We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business, Not Pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Corner House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Business, Not Pleasure”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed for 1 night for a conference here the next day. The room and its en-suite were spacious and spotlessly clean. Coffee, tea, biscuits and fresh milk were plentiful (love a hotel that provides fresh milk!), there was also a fridge in the room. The chargeable room items e.g wine, crisps, nuts etc, were reasonably priced too. Only complaint is the stifling heat in the room and the window being in such a position, no air was able to make it through.

Dinner was 3 courses which was first rate and the hotel has a reputation for its wine selection and did not disappoint at all. There was many a sore head in the function room the next day. The waiting staff coped well with our numbers, general roudyness and joined in with our jokes and fun later in the evening, once the other diners had left.

A great place to stay for work with the comforts of home, but not sure if I would book it for a romantic weekend away for me and hubby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemoonfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    274
    181
    110
    74
See reviews for
79
288
65
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
628 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 404 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a relatively cheap hotel in a convenient location on the edge of central Taunton, parking is available at the rear although at weekends it can be difficult to find a space. The bus station is a short walk away.
I booked a standard room which was small, the 'compact' rooms must be tiny! The bathroom was small but adequate with good shower/bath and plenty of hot water. There was a fridge and usefully a plastic milk bottle, a great improvement from those ghastly little tubs, the internet connection was fast and free. I was generally satisfied with the accommodation except that the room smelt musty.
Good bar downstairs with decent selection of beers and of course cider! I had dinner one night in the restaurant and it was good, the breakfast even better. Service throughout was friendly and efficient and the staff were charming and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PutneySW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Good place to stay if you are working in the centre of Taunton. I stayed in a Compact single room that turned out to very compact indeed!! They had a fridge in the room that is good for the summer nights. Restaurant and bar areas seem to be adequate for the size of the hotel.
They could have done with more garden furniture in the small beer garden. Parking was free but is a bit tight when the hotel is busy.

Room Tip: Look out for special deals when you are booking this hotel. Rooms can be very small but adequate fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here twice in the last 2 months as I always had a nice stay in previous years. The first stay I had to move rooms as it stank of smoking when I entered the room. I told reception and they gave me a look as though I was telling a lie. We we're put into what can be described as a cupboard. That night I had no sleep as someone next door decided to have a party till 5 in the morning. I told reception but nothing happened. I received no apology. Then breakfast was discussing. I thought I would give them another chance and went again at the weekend. We arrived to find no parking, then we tried to get out of the carpark and found a car parked near the exit. We tried to get out and ended up scraping the car and causing hundreds of pounds of damage. I told reception, they didn't care. I asked where else I could park, they didn't know. We ended up driving around looking for somewhere. When I got to the room it was even smaller then before. There was no water (they said they had run out). The shower didn't work and another noisey night with no sleep. I told a guy at reception about the shower he said oh well (Didn't care). I will never stay here ever again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taunton hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I arrived in Taunton without a place to stay. The TI was not particularly helpful, although they did provide a map marked with potential places to stay. I had seen this hotel's website before my trip so I knew it was a possibility. I arrived and got a compact double. While it was definitely compact, the space was well utilized and I appreciated the small fridge provided. My only possible quibble was that the wifi was not available in my room but was at the top of the stairs, where there were comfortable chairs. Also, although I didn't book through laterooms, the same price was available at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastern england
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

A reservation was made through Booking.com, for two nights in a Standard Double Room at the beginning of September. I had requested the allocation of a quiet room which despite confirmation proved not to be the case, the room overlooked the junction. We were moved to a quiet room the following day having complained, however it was to a Compact Room which comes in at a lower Room Rate. Upon Check out I requested a reduction in the bill to reflect this but was told by the Receptionist that she didn't have the authority and anyway we had been moved!!. Had they carried out my request, a move would not have been necessary. I also believe that if a quiet room was not available then I should have been told.
My second grumble was that having left my nightdress behind and notified the hotel within half an hour of our departure, it took them 4 weeks to return it.despite several emails. I was also asked how I intended to pay for the postage!.
Having emailed the General Manager with my complaints two weeks ago, I am still awaiting his response.
Poor administration and the Compact Room is a large Single.
The silver lining is the restaurant, where a varied Menu is available and the staff although new and short staffed were friendly and helpful.
We have cause to visit Taunton several times annually but this venue will not be at the top of our list.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkeastern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We got a great deal for one nights stay in a compact double for £14 so the value was outstanding.

The hotel itself is lovely with a quorky design and very close to the town centre (5 mins walk). Parking is available but the car park is very tight.

Cannot comment on the food as we didnt eat there.

The room was indeed a compact double, clean and with enough room for two but the big criticism was that the bed was tiny! I cannot believe it was a double which made it a poor nights sleep for two average sized people. Also, I opened the window for some air but had to close it again because the nise of the morning shift starting work from about 5am was too loud.

Overall, a nice place but not a gpod nights sleep for us but it may better in standard rooms

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandCristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
635 reviews
5.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#17 of 17 in Taunton
178 reviews
1.2 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House Hotel

Property: The Corner House Hotel
Address: Park Street, Taunton TA1 4DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned character hotel ideal for both business and leisure travellers. Within walking distance of the centre of Somerset's County town Taunton, this 45 bedroom hotel has been transformed to meet the demands of the modern day traveller. Late 2015 the complete refurbishment of the bar & restaurant has created a relaxed drinking and dining venue. Ideal for business or pleasure. Emphasis has been placed on developing a simple yet stylish and comfortable sleeping experience. All rooms have linen duvets, ample work space, refrigerators with complimentary bottled water and fresh milk, flat screen televisions and sparkling en-suite facilities. Free Wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. A flexible combination of meeting and eating rooms and excellent road and rail connections make the Corner House a convenient location for day and residential meetings. The hotel has on site car parking and is in an ideal location for visiting many of the nearby Somerset attractions or as a stopover en-route to or from the Cornish peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Corner House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hotel Taunton
The Corner House Hotel Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing