We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fly on egg”
Review of Half Moon Inn

Half Moon Inn
Ranked #24 of 257 Restaurants in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Traditional Country pub with restaurant, located in a small rural village approximately 2 miles from Taunton centre and M5(J25) motorway.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fly on egg”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Tonight we visited the half moon, we waited a longtime to be served we eventually asked for the menu to choose. It sees as though there were too many people and not enough staff. We were 9 in party.i believe we sent some of the drinks back as we ordered red black currant and lemonade but it. was debatable what it was. One person ordered a mixed grill, but it arrived with a rather large fly on the egg, which looked at though it had been well fried. They did take it away and replace, although by the time they brought the meal back everyone had almost finished their meal. We were given a discount, but still do not consider it sufficient
The belly pork was delicious.
If anyone wants a fly in their meal this is the place to eat

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hockey190730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    25
    17
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great welcome, Lovely Food”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We wanted to go out for a quick bite to eat mid week and had always had good food at the half moon so as the weather was great decided to go there.
We have a very nice warm welcome and were able to taste a new cider they had (which was very nice).
Staff were helpful and quick and the food was very good and large potions.
Highly recommended for a nice pub meal.
Good value for money as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tobym2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level Contributor
173 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nice country feel”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Four of us stopped on a off chance,Saturday lunchtime.We were met with a friendly welcome,there was a reasonable range of draught drinks,decent menu and a varied specials board.
We asked where we could sit and as there were various tables free,we were instructed to find one we liked,directed to the specials board and asked to order from the bar when ready..
All the food arrived in a sensible timescale and were all good,steaks came with homemade chips,excellent and a good change from the usual frozen ones that seemed to be served more often these days.
Will return soon for a full blown meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SomersetKeithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Friendly”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

A great little pub just outside Taunton. There is a friendly welcome, the food is good pub grub and you can pick from the usual scampi and chips to venison steak (this was on the specials board). There is a new cheesecake each month, made on the premises, March is the Creme Egg Cheesecake, utterly delicious, if a little sickly.

I will definitely be returning here, food, atmosphere and price good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TinyKitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Will be back.”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

A very nice place to eat. Food always good and atmosphere pleasant. Reasonably priced. Only downside was not being shown to our table , just pointed in the direction by the woman behind the bar.....not really a problem but I think it would've been more polite to be lead to the table and told if we needed to place our order at the bar or if it would be taken at our table.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank rory1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Moon Inn also viewed

 
Taunton, Somerset
 
Taunton, Somerset
 

Been to Half Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing