We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 day conference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here with 65 other delegates for a 3 day TATHS (Tools & Trades History Society) Annual Conference. The room was fine but the hotel public areas were generally chilly. Our main complaint was the slow service in the restaurant lack of interest from the staff. There were some issues with the conference food, lemon chicken being smothered in spicy tomato sauce and not enough sandwiches etc for the Sunday buffet.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REIDORK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear REIDORK,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I’m sorry you received service in our restaurant which was unacceptable. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (682)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 682 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

I’ve stayed here a few time now for the location as its perfect and close to the M5.
It always seems to be the most expensive Holiday Inn I ever stay at, this time the rooms were under £100 which made a change but with a meal and a few drinks it still came to quite a large sum?
The rooms themselves are ok, fairly standard Holiday Inn stuff. Wifi was a bit hit and miss but worked ok in the lounge.
No local beers on which is always a shame but the meal I had in the evening was ok but again quite expensive.
I didn’t use the gym.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Captain-S_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear Phil S,

Thank you for your recent comments about our Hotel. I am pleased to know that our location was very convenient for your activities. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations especially the room rates. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations as well as competitive rates to the area. Your comments will be passed to the appropriate department. We always welcome opportunity to improve. Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Attended a wedding here so review will be based on that. I will start with the food which was appalling and not enough to feed all the guests - I accept that this may have been the choices of the of the couple getting married. Bar service was ok if a little expensive but hey this is a hotel - only grumble was my daughter who is 19 was only allowed to purchase one drink despite showing ID. Staff worked very hard on the night to keep everyone happy.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Rubbiesarered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Rubbiesarered,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. Please accept my sincerest apologies that you were inconvenienced by the service received during the wedding that you attended. I thank you for letting us know about these unsatisfactory circumstances as this is our best means of improving guest satisfaction.

Despite your disappointment, I do hope you will give our hotel another try in the future and rest assured you will have our very best attention.

Regards,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Had read the other reviews before we went and thought it couldn't be as good as they all said .... but it was.
The rooms were lovely, clean, comfortable and a good size even with 2 adults and 2 children ( boys aged 11 and 8). The staff were fantastic and really gave first class service from every department.
We arrived early enough to use the pool which is clean, if a little on the cool side, and the changing rooms are fine. A nice added extra to our stay.
The extra touches like milk and cookies in the lobby for the kids at 6pm and plenty of board games and books for them to use just meant we were able to sit and enjoy a quiet drink for an hour or so before heading to our room. The bar food is also very good. Breakfast the next morning was also fantastic. I am Gluten free and they were able to cater for me no problem (with no fuss)
We stayed on Thursday 28th March and even though the hotel seemed fairly full it was a very pleasant stay. They really helped to kick start our Easter weekend away and we will definitely be back any time we are heading down to Devon or Cornwall.

Room Tip: We were towards the rear of the hotel and it was the best nights sleep I have ever had in a hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pip345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

We had a great time too looking after all our visitors over the Easter Holidays.

It's great to hear that by helping entertain the children - you had a liitle time to relax and be yourselves for a bit!

Thank you so much for such a great review.

Kindest Regards

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We break our journey at this Holiday Inn once/twice a year and without fail, during every stay the staff are just so extraordinarily friendly, nothing is too much trouble and if there does happen to be an issue (there was an unpleasant smell in the first room we were allocated so we were quickly given a different room, without fuss) then it is resolved quickly and with a smile.

Holiday Inns are never going to be luxury, boutique hotels but for what we use them for, they are perfect. Our two young daughters were each given an Easter egg and activity pack on arrival, fresh cookies and milk were available at bedtime and the usual boardgames/magazines were available in the bar for them to borrow. The addition of the pancake machine at breakfast caused much excitement and the staff were very keen to show it off!

We used the pool/sauna/jacuzzi as we always do and again it was all very clean and a great way to destress after a long journey.

The DBB deals are an absolute steal, I'd wholeheartedly recommend this hotel as a midway stopover to Cornwall from London/SE.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Princessgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We booked this hotel with friends as a spur of the moment, as a handy stop off on a long journey to Cornwall, we stayed 1 night, and I cannot rate this hotel enough, especially if you have children, our friends arrived with kids, and on arrival (Easter Sunday) the kids were given Easter eggs, also in the evening given milk and cookies before bed, with a choice of bedtime stories for loan also.

We only eat in the bar area but a full menu available in the restaurant, the pizza we had was lovely, cooked fresh for you and that definitely made a difference.

There is a swimming pool available but we didn't use it, as we didn't arrive till late, although our friends did and they said it was clean and tidy with a nice jacuzzi.

The room itself was as you'd expect, clean, tidy with good space, the bed was comfortable with a nice selection of pillows and extras available from the reception if required.

Breakfast was excellent! I would highly recommend it, fresh pancakes! (Even if the machine is a tad slow) they also had the typical hotel toaster that could take a few runs through to actually toast your bread, but it lends itself to a handy conversation starter with other guests!

There was lots of choice of fruits, yoghurts, and everything else you could expect. Full English was excellent and always fresh.

All in all an excellent stay. And literally just off the m5 I'd recommend it to anyone travelling south, as it makes a huge difference to your holiday not having a mammoth drive on day 1. (Plus it extends a break by a night)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richoatway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Awesome! Thank you so much for posting such a great review.

My team are so delighted that our guests are seeing us as a hotel that actually adds a day extra to your holiday!

Thanks again, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night on 29th March, Good Friday. We were on our way to Cornwall and Taunton seemed perfect for a half way stopover. We booked online and got a great rate. Check in was easy and upon arrival they were just starting an Easter Egg hunt for little ones. Our daughter was over the moon and joined in the fun. She also got a lovely Cadburys egg too. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The service at the restaurant was exceptional and nothing was too much trouble. Our daughter loved the free milk and cookies at bed time and we loved the free water and Mars bars in our room too. Breakfast was great. All in all, a fantastic stop over. I would recommend this hotel for its exceptional customer service. Thanks.

Room Tip: We booked an executive room with breakfast included, great rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TJWhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to send through your thoughts!

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
1.7 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
678 reviews
4.1 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Taunton
Travelodge Taunton
#9 of 17 in Taunton
198 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
2.0 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25

Address: Deane Gate Avenue, Taunton TA1 2UA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range: $88 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Taunton in Somerset is ideally located for both business and leisure guests, conveniently located at J25 off the M5, on the edge of Taunton near the Somerset County Cricket Ground. Taunton, nestling on the banks of the river Tone, is the gateway to Devon and half way house to Cornwall. Bridgwater, Wellington and other parts of Somerset are all within easy reach. Nearby attractions are Dartmoor and Exmoor with 14 areas of natural beauty and over 600 miles of dramatic coastline. The Holiday Inn Taunton has a Spirit club with indoor 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, solarium and fully equipped gym.This Somerset Hotel has 99 air conditioned bedrooms including wheelchair accessible rooms and 24 hour room service. Our large lounge area, which serves a wide selection of food and beverages, is ideal for informal meetings or just relaxing. (Under 12s Stay & Eat Free) With 12 conference rooms that can accommodate from 2 - 280 delegates in purpose built air conditioned rooms with high speed internet access suitable for meetings, training, presentations, banquets, weddings, reunions & parties. We also have external team build areas. Holiday Inn Taunton has ample free parking and is suitable for coaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Taunton m5, Jct. 25 Hotel Taunton
Taunton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing