We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chinese/Cantonese around.”

China & China Restaurant
Ranked #87 of 257 Restaurants in Taunton
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 01823 278889
somerset
Level Contributor
96 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best Chinese/Cantonese around.”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

My husband and I have been visiting China and China for years and still can't find anywhere to match the quality of there food . It's lush ,so fresh . The only thing I would say is we don't go as often as the prices are getting very expensive so tend to go to celebrate a birthday etc . Staff always friendly and remember us but be warned like to clear plates aways quickly .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dieselSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    43
    24
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing - No atmosphere”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We always thought this was the best chinese restaurant in Taunton. However we were disappointed. The mixed starter was tiny and not that tasty and there was no atmosphere. We were seated away from the rest of the diners in the very large restaurant so felt we were the only ones there. However, the rest of the meal was very tasty and the service was quite attentive.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“another of Taunton's best restaurants”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We've eaten here many times in the past 10 years, since moving into the centre of town. It's always a pleasure and, as we've lived in Singapore and Hong Kong, we're a bit fussy about Chinese food. This is really good, and we've always found the service first-calss. We've been with friends, and with family, as well as treating just the 2 of us to a special evening.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grandmatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food, good service but does need a little TLC”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

I was very impressed with the quality of the food and the dishes available on the menu. The service was good and the staff were always very happy to help you with your choices if your like me and always fasinated and unsure of what to choose.

There are lots of tables inside so I would imagine they could cater for larger groups as well as smaller groups.

Now to be a bit picky, thrre was a hole in our table cloth and I felt the decor could maybe do with a slight re-vamp but don't let this put you off!! Also if driving be aware that there is no parking and limited spaces on the road outside so you may have to park a bit further away and walk.

Ovrrall, I would deffinetly go back here for another meal!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt_W_Evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Taunton”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

I have dined many times at China China and have always enjoyed the food. Authentic dishes prepared with care, reasonable value, and not a trace of MSG !. Service is good and the owners seem to really care about their business.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China & China Restaurant also viewed

 
Taunton, Somerset
Taunton, Somerset
 

Been to China & China Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing