We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Corner House Taunton” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Corner House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Corner House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Chard, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Corner House Taunton”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

My Boyfriend and I booked a double compact room for a one night stay.

When we arrived we could not find a space in the car park, and one car was even parked over two spaces. I informed reception, however I was simply told to park along the fence as long as I didn't block any gates. I didn't mind this, however it may have been as issue when there was no room along the fence for other guests. I also think that the guest parked over two spaces should of perhaps been asked to correctly park their car.

The hotel itself was very clean and welcoming. I did not eat in the wine and sausage, but it did look nice. The room was very nice considering it was only £30 and it had better facilities than the premier inn which is triple the price! a fridge in the room is a nice touch, and comes with a carton of milk and a bottle of water. There are also other treats available to then pay for on check out which is handy.

There was a bit of noise throughout the night, although that can't be helped with the hotel being so conveniently close to town. My only real complaint is that in the morning I was woken to the sound of cleaners banging on other guests doors shouting 'housekeeping hello' which I thought was very rude and inconsiderate for people that were trying to sleep and had signs saying so on their door.

Would definitely recommend as the hotel is great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do offer free car parking at the rear of the hotel and you are quite right that guests should not park over two spaces as such the guest should have been asked to move their car. Please accept our apologies for this. We were pleased to hear that you managed to obtain a very special deal on the room rate as these are acceptional and are only released at certain times depending on occupancy levels. We do have offer special unique features such as the fresh carton of milk in the fridge and free WiFi which are always received very well. We were sorry to hear that you were unable to visit our Wine & Sausage Restaurant as we offer fantastic deals such as our Early Bird between 6pm and 7pm where you get two courses for 13.95 or three courses for 15.95. We also offer take away wines from 5.95 per bottle. Please may I assure you that I have I have discussed your experience in the morning with our Head Housekeeper as this is not our usual standard and again please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused. We do offer ´do not disturb´ signs that are regularly put out by our guests and the team are very considerate of them especially early in the morning. Thank you again for your constructive comments and we look forward to welcoming you both back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    265
    177
    106
    72
See reviews for
75
280
63
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We booked two compact rooms for a Sunday overnight stopover on our way to South Devon. The Corner House proved to be an excellent choice and location. The two compact rooms were just £30.00 each - remarkable value and simply excellent for our needs. Comfortable and better equipped than many larger hotels we have stayed in. All in all a perfect place to stay. See our separate review for the hotels restaurant - the 'Sausage and Wine' which was excellent!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtLover1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for writing a review on the Corner House Hotel, Taunton. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and sampled the Wine & Sausage Restaurant which also exceeded your expectations. We pride ourselves on giving value for money budget ensuite accommodation with free WiFi, a fresh carton on milk in the fridge not the UHT milk and our own car park at the rear of the hotel. Wine & Sausage offers value for money with our Early Bird menu two courses from £13.95 and a full English breakfast from £5.95 per person. We currently have an ongoing refurbishment programme and have just completed our new Concept Room (Room 4) which has been received extremely well. Thank you again for your kind comments which we have passed around the team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blakeney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

The Corner House is nicely situated in Taunton, just out of the main centre, but within walking distance of many pubs and restaurants. The food in the Corner House was nicely served, but quite expensive. We had the disabled room, as that was the last room left when we booked. The room was wedged off the reception area, under the stairs, so you heard footsteps all night long up and down the stairs, and voices at the reception outside the room. The worst feature of this room was the walk in shower - very necessary if you are disabled, but the floor was not tilted towards the plughole, so the water just spread throughout the bathroom and into the bedroom, soaking the carpet. I would have been pretty unimpressed as a disabled person - this room was very much an afterthought.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redcampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we appreciate your constructive comments. Since your stay with us our maintenance team have made adjustments to the bathroom floor to ensure that we do not have any repeat occurrences. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience that was caused. We are currently in the process of refurbishing our bedrooms and have just finished our new Concept Room (Room 4) which has been received very well indeed. It caused us concern to hear that our Restaurant prices are a little expensive as we do try whilst sourcing local produce to be competitive with the local market. We do offer our Early Bird dinner which is two courses for £13.95 or three courses for £15.95 which we believe to be very good value for money. Thank you again for bringing your constructive comments to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

my husband and I booked in for one night on June 15th our purpose to watch our nephew competing in a nearby Ironman competition the next day. We arrived latish at about 7.30pm. The room we were shown to was on the ground floor and the window wide open but it was so horribly hot. This was not even a particularly warm day as it was a miserable weekend. The radiator was stuck in the on position and wouldnt budge. We immediately asked to be moved to be told there were no other rooms available. From check in we knew that this was not the room originally allocated to us and staff confirmed to us that the people given the same room earlier had also complained but been relocated. Our very bad luck for checking in late! We had a quick meal locally and returned to see if any improvements had been made. Unfortunately the room remained stifling and the ground floor made it impossible to have a window open. We had no option but to leave the hotel despite the late hour. By now it was nearly 10pm and we had to be up at 4am so we had to be seriously unhappy to walk out. We were told that the cancellation policy was 2 days and would still be charged.We found this incredible as they could only offer a room that wasnt habitable and we were at least the second people to complain that day.The hotel then went and took the full £95.00 from our credit card to add further insult. Nobody from the hotel attempted to make any contact with us despite leaving our details

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank susanne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. It is clear that you did not enjoy our usual guest experience and as such please accept my personal apology. I would kindly ask you to email me at manager@corner-house.co.uk so that I can investigate this matter further and be given the opportunity to resolve it. I look forward to speaking to you soon. Nigel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taunton hotels

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I was unfortunately in Taunton as I was in magistrates court the following day! I only chose this place for the proximity but was hugely surprised by the quality of this hotel.

A lot of thought has been put into the character of this hotel, the food on offer is of a very high standard, the décor is great and the selection of wine very impressive

The service is great and they get the little things right like free wi fi and fresh milk in the comfortable rooms.

Really good value for money and highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed your kind comments around the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed at The Corner House Fri & Sat night for a visit to watch the T20 cricket.
Very easy to find and a pleasant 10 minute walk from the town centre.
Booking in and out was simple without fuss.
Rooms were what you would expect size wise, ensuite with shower in bath. Nice to have a fridge in the room with minibar option if you fancied it.
A very good range of breakfast selection and just the right quantity arrived on the plate.
Plenty of pubs within easy walking distance in the town and also eating places - recommend the Italian Prezzo - food is cooked to order and generous portions.
Weston Super Mare is a half hour direct train journey away so the beach on your door step.
In all a very pleasant stay and we would certainly book again on our next visit - a nice change from the clinical, pristine white & shiny Travel Lodges / Holiday Inns

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Taff-Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us for the recent T20 Cricket Match and have passed your kind comments around the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel was nice on the whole but in a heat wave they need to provide fans or air conditioning. Our room, which we were sharing with our young son was at the front so the sun streamed in and heated the room. We had the windows wide open which made it very noisy but there was no alternative.

I asked at reception for a fan but they were extremely unhelpful and very indifferent, bordering on rude.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lottiegirl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we were pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. The weather has been exceptional in recent weeks however we do provide fans which are available at reception. We look forward to welcoming you back soon when I am sure the weather will be a little more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.4 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#17 of 17 in Taunton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
0.4 mi away
Blorenge House
Blorenge House
#10 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House Hotel

Property: The Corner House Hotel
Address: Park Street, Taunton TA1 4DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned character hotel ideal for both business and leisure travellers. Within walking distance of the centre of Somerset's County town Taunton, this 45 bedroom hotel has been transformed to meet the demands of the modern day traveller. Late 2015 the complete refurbishment of the bar & restaurant has created a relaxed drinking and dining venue. Ideal for business or pleasure. Emphasis has been placed on developing a simple yet stylish and comfortable sleeping experience. All rooms have linen duvets, ample work space, refrigerators with complimentary bottled water and fresh milk, flat screen televisions and sparkling en-suite facilities. Free Wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. A flexible combination of meeting and eating rooms and excellent road and rail connections make the Corner House a convenient location for day and residential meetings. The hotel has on site car parking and is in an ideal location for visiting many of the nearby Somerset attractions or as a stopover en-route to or from the Cornish peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Corner House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hotel Taunton
The Corner House Hotel Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing