80s. However, I am absolutely delighted to read that the team more than make up for it.

Just to let you know, we now have a new regional menu running in our Restaurant, which adds a few more dishes. However - if you ever fancy a simple dish "off menu" please do ask us - there is often something we can do.

Thank you again

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, England
Level Contributor
107 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We booked a room here for 2 adults and 2 children to break our journey to the West Country on a Sunday night. The price via their own website was £71 for all four of us with dinner, bed and breakfast, booked and paid a week in advance. As it was an old Post House it was not really up to the standard we expect from an original Holiday Inn - size of bedroom much smaller. Additionally the mattress was extremely hard ! We all enjoyed the leisure centre - unfortunately the jacuzzi had just been emptied for maintainance and was not warm yet. Dinner was very good with plenty of choices in all 3 courses. Service was very slow though. Breakfast was self service but excellent all the same the children especially enjoyed making their own pancakes.And you get a free "I" newspaper and hot drinks, fruit and biscuits to go on your journey.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thewellcomegroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for your kind review - the leisure centre and swimming pool are certainly a great asset for us here - and the kids love to let off a bit of steam before bed. Hope that helps you relax to!!!.

I am sorry that the service was a little slow - but really pleased to read that you enjoyed all your meals here at the hotel.

Look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

As an elite member was expecting a warm welcome instead no warm welcome or letter as in any other holiday inn I have stayed at , no bottle water or chocolate as mention on the website though did get a bag with crisps water and cookie for being an elite member. Executive room not worth the money 2 single beds and in other holiday inn would be a standard room
On this welcome seriously thinking of looking at other holiday reward programs

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Jim C,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate to see the accommodations you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taunton hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed at Holiday Inn last night and was expecting home from home comfort as experienced at the Holiday Inn Express but .................
The bed was uncomfortable and the sofa bed was extremely uncomfortable , def not for any one other than a small child
I could hear other guest using their loo's during the night and the pillows /quilt were flat .

The Express far exceeds the room quality of this hotel

I have to say that despite failings in room quality that the staff were friendly and provided an excellent service and the breakfast buffet was also very good.

Room Tip: Book the express instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
It is so great to read your comments about the team here at the hotel. I am however so sorry that the bedroom was not as relaxing as you hoped. I can assure you that we have a continuous program of changing and upgrading pillows and mattresses. In addition, we have a pillow menu within the hotel that offers 5 different types.
Next time you are here - if you are not happy with the comfort - let us know. Although all the rooms are pretty similar, some mattresses are slightly older (softer) than others, and I am sure that there would be something we could do.

Thanks so much for the review

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
4.0 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton Ruishton (M5, J25) Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25

Property: Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Address: Deane Gate Avenue, Taunton TA1 2UA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Taunton in Somerset is ideally located for both business and leisure guests, conveniently located at J25 off the M5, on the edge of Taunton near the Somerset County Cricket Ground. Taunton, nestling on the banks of the river Tone, is the gateway to Devon and half way house to Cornwall. Bridgwater, Wellington and other parts of Somerset are all within easy reach. Nearby attractions are Dartmoor and Exmoor with 14 areas of natural beauty and over 600 miles of dramatic coastline. The Holiday Inn Taunton has a Spirit club with indoor 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, solarium and fully equipped gym.This Somerset Hotel has 99 air conditioned bedrooms including wheelchair accessible rooms and 24 hour room service. Our large lounge area, which serves a wide selection of food and beverages, is ideal for informal meetings or just relaxing. (Under 12s Stay & Eat Free) With 12 conference rooms that can accommodate from 2 - 280 delegates in purpose built air conditioned rooms with high speed internet access suitable for meetings, training, presentations, banquets, weddings, reunions & parties. We also have external team build areas. Holiday Inn Taunton has ample free parking and is suitable for coaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Taunton m5, Jct. 25 Hotel Taunton
Taunton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing