We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed & enjoyed in one”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Corner House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Romsley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointed & enjoyed in one”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stay at the corner House a couple of times a year and have always enjoyed my stay but this one was mixed. Room booked was a large room but for some reason ended in a compact in the annexe which had a terrible smell of stale water which I had to hide by spraying deodourant!!! could and should have complained but had to meet a client within a short space of arriving. Met for drinks in the bar and then dined in the restaurant, service, quality of food, good beers, excellent wines and a very friendly attentive staff made for a lovely evening. Back in the room smell not so bad and comfortable bed which offered a good nights sleep. Coffee mugs in room had dirty rings in bottom which left me with a bottle of water as only option. so disillusioned again that skipped breakfast and went on my way. Usually a very enjoyable stay but this one had the shine taken from it and will make sure in future to steer clear of the annexe.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    283
    184
    114
    74
See reviews for
84
293
68
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
reading, berkshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 659 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had a girlie weekend in Taunton and we had a great deal on this hotel. We had 3 large double rooms in the Annexe and I must say for cleanliness and comfort it was first class. The bed is really comfortable, the shower is piping hot, spare towels and pillows in the room. There is a fridge with complimentary water and fresh milk ( I really liked that touch) for tea and coffee - there is a mini bar too. There is a hairdryer in the room - very useful.
The hotel is located about 5 minutes walk from the town centre - very convenient. The drinks at the bar are a bit pricey but you needn't drink there. The breakfast was excellent - buffet style - juices, cold meats, cheese, yoghurt, fresh fruit, crumpets, muffins, jams, marmite etc. then you are asked to choose from the hot menu, everything is fresh and cooked to order and you can mix and match from the traditional English breakfast. There is also eggs benedict, smoked salmon, kippers, porridge, eggs Florentine etc. We could not fault the food or the service, the staff were excellent and very attentive and helpful.
If you are looking for a break in Taunton definitely consider this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank blueandwhitehoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We booked 2 rooms,a standard double for us and a compact double for my adult daughter.Our room was quite noisy due to no double glazing and on the main road!Also there was a faulty light which kept flickering badly so we had to turn the main lights off and put the bedside lights on.The bathroom sink had a big crack in it so I went down to have a look at my daughters room which was smaller but nice and quiet and I wished Id booked this room for myself but she wouldnt swap!lol On the plus side we had a meal in their restaurant which was excellent and the breakfast was lovely aswell and it has its own carpark.Location is good being a short walk into town.I would stay here again but not in room 8!

Room Tip: Dont get a room facing the main road,also book breakfast when you get to the hotel as its only £5.95...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missyscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

does exactly what you'd expect of a decent little hotel that prides its self on its restaurant side..quality wines not cheap, not expensive either ..and a chef/kitchen that will do requests too
Breakfast was of a good standard, but a little slow due to amount of guests that all came down for 9am. Bar staff were exceptionally helpful

Room Tip: ask for one in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mysteryguest1340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very Pleasant hotel fairly good location for the town. When it says the rooms are compact - they are!. Breakfast was a delight many choices and not just the usual 'English Breakfast' obviously prepared by a chef.Wide selection of wines and real ale too.

Room Tip: when it says compact they mean small
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights with work and wasn't impressed. Got a double room but it must have been their compact because it was small! Room is clean enough with basic amenities but floorboards creaked and the walls were paper thin! had to tip toe so as not to disturb other guests. Room temp was variable. Best thing about the hotel is the restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMysteriousOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights while exploring the Quantocks. Saw some mixed reviews so didn't quite know what to expect but the 2 night deal was so good we decided we didn't have a lot to lose. Car park is small and getting in and out is a challenge with a Discovery but at least they had a car park and it was free. Our room was very clean and comfortable (it faced the car park but in truth the other way would have face the busy road so was a quiet option and suited us) Very generous allowance of tea and coffee making facilities which was nice especially when we got back tired and muddy and wanted to chill in our room before dining. We had intended to try different restaurants in town but were so impressed with the first nights dining in the Wine and Sausage restaurant that we didn't bother to venture any further. They have a theme of specialitey sausages and pies, which although aren't my cup of tea, the other half loved them. The venison and dark chocolate pie was his favorite. I chose from the restaurant menu and can highly recommend it. The food was excellent, the chefs and dining room staff are friendly and very obliging and the food was very good and very reasonably priced. However, you pay over the top for drinks (£7.50 for a glass of wine and £4 for a pint of beer) Your choice if you drink or not. Karen behind the bar and Johnny (who I think is the restaurant manager) were both absoloutley lovely and very helpful and informative. Will definateley be going back. Karen and Dave Cornwall

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curlylenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
651 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
0.0 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#16 of 17 in Taunton
186 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Taunton M5, Jct. 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House Hotel

Property: The Corner House Hotel
Address: Park Street, Taunton TA1 4DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned character hotel ideal for both business and leisure travellers. Within walking distance of the centre of Somerset's County town Taunton, this 45 bedroom hotel has been transformed to meet the demands of the modern day traveller. Late 2015 the complete refurbishment of the bar & restaurant has created a relaxed drinking and dining venue. Ideal for business or pleasure. Emphasis has been placed on developing a simple yet stylish and comfortable sleeping experience. All rooms have linen duvets, ample work space, refrigerators with complimentary bottled water and fresh milk, flat screen televisions and sparkling en-suite facilities. Free Wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. A flexible combination of meeting and eating rooms and excellent road and rail connections make the Corner House a convenient location for day and residential meetings. The hotel has on site car parking and is in an ideal location for visiting many of the nearby Somerset attractions or as a stopover en-route to or from the Cornish peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Corner House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hotel Taunton
The Corner House Hotel Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing