We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great”
Review of Half Moon Inn

Half Moon Inn
Ranked #37 of 258 Restaurants in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Traditional Country pub with restaurant, located in a small rural village approximately 2 miles from Taunton centre and M5(J25) motorway.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not great”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Over expensive food , small portions. Bit crabby. The new tv in the bar has let this country pub down a bit ....... Bring back tradition and value . The new owners Wong last ..... Sorry

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Litlun999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    27
    18
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“birthday meal experience 01/08/2013”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

After booking a table on the 1/08/2013 , On arriving we waited for a while to be served as only two people one taking food out and a young man behind bar. well we gave our order which we where told they had run out of but on board .any way we picked another meal .after 3/4 of an hour the food came .my steak was like rubber and chips looked like a week old .and I asked for Diana sauce which first was thick and would not come out the jug then it was just mushrooms chopped up and peppercorns in a think mud like sauce .not good did tell the young man and told me he would take the sauce off my bill.(which he did)chips well un eat able could not put fork in my husband said soak in vinegar ,but no fat long over cooked .as for steak found it hard to cut .
my husbands meal pork was like a child had dished it up .we paid a went telling them they need to talk to there chef as it was bad. and we where not happy .(table 11)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Angiepjc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fly on egg”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Tonight we visited the half moon, we waited a longtime to be served we eventually asked for the menu to choose. It sees as though there were too many people and not enough staff. We were 9 in party.i believe we sent some of the drinks back as we ordered red black currant and lemonade but it. was debatable what it was. One person ordered a mixed grill, but it arrived with a rather large fly on the egg, which looked at though it had been well fried. They did take it away and replace, although by the time they brought the meal back everyone had almost finished their meal. We were given a discount, but still do not consider it sufficient
The belly pork was delicious.
If anyone wants a fly in their meal this is the place to eat

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hockey190730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great welcome, Lovely Food”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We wanted to go out for a quick bite to eat mid week and had always had good food at the half moon so as the weather was great decided to go there.
We have a very nice warm welcome and were able to taste a new cider they had (which was very nice).
Staff were helpful and quick and the food was very good and large potions.
Highly recommended for a nice pub meal.
Good value for money as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tobym2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice country feel”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Four of us stopped on a off chance,Saturday lunchtime.We were met with a friendly welcome,there was a reasonable range of draught drinks,decent menu and a varied specials board.
We asked where we could sit and as there were various tables free,we were instructed to find one we liked,directed to the specials board and asked to order from the bar when ready..
All the food arrived in a sensible timescale and were all good,steaks came with homemade chips,excellent and a good change from the usual frozen ones that seemed to be served more often these days.
Will return soon for a full blown meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SomersetKeithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Moon Inn also viewed

 
 

Been to Half Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing