We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, pricey but worth it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Castle at Taunton
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Reviewed August 14, 2009

Just a short stay but enjoyable. The room was comfortable with a great view and good facilities. Restaurant was expensive and not perfect but the staff are attentive. Breakfast is excellent all organic, local etc etc. The decor is a bit incongrous with the age and style of building but it was clean and well presented. I would happily go back for longer.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roderrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
There are newer reviews for The Castle at Taunton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

613 - 619 of 660 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2009

I had long wanted to stay at this hotel on one of our regular visits to the West Country but not again. There are aspects of this hotel which are very pleasing but the noise from the function suite makes sleep before midnight - at least on a Friday and especially on a Saturday night - impossible. The disco blares out with every word of every song pounding through the hotel. And the staff think this is acceptable! "It only goes on until midnight!" was their response. So this is not a place to stay if you are hoping to sleep before the early hours..

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FamilyC26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

We found the Castle Hotel at Taunton really very nice. It is a charming "old English style" hotel, very well kept. Rooms are very spacious and welcoming, beds are very confortable and bathrooms are big. Breakfast is absolutely high quality with very tasty food, all organic and locally produced. The home produced muesli, jams and marmelades are worth a detour. There is a beautiful garden with tables.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank claudiac67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

Chintzy overpriced stuffy hotel. Stayed there due to a recent visit to Taunton. Found service far short of what I expect from a four star hotel. Also nothing is complimentary including newspapers! Very chintzy and 1990s decor. Nothing modern. The only redeeming feature is the english breakfast which is above average.

One to avoid

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonkeyMagicLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2009

The hotel facilities are good but the restaurant and bar are very disappointing.The bar seems to have been modernised but lacks charm and atmosphere.In the restaurant one is totally in the hand of staff whose English is very limited. There was no supervision by more experienced staff. It seems that they like to seat people closely together even when the restaurant was largely empty.Again there was a lack of atmosphere. Food was good but portions tiny, very nouvelle cuisine.Car parking is difficult and there is a lot of outside noise as the hotel is in the middle of a number of pubs nearby.One senses faded glory whose owners have lost interest.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aart8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2009

I stayed one night on business. The Hotel is in the centre of Taunton and easily accessible by taxi from the train station. The reception area is small but welcoming and the staff were very accommodating, advising me on the best time to book a taxi for my morning appointment. and carrying my back up to the room.

The room as a single but it was spacious and comfortable. No hair dryer in the room though.

They are proud of their locally sourced produce and provide details in their hotel information book. I didn't eat in the restaurant but if breakfast is anything to go by then it shouldn't be a disappointment.
Their home made muesli is fantastic and their orange juice is some of the best I have had. Details of the provenance for each element of the breakfast menu is provided. Service was efficient and unobtrusive.

A short stay but one that I would definately repeat if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gilliemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2009

Well, where to start....

Firstly the room. We paid a discounted last minute rate of £125 b&b and at that price it was just about ok. The rack rate is £235 and if I had paid that this review would be a lot more critical. This is supposedly a top notch hotel and you'd expect decent toiletries, slippers, robes, decent coffee, safe - in fact any sign that you'd coughed up well over £200.

The staff were ok, no real issues there.

Breakfast was dull. A buffet style that was left to sit in hot trays and although you could order extras like different eggs or kippers, this wasn't obvious unless you saw someone else doing so. The eggs we ordered didn't even arrive so I couldn't tell you if the extras were any better than the buffet. Again, I go back to the earlier point - this is supposedly a top notch £200+ per night hotel.

Cocktail bar is lovely if somewhat at odds with the rest of the hotel. Modern, nicely finished and comfortable to sit in - a world away from the rest of the building which is fairly staid and much more olde worldy. Maybe that's the point and I'm just missing it!

Much as I am all for privately owned hotels, I got the real sense that a top hotel chain with some money to spend could do a fantastic job on this place. Instead what we have is a hotel which has no real competition in the town and seems to live on a past reputation which it probably can no longer deliver.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThreeMichelinStarred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
3.0 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
5.3 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
823 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
1.4 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#8 of 17 in Taunton
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle at Taunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle at Taunton

Address: Castle Green, Taunton TA1 1NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#3 Business Hotel in Taunton
#3 Family Hotel in Taunton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
Price Range: $160 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castle at Taunton 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle at Taunton, your hotel in the heart of Somerset. Whether you are exploring the finest landscapes of England's West Country, seeking a wedding or conference venue or looking for fun and exciting holiday activities for the entire family - The Castle Hotel offers unrivaled accommodation with plenty of warm, friendly hospitality to make your West Country business or pleasure visit memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Castle at Taunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle At Taunton Hotel Taunton
The Castle Hotel Taunton
The Castle Taunton
The Castle At Taunton Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing