We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location and Fab Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Ball Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taunton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Ball Inn
Ranked #28 of 55 Taunton B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing location and Fab Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We were staying in the family room with our son, for one night on the way to our anuual holiday in North Devon. What an excellent place for a short stay, the room was amazing and beautifully decorated. We went for an afternoon walk and found an old stable yard where they sold cream teas. Our dinner in the evening was amazing, locally sourced food, amazingly flavoursome and beautifully presented. We felt welcome and relaxed, the breakfast in the morning was eaten overlooking stunning countryside and was a brilliant way to send us on our way.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    7
    1
    5
    1
See reviews for
10
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

We were camping locally and our tent was washed out in heavy rain, so late on a Saturday night we found ourselves ringing around looking for a local B&B! We chanced upon the Blue Ball, and as soon as we got there we were blown away by the warmness of the welcome - we turned up wet and bedraggled with three tired kids, but nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

The rooms were great (we stayed in a cottage in the courtyard), really comfortable and clean. And the English breakfast in the morning was absolutely top notch.

The whole place is 5* through and through, and the staff couldn't be any friendlier or more helpful. It's in a wonderful, tranquil location, far enough off the main road to be to be picturesque, but not so much as to be off the beaten track.

I would recommend the Blue Ball if you're intending to stay anywhere in the area - it's well worth going out of your way for, and we will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarfieldRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quantock Hills
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

Went on a Friday night as live local and couldn't be bothered to cook. Very nice food, excellent service and ambiance. Fair price for what you get, will go again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QuantockFoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, Cornwall
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

What a great find! Although we only stayed for one night, it was well worth the ten mile drive from the motorway to this lovely, peaceful spot. We had a warm welcome and were delighted with our accommodation in "Pheasant Cottage". Dinner was a feast, with excellent food, wine and very friendly service. At breakfast we sat by the end picture window watching the wildlife, the only sound that of birds singing. A lovely stay, and we will definitely return for longer next time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maxigran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

We found The Blue Ball Inn by total chance from an internet search for pubs on The Quantocks - and I'm so pleased that we did. I grew up in Taunton but had never been to the Blue Ball until this trip. We were looking for a place to stay near the hills so that we could walk on the Saturday and Sunday and had just the most perfect time. We stayed in Stag Cottage and ate in the restaurant both the nights that we were in Somerset - food great - Vegetarian Husband tricky to feed but happy with menu choices. Stag Cottage fab. Most of all we liked the fact that whatever time you showed up and however hot and tired you were from walking or scrubbed-up for the evening - the welcome by all of The Blue Ball team was the same and faultless. Having found this place we plan to return as soon as we are able.

Room Tip: As the Blue Ball is located in the heart of rural Somerset any of the rooms would be perfect - no s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janpulford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stumbled upon this gem of a place and how glad we did! Superb food, great accommodation and faultless hospitality! We will most certainly be back!

Room Tip: Stag cottage has the most wonderful roll top bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed and ate here last night having travelled through quiet country lanes over the Quantocks to get there. A warm welcome greeted us plus some excellent local beer and cider. We had a very good dinner, and then joined a regular drinker at the bar for a night cap and setting the world to rights. A good combination of quality restaurant and local pub in a unique setting. Stag and Pheasant Cottages were warm and comfortable, and after a splendid breakfast overlooking the countryside, we had a lovely walk up the lane to look at the view and the lambs. We'll definately be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem equally good and well furnished although Stag is unusual as the bathroom is above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
10.1 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
4.0 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#10 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
3.5 mi away
Yallands Farmhouse
Yallands Farmhouse
#3 of 55 in Taunton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hartwood House
Hartwood House
#10 of 55 in Taunton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
11.2 mi away
Frog Street Farmhouse
Frog Street Farmhouse
#1 of 55 in Taunton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
4.4 mi away
Heathercroft B&B
Heathercroft B&B
#17 of 55 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Ball Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Ball Inn

Property: Blue Ball Inn
Address: High St | Triscombe, Taunton TA4 3HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are few pubs these days that don't serve food, but how many go the extra yard? The Blue Ball has earned an enviable reputation as one of Somerset's finest pub restaurants through a combination of traditional dishes with a modern twist, an emphasis on freshness and seasonality, and an insistance on using locally sourced ingredients from farmers, growers and merchants who care as much about the quality and welfare of their produce as we do. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Ball Inn Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing