We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wine and Sausage Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Corner House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Corner House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wine and Sausage Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I have just celebrated our wedding anniversary this Sunday 4th November and we had a meal here in this restaurant of the Corner House Hotel.

It was superb and will most definately be going back there for another meal.

If I were to score out of 10 I'd give it 9

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    265
    177
    106
    72
See reviews for
75
280
63
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful building. Small car park. Chipped paintwork. Friendly receptionist. All staff in training on saturday morning so breakfast took 35 minutes and was cold. No milk on the table for our tea. Waitress was snappy with another customer. Room however was warm a good size with a proper bath. Carton of milk in the fridge nice touch. Ok stay but not great.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

This could be a nice hotel. If someone bothered to maintain it. The location is great, though the car park is too small and the exit is tight!

It's october. It's likely to be cold overnight. But the heating was not working. Ok somethings things fail. But that doesn't explain the window that doesn't have a working catch so falls open. Now I managed to jam it shut with the teaspoons in the room. But there was still a draft coming around it. I'm sure management will claim a listed building prevents a better solution. Yet I work in a listed building with similar windows, and we don't have this problem...

I've stayed here previously and been disappointed (the next rooms shower water coming up my shower drain is not what I expect), but thought I'd give them a fair shot. Let down again.

If I had paid £50 for the room I would have thought that about right. As it is it was an £85 B&B rate. You'd be better off staying at the Salisbury House Hotel, and definately better off at the Premier Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilBell_OS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taunton hotels

Tadworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I received a warm welcome. The receptionist offered to carry my bag upstairs, which was a great help for me.

There was a very unpleasant smell of drains in the bathroom; hardly any water came out of the shower and the water was extremely slow draining form the basin ( which quite possibly contributed to the smell.). On immediately pointing all this out at reception, the room was changed right away. No surprise was expressed in reaction or expression and I got the impression that they might have been aware of the problems. However, the second room (24) was perfectly fine and very clean. The only thing was, which, of course, I didn't find out until later, was that the mattress was really not very good quality. I felt it had had very heavy use. I think it would be great if hotels bought their beds from Ikea, as they are always very good quality, firm, supportive and comfortable( ... no, I'm not on commission from them!)- they're also an incredibly reasonable price, with a 10 year mattress guarantee. Anyway, enough of the sales pitch! The staff were helpful in suggesting the museum to visit and giving directions and staff taking orders and serving dinner were great and made me very welcome, as a solo traveller. There's no lift, which might be a problem for some people, but, all in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank polyglot349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, Cornwall
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the past year and each time it provides a consistent standard both in welcome and facilities. Welcome was very friendly although the car park was getting a little tight (more of that later.). Room was ideal for a single business traveller although would not be so happy if this had been booked for two of us. This said the room is described as compact on our company booking icons so can't say fairer than that. Bathroom big and very clean as was the whole hotel. Never visited and found any kind of cleaning issue as described in some other reviews. TV is excellent and so are tea and coffee making facilities. Best touch by far is the fresh milk in the fridge. Dinner was something else what a lovely meal from the restaurant, no room service but quite happy for me to take to my room as I was working. Beautiful toad in the hole with a delicious gravy and mash.fabulous. Breakfast was equally wonderful with lots on offer and friendly service. Only two slight downsides on this visit. Firstly, I stayed in room 16 and this was just too far away from the hotel router to make the free wifi usable, could connect in the reception but by the time I arrived back in room it had dropped out. Secondly and not a major issue for me but it could have been, the parking was a nightmare, not necessarily the hotels fault but very selfish guests double parking. If I had had to leave for a train for example as on previous stays I would have missed the train as one chap had to wait 30 minutes to get on car out and only then because of the efforts of the hotel chef acting as a car park attendant. Mine was a quicker job as it was a staff car double parked. Don't let this put you off of a wonderful hotel though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

On the plus size, the room size was excellent and had a lovely bathroom.

On the other hand, the curtains and carpets were dirty and stained. The windows rattled with the wind (not great if you're a light sleeper). I was very disappointed for what I paid I would have expected a cleaner more comfortable room. We didn't like even sitting in the chair as most of the furnishings were not clean. The roof also had a big damp stain with some mold - not nice to look at. There was also some sort of tube of dirty stale water attached to the mirror, I assume it was for flowers, but if it's not going to be used for that purpose then one would expect it to at least be cleaned out.

The hotel has a lot of potential but they do need to improve the state of furnishings, curtains and carpets. I would not recommend this hotel, the price is not reflective of the quality you would expect. I wish I had spent a few more pounds and stayed in the clean holiday inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bogsie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHH01, General Manager at The Corner House Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Firstly may I apologise in that you were put in a room that had a plumbing leak from the room above as this should never have happened. May I advise that since your stay the leak has been fixed and the ceiling has been redecorated. Our budget rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable, however Room 2 is overlooking the main road and so I would suggest a larger and quieter room overlooking our car park at the rear of the hotel. We are currently creating a concept room with a new colour scheme which will be rolled out throughout all our 44 Rooms. Please may I again offer our apologies for not experiencing our usual guest experience and truly believe that if Room 2 had not had the leak then the other points would not have been investigated so deeply. We look forward to showing you one of our new rooms during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

for a one night stay the hotel was fine, however room 15 that I was allocated was very small for my expectation of a standard double room, and bathroom compact.
parking was a struggle arriving at 7.30pm.
Breakfast was fantastic value and even though short staff i felt the service received was good, felt like a sunday morning relaxing atmosphere that was cosy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam101174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
0.4 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taunton House Hotel
Taunton House Hotel
#17 of 17 in Taunton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
0.4 mi away
Blorenge House
Blorenge House
#9 of 17 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House Hotel

Property: The Corner House Hotel
Address: Park Street, Taunton TA1 4DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independently owned character hotel ideal for both business and leisure travellers. Within walking distance of the centre of Somerset's County town Taunton, this 45 bedroom hotel has been transformed to meet the demands of the modern day traveller. Late 2015 the complete refurbishment of the bar & restaurant has created a relaxed drinking and dining venue. Ideal for business or pleasure. Emphasis has been placed on developing a simple yet stylish and comfortable sleeping experience. All rooms have linen duvets, ample work space, refrigerators with complimentary bottled water and fresh milk, flat screen televisions and sparkling en-suite facilities. Free Wi-fi is available throughout the hotel. A flexible combination of meeting and eating rooms and excellent road and rail connections make the Corner House a convenient location for day and residential meetings. The hotel has on site car parking and is in an ideal location for visiting many of the nearby Somerset attractions or as a stopover en-route to or from the Cornish peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Corner House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Hotel Taunton
The Corner House Hotel Taunton, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing