We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Corner House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great location!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I arrived in Taunton without a place to stay. The TI was not particularly helpful, although they did provide a map marked with potential places to stay. I had seen this hotel's website before my trip so I knew it was a possibility. I arrived and got a compact double. While it was definitely compact, the space was well utilized and I appreciated the small fridge provided. My only possible quibble was that the wifi was not available in my room but was at the top of the stairs, where there were comfortable chairs. Also, although I didn't book through laterooms, the same price was available at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    274
    181
    110
    74
See reviews for
79
288
65
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
eastern england
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

A reservation was made through Booking.com, for two nights in a Standard Double Room at the beginning of September. I had requested the allocation of a quiet room which despite confirmation proved not to be the case, the room overlooked the junction. We were moved to a quiet room the following day having complained, however it was to a Compact Room which comes in at a lower Room Rate. Upon Check out I requested a reduction in the bill to reflect this but was told by the Receptionist that she didn't have the authority and anyway we had been moved!!. Had they carried out my request, a move would not have been necessary. I also believe that if a quiet room was not available then I should have been told.
My second grumble was that having left my nightdress behind and notified the hotel within half an hour of our departure, it took them 4 weeks to return it.despite several emails. I was also asked how I intended to pay for the postage!.
Having emailed the General Manager with my complaints two weeks ago, I am still awaiting his response.
Poor administration and the Compact Room is a large Single.
The silver lining is the restaurant, where a varied Menu is available and the staff although new and short staffed were friendly and helpful.
We have cause to visit Taunton several times annually but this venue will not be at the top of our list.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkeastern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We got a great deal for one nights stay in a compact double for £14 so the value was outstanding.

The hotel itself is lovely with a quorky design and very close to the town centre (5 mins walk). Parking is available but the car park is very tight.

Cannot comment on the food as we didnt eat there.

The room was indeed a compact double, clean and with enough room for two but the big criticism was that the bed was tiny! I cannot believe it was a double which made it a poor nights sleep for two average sized people. Also, I opened the window for some air but had to close it again because the nise of the morning shift starting work from about 5am was too loud.

Overall, a nice place but not a gpod nights sleep for us but it may better in standard rooms

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandCristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We did not pay a lot for this room and it exceeded our expectations ,We were greeted by friendly staff,.The room was and clean rooms. We did had a compact double ,which we knew we were staying in before hand ,It was more than enough room for a short stay .The Bath room was quiet large and a big plus the towels were big white & soft fluffy

Room Tip: don,t have room 16 if your staying more than one night .There was a dull drone in the back ground mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My first stay was in August for 5 nights with breakfast and the grand total was about £400 which I thought was extremely steep. When we got into our first room which was right at the top of the hotel we were shocked at how very small it was and the bathroom was merely a cupboard in the corner of the room so there wasn't very much privacy. The window had clearly been left wide open all day so it was a bit cold, there was a dirty wine glass and toilet paper scattered around the floor, and on the walls there was what appeared to be a smear of blood. At the price we paid I was shocked at the state it was in and we complained to reception straight away but because we had arrived very late and were tired we decided we'd stay in it for the night and deal with it the next morning when the manager arrived. We understood that it wasn't their fault and there was just a problem with the cleaning staff. The next day the manager came up to the room and was extremely apologetic and thankfully moved us to a lovely room on the first floor which was much larger and thankfully a lot cleaner, in fact it was absolutely perfect apart from the fact it was on a main corridor which people walk past all the time so it was quite noisy and we could hear people talking from time to time. The breakfast was absoutely lovely each morning and the location couldn't have been any better, my boyfriend was at work during the day so I spent most of my time walking around the shops which are only 5 minutes away and even found a little gem called Vivary Park where I ate lunch everyday. The staff were also very polite and friendly and after the first night I did thoroughly enjoy my stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

I have very little to say except that it was an excellent stay. Friendly staff, neat and clean rooms. Excellent view from my room as well.

Only negative about this hotel is the restaurant, and this is only the service I'm talking about. The service was SLOW! My wife had finished her meal before the waiter finally came with her water. I had to ask THREE times before a waiter came to our table to refill our drinks, as they were all busy chatting among their fellow staff. The food itself, though overpriced, was excellent.

Would DEFINITELY stay here again!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Prophet_N7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Quite a nice room, with comfy pillows but quilt very thin and was cold during the night. Dinner was disappointing - ordered chicken which came pasted all over with thick yellow sauce that I had to scrape off. Breakfast was eggs benedict, but to my horror, it had exactly the same thick yellow paste all over it that I had scraped off my chicken the night before - yuk! As I was on my own in the restaurant which was quite empty, I would have thought the staff could have considered that I didn't really want to sit sandwiched in between two other tables with men, and facing another table with a solo male - felt a bit overlooked which wasn't very nice. I suppose I could have asked to move but didn't. There were private tables available, but I think the main consideration for the staff was to have all the clients lined up in a row for ease of service. Service was also a little slow, considerning there were 3 waitors and only 4 tables in use. Staff were quite helpful though with directions etc. and overall not too bad, but wouldn't stay there again given a choice. Didn't feel it was very good value for money, particularly the food prices for the quality (no veg with the chicken - extra charge for that).There was quite a lot of noise in the bedroom too from people walking about on the next floor up.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
635 reviews
5.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
379 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#17 of 17 in Taunton
178 reviews
1.2 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House Hotel

Property: The Corner House Hotel
Address: Park Street, Taunton TA1 4DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned character hotel ideal for both business and leisure travellers. Within walking distance of the centre of Somerset's County town Taunton, this 45 bedroom hotel has been transformed to meet the demands of the modern day traveller. Late 2015 the complete refurbishment of the bar & restaurant has created a relaxed drinking and dining venue. Ideal for business or pleasure. Emphasis has been placed on developing a simple yet stylish and comfortable sleeping experience. All rooms have linen duvets, ample work space, refrigerators with complimentary bottled water and fresh milk, flat screen televisions and sparkling en-suite facilities. Free Wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. A flexible combination of meeting and eating rooms and excellent road and rail connections make the Corner House a convenient location for day and residential meetings. The hotel has on site car parking and is in an ideal location for visiting many of the nearby Somerset attractions or as a stopover en-route to or from the Cornish peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Corner House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hotel Taunton
The Corner House Hotel Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing