We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Castle at Taunton
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Stayed one night at short notice, arriving without a booking mid-afternoon. The hotel was almost fully booked, so we were offered one of the Garden Suites (Blackdown) for the price of a regular double. Very friendly staff, especially the lovely receptionist. The room was spacious and incredibly comfortable - just like the bed. One can only wonder, though, at whose decision it was to allow the building of the Mecca Bingo hall at the front of The Castle - town planning at its very worst and most ridiculous! The interior of the hotel is lovely and begs exploration. Admittedly we didn't have dinner, but breakfast was delicious and, judging by the taste, of the best and freshest ingredients. Would definitely stay again - finances permitting.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lal6661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (704)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

629 - 635 of 704 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2011

The hotel rooms were a good standard and everything was pretty good. The interior of the hotel is wonderfully old and luxurious. The breakfasts were the best part, I had room service, a good selection of food and nicely presented. I would definetly stay again if I go to Taunton.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelengland23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

The culinary reputation of the Castle Hotel persuaded us that the Groupon deal
was a good one. And, overall, we weren't disappointed.

A pity the confirmation didn't tell us that using the Post Code alone would not enable a satnav to find the Hotel. 40 minutes after "arrival" we eventually found the Hotel tucked out of sight behind the main North Street. Important to enter "Castle Green" if you don't want to be sucked into the traffic of Taunton.

A warm welcome compensated and, other than a towel deficiency, quickly remedied, it was difficult to fault the Hotel itself. Expensive, yes, if paying the £295 for our "Romantic Getaway for Two", but we had paid only £119, with the option of a second night for £129. A bargain indeed. Worth it if only for sight of what must be the most beautiful wisteria anywhere covering the facade of the Hotel.

Our room was comfortable with everything to be expected from a four star hotel.
Sadly the splendid dining room is only used now for breakfasts where my wife had enjoyed a memorable lunch some 40 years previously. The breakfast was superb and as generous in choice as one would hope for. Replaced now for evening dining, "for economic reasons", by the brash Brazz, next door. Claiming to be brasserie it is open all day to the general public.

A noisy bar with a wooden floor,opens to the street and extending behind is a comfortable carpeted area with plastic tables and banquettes under an ornate dome. Service is relaxed and friendly and the food, delicious and beautifully presented fulfilling the reputation we had hoped for. A pity the Wine List had nothing under £20 a bottle but we are trying to be more abstemious so here was encouragement.

So, what was our problem? The room is an acoustic disaster!

Perhaps we were unlucky, it being Friday evening, But we quickly became aware that conversation was all but impossible with the carousing of a large party of middle aged ladies intent on a Friday Night Out. Their loud shrieking was amplified.by the the echoing nature of the bar area, together with the noise from similarly but less noisily engaged groups and all enhanced by a monotonous and insidious Muzak with a dominant bass emphasis.

We asked for the Muzak to to be turned down, preferably off, but the waitress only agreed to moderate the bass. It made no difference. She explained that we were fortunate not to be under the dome as that emphasised the sound and had similar qualities to the Whispering Gallery of the Dome of St. Paul's in that your conversation could be heard by everyone else sitting there! Given that conversing was all but impossible, this was difficult to imagine. Our discomfort was exacerbated as our main course was due when the redoubtable and well inebriated ladies were shown to a table next to ours. We bore it for five minutes before asking to be moved......... which the waitresses did with skill and alacrity. But there was no escape from the noise and we were forced to finish our meal quickly and adjourn back to the sepulchral calm of the Hotel. Not a pleasant dining experience.

Next day we spoke to the Management about our concerns. They listened sympathetically, explaining that the carpet was an attempt to ease the problem.....but the recession and related problems had led them to the decision to close the hotel restaurant in the evenings. We suggested that more carpet in the bar area might improve the acoustics and, like a Bristol restaurant we know that had a similar noise problem from rowdy customers had been resolved by displaying a notice on the door that noisy behaviour that disturbed others would not be tolerated. It worked.

Perhaps also the recession could be addressed by having a less ostentatious Wine List, offering cheaper House Wines and perhaps,like all good French brasseries, the choice of pichets du vin........after all wine box technology is so good now that the reputation should not suffer. If they want to experience a good model try Le Bistrot Des Arts by the river in Compiegne. They have everything that The Brazz has, good food, good wine, but also a pleasant ambiance and no Muzak!

As it is, we were glad that we had not opted for a second night and would certainly not return again if there was no alternative to dining at The Brazz. Sad...... the food is so good!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cherryroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJM10000, General Manager at The Castle at Taunton, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2011

It is very helpful to receive such a comprehensive and forthright review. I can report that we are considering what steps might be taken to improve the ambiance without compromising the buzz that most people enjoy in Brazz. The very comprehensive wine currently offers 20 different wines by the glass, 32 wines for less than £25 per bottle, and double that number ranging between £25.00 & £45.00 per bottle. That said you can look forward to an even greater selection of excellent value, excellent quality wines being added to the list in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Nice frontage to the hotel and welcoming reception. Room was clean and comfortable but out dated and could do with a revamp. Lovely stone staircase but let down by plastic flowers on the landing!
Dinner next door (Brazz) was lovely with good service. We had to question the bill as were charged a supliment but this was quicky rectified by restaurant staff.
We were on a overnight groupon deal but think the actual room prices were a bit steap for the standard of the room.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csalmon79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

I stayed at the Castle one night as part of a business visit. Its a really nice hotel with superb staff. The rooms were a good size. Its a bit of a maze to find your way around but that adds to the challenge!

Wake up call was on time (a bonus!) and breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. I also had a meal in the restaurant on the evening which was very good, again with excellent staff.

Only gripe I had is the choice of radio stations on the TV. Could have done with radio 1 on it!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel-Knights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed at The Castle for one night to celebrate our first Wedding Anniversary. We had booked after seeing a 'Groupon' voucher for a reduced rate for Dinner, Bed and Breakfast.
The hotel is very attractive from the outside and backs onto the High Street so everything is close by.
From the moment we pulled into the car park to the moment we left the service was absolutely second to none and in no way were we treated differently for having booked using a voucher. Staff were friendly and it felt like nothing would be too muich trouble.
The room was slightly dated in decor but very clean and comfortable...
We at at the Brazz restaurant attached to the hotel and the food was absolutely beautiful! I can definitely recommend the Steak!
All in all a fantastic hotel - we enjoyed every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACorbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Stayed for one night with my wife, our first night away on our own for years, and they couldn't have been nicer - fantastic room, lovely card to welcome us, and a complimentary bottle of wine!
Generally hotel is extremely well appointed with friendly staff and a super setting and location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mara356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
3 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
5.3 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
845 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle at Taunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle at Taunton

Address: Castle Green, Taunton TA1 1NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#3 Business Hotel in Taunton
#3 Family Hotel in Taunton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
Price Range: $158 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castle at Taunton 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle at Taunton, your hotel in the heart of Somerset. Whether you are exploring the finest landscapes of England's West Country, seeking a wedding or conference venue or looking for fun and exciting holiday activities for the entire family - The Castle Hotel offers unrivaled accommodation with plenty of warm, friendly hospitality to make your West Country business or pleasure visit memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Castle at Taunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle At Taunton Hotel Taunton
The Castle Hotel Taunton
The Castle Taunton
The Castle At Taunton Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing