We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Staplegrove Lodge

Staplegrove Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taunton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Staplegrove Lodge
Ranked #52 of 53 Taunton B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night for a wedding in the area. We had a great welcome. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in in a hotel or guest house. After a wonderful breakfast I got a lift to recover my car. We will definitely stay there again. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerzy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 24 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night only and we have never felt more welcome, comfortable or better fed in a B&B. Staplegrove Lodge is a large country house, set back off the road in beautiful gardens. From the moment we checked in we felt as though we were there by invitation rather than as paying guests, such was the warmth of our welcome. Our room was large and airy, spotlessly clean, with a comfortable bed and the usual TV and tea tray. The huge bathroom was across the landing but was exclusive to us, and we neither heard nor saw anyone until breakfast. The 'Full English' was freshly cooked and delicious; all dietary requirements catered for, and we enjoyed the company of the other guests aound the breakfast table. Truly a first class stay - and the price is the greatest surprise of all.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed only one night and how we wished we could have stayed longer. Beautiful house, very pleasant & welcoming owners, outstanding location and extremely good value. The 'all english' breakfast was exceptionally good.
We recommend this establishment most heartliy and to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed in a family room on a Saturday night and were really pleased we picked this b&b. Lovely, large room with a four poster bed and a full size single bed for our daughter. Large ensuite bathroom with a good shower and plenty of towels.
Brilliant cooked breakfast, charming, lovely garden and charming and friendly hosts. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had a very happy stay. The service was excellent; the food good; our hostess very pleasant and helpful. It was surprisingly quiet. The bed was very comfortable - All this as a very reasonable rate. We would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed for only one night on our way down to Devon. This is a charming period property with tiled floors and period features throughout. Our room was fantastic - I was a little worried when advised our room wasn't ensuite but instead had a private bathroom across the hall - but the bathroom was enormous with a free standing bath and huge walk in shower, it was full of character. I never saw any other guests until breakfast the following morning so had no issues pottering across the corridor to the bathroom, it all felt very quiet and private.

Breakfast was fantastic, lovely full English. The only thing I am not really a fan of is one table for all guests to share at breakfast, as I feel a bit compelled in having to make chit chat with the other guests (otherwise appear rude) and as my busy job involves customer service all day long - on holiday, I like to just spend quiet time with my partner without that added pressure, but that aside our stay was very pleasurable with a lovely comfortable room, great welcoming hosts and a lovely breakfast. (and the pub just down the road is excellent for an evening meal!)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leolady1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Friendly welcome from Kim. Lovely spacious room with good selection of tea etc. Intersting old house with tiled floors and period features. Good FEB. Would certainly visit again

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
6.4 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25
3.8 mi away
Days Inn Taunton
Days Inn Taunton
#16 of 17 in Taunton
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#6 of 17 in Taunton
704 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Taunton East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staplegrove Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staplegrove Lodge

Address: Staplegrove Road, Taunton TA2 6PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Taunton
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Staplegrove Lodge Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing