We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy Cottage - The Old Bakery”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taunton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Town End Farm Self Catering Cottages
oxon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy Cottage - The Old Bakery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have just enjoyed a 4 day break in the Old Bakery at Town End Farm Cottages. Our host Bruce couldn't have been more welcoming with a lovely cream tea and fresh eggs on arrival. Even though the day temperatures were high it was lovely to light the wood burner for the evening when it got a bit chillier. Kitchen well equiped with a big table that sat 4 comfortably. The small terraced garden was great to sit in and look at the Quantock Hills and also all Bruce's animals. Scruffy our parson russell terrier loved looking at the chickens, sheep and the minature horse. Crowcombe is very handily placed inbetween Minehead and Taunton and we recommend the Fish and Chip shop in Williton that cooked each meal to order so the fish was lovely and fresh. We look forward to making a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helsbels167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
13
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

My family, including Baby Jasmine (12 weeks old) and our dogs stayed in Flora's Barn during November. We had a horrendous journey to Somerset from the midlands, arriving in dense fog. The fabulous scones, jam and cream were most welcome on arrival, totally scrumptious. I have never seen such enormous scones! Once we had devoured the cream tea we settled into the cottage. There is absolutely everything needed for a stress free, relaxing break contained in Flora's Barn, so many extremely thoughtful extras. The accommodation was spotlessly clean and a comprehensive information folder is helpful for planning days out and places to eat.
We had booked for dinner at one of the recommended eateries and were not disappointed. Returning to the cottage we snuggled up in the comfy beds until morning.
On waking, we were treated to the most amazing view, hidden by the fog on our arrival! I think I could easily have spent the day just chilling and admiring the view.
Our stay was almost perfect...
On the second evening one of our dogs was taken ill and Bruce very kindly rushed us to the out of hours vet. Not knowing the area the journey would have been a nightmare for us, we were very grateful and thankfully Millie made a full recovery.
I truly didn't want to go home!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chillikaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks in Flora's Barn in October 2012. The Barn looked lovely on website but the actually surpassed all expectations, being so beautifully decorated and obviously well looked after and loved. It was even better when Bruce delivered a very welcome cream tea, all part of the service, which we had sitting in sunshine in the garden. We had our 2 black labradors with us, Nessie and Ghillie, so the well-fenced garden was ideal. As were the walks we could take straight from the Barn, although there were also great walks within 5 minutes drive in the car. This is definitely one of those places where, when we say we'll be back, we truly mean it. Well done Bruce.

Room Tip: The whole of this Barn is gorgeous, so four people sharing means that no-one will miss out on anythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nessie2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

There was a very warm wecome on our arrival complete with the most amazing cream tea, now be warned here, do not eat before your arrival the cream tea will keep you going for most of the day.
Flora's Barn is more than well equiped, very comfortable bed's and excellent decor. We would recommend this break for all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

The other reviewers are simply stating the facts. Flora's Barn, one of the two cottages, is perfect. No reservations. A wonderful warm welcome: a delicious and substantial cream tea, along with many other welcoming touches (farm eggs, flowers, a starter pack of logs ...). Inside: totally clean, very well equipped, very pleasant taste throughout, very comfortable beds, useful information.... Outside: wonderful view, the fun of the farm animals, games barn, splendid walks up on to the Quantock Hills right from the door, lots of lovely pubs close by. You should read the visitors' book, page after page of ecstasy!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrickmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

What a beautiful cottage in a beautiful setting! My partner and I stayed for a few nights in order to explore the south-west a little better and go walking in the Quantocks. There's nothing better after a long day of walking to come back 'home' and sit in front of the fire. We would definitely recommend it to anyone in need of a relaxing break.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clareloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Having just spent a week in Flora's Barn with my mum and my 6 year old daughter I would recommend this cottage to anyone with taste! It is gorgeous and equipped with all. The website doesn't do it justice. I was hesitant about one of the bedrooms being downstairs but it caused no problems and my daughter was excited to be in an "upside down" house. If you're wondering whether to book up, do it, it's fabulous!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claireb2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taunton
3.0 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
1.3 mi away
Hartwood House
Hartwood House
#11 of 56 in Taunton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Old House
The Old House
#1 of 6 in Nether Stowey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Combe House Hotel
Combe House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Holford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
14.3 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
10.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town End Farm Self Catering Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town End Farm Self Catering Cottages

Property: Town End Farm Self Catering Cottages
Address: Crowcombe | Quantock Hills, Taunton TA4 4AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Taunton
Hotel Class:4 star — Town End Farm Self Catering Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th-century Town End Farm offers self catering accommodation in the heart of the stunning Quantock Hills, the first area in Britain designated an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Town End Farm Self Catering Cottages Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing