We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient hotel for a stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have used this hotel numerous times as a stopover on the way to Cornwall. We have always been impressed by the friendly check-in staff who have made a fuss of our son every time we arrive. They always have big smiles and a little chat with us. The hotel is clean and has a nice atmosphere. The rooms have all amenities that are required a the family room is plenty big enough for 3. The only slight gripe is that the the duvet on the double bed could be a little larger. It is also great to have the swimming pool on site that we can make use of before setting off.

Stayed: August 2012
Thank Sabina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you for posting a review.

I hope that you continue to stay with us and keep making us part of your holiday!

See you again soon.

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (664)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 664 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

Which is why I keep coming back here,turning a blind eye to the tired decor, the pricey accommodation, the exorbitant cost of wifi and dried up eggs for breakfast. But the rooms are clean, the staff are always helpful and friendly and I like marmalade in little jars.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank BillyboyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Spent two fabulous nights at the Holiday Inn Taunton. Dinner ,Bed and Breakfast the food was excellent. What struck us was the entire staff who were so freindly and made us feel like royalty. Used the swimming pool which again was great ..so we have decided we will be going back again and cannot wait. A great Location to explore East Devon,Exmoor and Somerset..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yetiman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you

My team will be delighted as a warm friendly welcome, everytime, is just what they are trying to achieve!

So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much, and we can't wait for you to return

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We used this hotel as an overnight stop when visiting relatives at two different locations. Arriving fairly late we used the post code for the hotel in the Sat Nav and this was not a good idea as the code obviously covers quite an area and therefore too vague. Also there is a Holiday Inn Express a hundred metres away that did cause some confusion to us. We were kept waiting at the unmanned Reception for quite a few minutes before someone come out to deal with us. There were apologies and the process was then dealt with quickly. However, when you arrive late and tired from driving it does take the edge off things. The room was good and clean. We came down to breakfast fairly late on the Sunday morning and found that food stocks had not been replenished and some indifference from the breakfast chef as to why. Overall not a bad hotel for a business or overnight stay but I am not so sure about staying for any lengthier amount of time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We certainly are a convenient stop over for those long journeys to Devon and Cornwall.

We do not rest on our laurels though. My team are determined to offer the nicest welcome and the best breakfast in the area and it's obvious we didn't quite hit the mark for you.

Our breakfast standards have received real focus recently and by mid November we will have added a Pancake machine, and new displays to our ever improving service.

I hope you see a change the next time you stay.

Thanks again

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hotel is great. It's bang on the M5 but soooo quiet. It's all single level so getting around is easy. Blackout curtains in room great. Staff nice and friendly. Breakfast good. Bar area great. Has pool etc. TVs in room are HD. Shame you have to pay for wifi but 3G signal is good. Overall, highly rated by me and I am a regular hotel dweller.

Room Tip: All good I reckon.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spencerallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

That is so good to hear.

Thank you, and thank you for pointing out about the 3G signal - Good Shout!

Whilst we do charge for the internet, it is great to hear that many of our other assets soften the blow!

Hope we see you again soon.

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel could have easily picked up a four star review from me (5 star with some refurbishment!) as it's a clean, well located and friendly hotel.
My room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Bathroom was great, bed and linen comfortable and of good quality. TV was big enough. Room had an ironing board, Iron and trouser press. So no complaints there.
I had breakfast and evening meal in the restaurant, which while having a canteen feel about it was perfectly acceptable.
The spa/swimming facilities were basic (small pool, hot tub and sauna) but clean and welcoming and the staff were friendly and helpful.
However, the building and interior is becoming a little tired and it's simply overpriced for what it is. I stay away regularly on business and I found this hotel is around 20% more expensive than similar (or sometimes better) hotels elsewhere.
My biggest frustration though was the WiFi. On the day I stayed and hour was £5 (and that's an hour from the first log on, not an hour's use, so you can't log on for 10 minutes and come back and use the other 50 minutes later! And per device!). Four hours was £10 and 24 hours was £20! For a hotel that seems to be attracting business customers to charge anything for WiFi seems out of date to me, but this is extortionate! Not only that but when I came to use my super expensive, "Super-fast" WiFi in my room I picked up a download speed of 0.3Mbps. I asked for and got a refund but was not happy!
I regularly travel to Taunton on business and would happily make this hotel a regular place to stay, but first they must become better value with better and cheaper WiFi.

Room Tip: My room was car park side, away from the motorway and on the ground floor. It was quiet and spacious...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenimGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

I am so pleased to read your review and how generally your interactions with my team were almost 5 star!

Not so pleased obviously that you may not stay again predominantly because of the Wi Fi charges. I do empathise and am pleased to hear that because you could not achieve what you needed to because of our download speed - we took the relevant charge from your bill.

Just to make it clear, the charges for internet use are as follows for the time being:

One Hour - £5.00
Four Hours - £10.00
Twenty Four Hours - £16.00

Twenty Four hours use is given complementary to any Conference Organiser at the hotel.
One hours use is given complementary to anyone booking an executive room.

We do have a reliable and (usually) speedy service - and I am sorry it didn't quite perform to expectation on this occassion.

I do hope that we see you again.

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Room was clean and facilities such as TV etc were very good but to echo another review the prices for food and drink are really high.

Reception staff are great, the attached pool and gym is perfectly adequate and there is a generally good feeling about the place.

Our group decided to walk over the road the the Harvester to eat as the prices for the bar menu were far too high and the restaurant didn't open until 6.30pm. We all ate and drank at the Harvester for £75, I would suggest a similar meal in the Hotel would have been £130 which is a big difference and something I feel they could look at for the future.

I had breakfast included in my room price (I paid extra for the breakfast at time of booking so it wasn't free) but wish I hadn't bothered as this was the worst experience of the stay. The breakfast is served in the restaurant and is a buffet style which on one hand means you can technically eat as much as you like, but on the other hand exposes any weakness in the timings for when food is replaced if it runs out. And this is exactly what happened and several guests were complaining. As far as I could see, it wasn't as if there was a big influx of guests all at once, there was just a steady stream.

The other thing I found really annoying was that they get you a coffee when you arrive, but there is no facility to get more without getting them to come to you with it. Everything else is self serve, but the cheapest and in my mind most important thing about a breakfast is coffee... The staff (I believe there was just two) were seemingly overwhelmed and I eventually gave up trying to attract their attention for more coffee and raided their pots myself. This is not good for a premium hotel, after all it's not a travel lodge, you expect a bit of service at the prices you pay.

Would I stay there again? Yes, but I'd wait for a cheap deal and not have breakfast (or any other food) there, there are too many places within a short walk that are better value for both price and service. Then it would be a good value room for the night. As for it being somewhere to pay a high price but expect to be waited on and treated? - No because they don't.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoPapas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Hello, Thanks for posting a review of your stay.

It's great that you had a good feeling about the place. Thats what I think running a hotel is all about - creating as many good feelings as possible! I am therefore "gutted" that we let you down at breakfast.

We have certainly taken your comments on board and made a few changes. My team are determined to get it right, especially with regard to delivery of that all important second cup coffee so I hope that you will see a difference the next time you visit.

Many Thanks once again.

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
1.7 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
662 reviews
4.1 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
825 reviews
4.6 mi away
Days Inn Taunton
Days Inn Taunton
#15 of 17 in Taunton
389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Taunton
Travelodge Taunton
#9 of 17 in Taunton
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25

Address: Deane Gate Avenue, Taunton TA1 2UA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range: $95 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Taunton in Somerset is ideally located for both business and leisure guests, conveniently located at J25 off the M5, on the edge of Taunton near the Somerset County Cricket Ground. Taunton, nestling on the banks of the river Tone, is the gateway to Devon and half way house to Cornwall. Bridgwater, Wellington and other parts of Somerset are all within easy reach. Nearby attractions are Dartmoor and Exmoor with 14 areas of natural beauty and over 600 miles of dramatic coastline. The Holiday Inn Taunton has a Spirit club with indoor 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, solarium and fully equipped gym.This Somerset Hotel has 99 air conditioned bedrooms including wheelchair accessible rooms and 24 hour room service. Our large lounge area, which serves a wide selection of food and beverages, is ideal for informal meetings or just relaxing. (Under 12s Stay & Eat Free) With 12 conference rooms that can accommodate from 2 - 280 delegates in purpose built air conditioned rooms with high speed internet access suitable for meetings, training, presentations, banquets, weddings, reunions & parties. We also have external team build areas. Holiday Inn Taunton has ample free parking and is suitable for coaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Taunton m5, Jct. 25 Hotel Taunton
Taunton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25 Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing